Skip to Main Content
a digital library that assembles collections of early Chinese texts. Textual data and metadata can also be exported using an Application Programming Interface, allowing integration with other online tools as well as use in text mining and digital humanities projects. Also included are digitized rare books from Harvard Yenching.
A collection of Chinese classics that is less curated than CText.
明清女性寫作 Ming-Qing Women's Writings
A digitized collection of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911), it offers a convenient method to download metadata for analysis.
Developed by scholars from Hong Kong and Taiwan, this database includes a wide range of documents and publications in China between 1830 and 1930. It has been used for a series of statical analysis of evolution of political ideology in modern China.
A fulltext digital collection of Taiwan historical documents developed by Taiwan Research Center for Digital Libraries. Extended features include ad-hoc classification，frequency analysis, GIS mapping, self-defined collection, comparison among similar documents/files.
地方志 Local gazetteers
A platform of collections and tools aiming at transforming textual formats into a scholarly, enhanced database for new forms of digital historical analysis.
The largest subject database on Buddhism, it currently contains over 400,000 bibliographic and fulltext items in 45 languages and 15 format types.
Provides free space and tools for archives, museums and private collators to develop online open-access museums.
Chinese Commercial Advertisement Archive (1880-1940)
A project led by Tani Barlow of Rice University that digitize commercial advertisements from Chinese historical newspapers. Metadata are manually entered for search and browsing.
廣廈千萬間項目 The Ten Thousand Rooms Project
A collaborative workspace for pre-modern textual studies, it allows users to upload images of manuscript, print, inscriptional, and other sources and then organize projects around their transcription, translation, and/or annotation. It is a workspace for crowd-sourcing core textual research, and a publishing venue for scholarly contributions that are less well suited to conventional book formats.
Developed at the Taiwan Research Center for Digital Humanities, DocuSky is a platform for scholars to do various analysis, such as building ones' own cloud-based collections, reformatting, tagging, text mining/analysis, visualization and GIS mapping.
A open data platform, it provides ontology-based linked data for person, location, time, event, object, and other types of data infrastructure. Also included are some essential tools for data cleaning and conversion in digital humanities research. Registration is required.
A platform for digital humanities research, it allows scholars to build their own collections and metadata, and to perform annotation, word frequency analysis, contingency analysis、similarity comparison, geo/spatial modeling, visualization, text-mining, etc.
a markup platform developed to automate the markup of different kinds of named entities (personal names, place names, temporal references, official titles, etc.).
學術地圖發布平台 Academic Map Publishing Platform
A useful digital tool for GIS-based publishing, visualizing and discovering individual and/or group activities and distributions. Registration is required.
a free database of place names and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties.
a tool for converting digital objects to LOD (Linked Open Data) format
The Buddhist Canons Research Database
a resource that offers complete bibliographic information (with internal crosslinks and links to external resources) for the roughly 5,000 texts contained in the Tibetan Buddhist canon, and offers both general and targeted full text search access to those texts (approximately 15 million syllables).
Ming Government Official Titles: A Crowd-Translation Project
The project aims to develop a comprehensive Chinese-English dictionary of Ming government official titles through contributions from scholars. Although the project has officially closed, the team welcome further contributions of Ming official titles and their English translations from registered/approved scholars.
based upon machine deep learning, the system can "write" classic poems related to a keyword/phase entered.
for text concordance
An effective OCR application for Ancient Chinese Texts, with high accuracy. Registration is required. Fees are expected after first-five-page free use.
A truncation and punctuation tool for ancient Chinese texts.
An automatic tool for truncating Chinese ancient texts.
Bodies and Structures 2.0: Deep-Mapping East Asian History,\
A collection of Scalar modules and visualizations, built under a collaborative project, which is focused on spatial histories across China, Japan, and Korea. he site also allow you to create your own stories using its built-in tools (Lenses).
LoGaRT (Local Gazetteers Research Tools)
An open software for searching, analyzing, and collecting data from digitized Chinese local gazetteers (difangzhi 地方志). Registration is required to use it.
Land Survey Database of China: a Cartographic Database
Provides digitized land survey maps of China produced in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Research Centers & Interest Groups