Asian Studies

The collection of short novels depicts extremely realistic conflicts in the way of writers in unrealistic situations. The author, who draws out fantasy in the middle of reality with deep insight and a keen sense, intertwines the violence and brutality of society and humans, and the horrors that ordinary daily life has concealed with brutal imagination and detailed expression.

The author presents the issue of "women's care work," which mainly has been dug into so far, through short stories, as a full-length novel to the readers...

In eight short stories, the author digests references ranging from myths, old stories, philosophy and animation in her own way, and digs into the heartless reality to derive accurate details...

In the summer of 2002, when Korea is abuzz over hosting the FIFA World Cup, eighteen-year-old Kim Hae-on is killed in what becomes known as the High School Beauty Murder...Seventeen years pass without any resolution for those close to Hae-on, and the grief and uncertainty take a cruel toll on her younger sister, Da-on, in particular. Unable to move on with her life, Da-on tries in her own twisted way to recover some of what she's lost, ultimately setting out to find the truth of what happened.

It is a collection of seven short stories on the subject of alcohol.

Collection of short stories in original Korean and English translation with English text on opposite pages.

A collection of short novels with an honest look at the reality that has already become universal in our time...

A collection of nine short novels, which focused on the moments of the past that shock the calm inner world...

The collection of short stories depicts people who withstand the present through indifferent and heartbreaking words amidst wounded memories, difficult reality, and pain and suffering.

A story of a country's unfortunate history based on Gil Won-ok's testimony among those who are currently alive in the Japanese military 'Comfort Women'...

This novel depicts the process of restoring the sneakers of young man Lee Han-yeol, who sparked the June 1987 uprising...

Touches upon the issue of "Comfort women" that Korean literature has not dealt with well so far to a full-fledged literary arena.

Short stories in Korean and English with English translations on opposite pages.

In this book, the title 'The Future of Silence' is the novel written by Kim Ae-ran.

This collection of novels tells the story of growing up through the desire to fly and the misfortune that penetrates reality, just like the title "비행운," which symbolizes clouds that occurs when an airplane flies(contrail; 飛行雲) and chain misfortune(非幸運).

In a village under construction of a tourist complex, there are parents who have a child at the age of 17 who do not know what they will become when they grow up...

It contains nine short stories depicting the process of the character, who was hurt by his father's absence and poverty...

The science fiction portrays the imaginary world, which is nowhere but likely somewhere, constantly asking questions about the boundaries between normal and abnormal, success and failure, and between mainstream and non-mainstream.

The five stories contained mainly consist of the sadness that has been raised from the hurt and pain the artist suffered while colliding with the world. The wounds and pains stem from oppressive realities, like harsh torture, or from internal worries about the violent barbarism of the radical labor movement.

The story is about a 25-year-old woman for a year before she gets married.
The love story of the childhood and reality, which wandered around looking at the lives of identical twins, mother and aunt, intersects.

The novel describes the conflicts and contradictions of the rapidly changing times with the eyes of a college entrance examiner who lives as the son of a shabby inn in Seoul.

Her fiction is bursting with images that toe the line between realism and the fantastic. Throughout this book, comedy and an element of the surreal are interwoven with the hopelessness and loneliness that pervades the protagonists’ decidedly mundane lives.

An eco-thriller with a fierce feminist sensibility, The Disaster Tourist engages with the global dialog around climate activism, dark tourism, and the #MeToo movement.

This book is the author's third novel collection, and these novels, which seem to be of no use in survival, approach us with coolness and kindness, who are trapped in the sinkholes of "Who am I" and "Where am I?" and take out the fear of suddenness.

Her essays highlight the various faces of the climate crisis, including those that have been ignored by society such as factory-farmed animals, disabled individuals, migrant women, and delivery workers.

Two women's lives and identities are intertwined--through World War II and the Korean War--revealing the harsh realities of class division in the early part of the 20th century. In the aftermath of WWII, the women make their way home, where they must reckon with the tangled lives they've led, in an attempt to reclaim their identities, and find their place in an independent Korea.

Through five short stories, the author delicately depicts the lives of our teenagers who cannot live their own lives and are living independently. At the same time, it makes us look back on how hypocritical and distorted our lives are.

As the title suggests, the novel is based on Ahn Eun-young, a health teacher at M private high school. Although it is a job with nothing special and an ordinary name, Ahn Eun-young is not an ordinary health teacher. Born in the same way as a blessing, she works hard on the role of a health teacher while faithfully serving in the fate of a exorcist who comforts or removes things that only she can see.

Starting with the rather bizarre situation where a family split between Korea and the U.S. leaves for Hawaii to perform a one-time ritual, the novel goes through the tragedy of modern history, the violence inflicted on women of this era, and the absurdity of the world. Shim Si-seon, an artist, writer, and a grown-up ahead of her time. Created by her two marriages, the members of this unique family have grown up in their own way, honoring her in Hawaii.

The big stem of the novel is that genre novelist Jae-hwa kills his ex-boyfriend, Yong-ki, in the novel nine times, and the moment of death is engraved on his skin. The lively lines, the author's special feature is well alive, leaving a smile for the reader with thriller tension and lively exclamation and wit without letting go of critical gaze.

Around a university hospital in the Seoul metropolitan area, the stories of people inside and outside the hospital, which are loosely or tightly connected, unfold with excitement and emotion. In a novel consisting of 50 chapters, each person's plight, sudden accidents, and their concerns are not far from the current issues facing society.

A former swimmer (forced to quit due to illness, and dependent on seizure medication) has lived under the strict watch of their mother and aunt. One day the mother is found murdered.

The city of Hwayang is a suburb near the capital. An unknown infectious disease breaks out from the city that houses 290,000 people. The disease starts to spread from the 119 emergency response workers that were deployed to save the first case of an infectious disease.

Divided in two parts, the inside story is about a confrontation between a man who accidentally killed a young girl seven years ago and a victim who carries out an extracurricular justice of "revenge" on the son of the killer who killed his daughter. And the outside story begins when the son, called the "son of a killer," encounters the death of his father, who came with the news of "execution of the death penalty."

The novel deals only with the three days after the death of his "former partisan" father in the present background, but following the tangled story at the funeral hall reveals the agony of modern history for 70 years after liberation.

This work seems to be a prop dealing with the daily life of the three old widows, but instead of the stories of brothers and husbands containing ideology, it restores the stories of sisters and widows containing life.

This book contains eight short stories that shine with a heavy thematic consciousness and delicate sensitivity. While exploring historical contradictions in individuals, the outstanding works that warmly embrace the starkness behind life impress readers.

A book containing the representative works of contemporary Korean fiction in both Korean and English

The author pays attention to the different types of pain that occur in everyday life and finds a breakthrough in the way of solidarity.

A novel that makes you think about pain, reconciliation, and new hope through a couple who have "silenced" and flowed to France with wounds and memories that you can't tell

a novel that explains how the short and disadvantaged lives of men and women who struggled to pursue a better secular life lead to and change from the next generation to the next generation in an unexpected way

The novel depicts the journey of two women sharing the scars of the sudden disappearance of their loved ones to visit Atlantis, a fantasy continent that exists only in their hearts, using a mystery-fiction technique

This book naturally penetrates a hundred years of life, illuminating the four generations of life that the writer has long held in his mind, "Great-grandmother-grandmother-mother-me."

In crisp, unembellished prose, the author paints intimate portraits of the lives of young women in South Korea, balancing the personal with the political.

It is a novel in which Young-hye, who refuses to eat meat one day and begins to conflict with her family, appears as a central character.

It vividly portrays the suffering of middle school student Dong-ho and other people around him who fought against martial law forces during the Gwangju Democratization Movement, depicts the desperate scenes of the time, and desperately evokes what historical memories we should hold now.

This is a collection of seven short stories by Han Kang, published in 2012. The pain and loss that people suffer because they are human are revealed through the author’s uniquely lyrical style and warm gaze.

This book involves a leg ulcer that refuses to heal and a painful relationship between the main character and her dead sister. No true convalescence ever actually takes place, and the pain emerges as a fundamental existential experience that cannot be reduced to any passing torment.

A young woman who, following a string of traumatic experiences, has lost the power of speech connects with her teacher in Ancient Greek, who is himself losing his sight. From their respective flaws, a brittle love affair develops.

The book is an elegy dedicated to the person who could have been the narrative self’s elder sister, but who passed away only a couple of hours after birth. In a sequence of short notes, all concerning white objects, it is through this colour of grief that the work as a whole is associatively constructed.

A large and complex novel about friendship and artistry, in which grief and a longing for transformation are strongly present.

The book reproduces a manuscript left behind by a missing sculptor who is obsessed with making plaster casts of female bodies. There is a preoccupation with the human anatomy and the play between persona and experience, where a conflict arises in the work of the sculptor between what the body reveals and what it conceals.

The story unfolds in the shadow of a massacre that took place in the late 1940s on South Korea’s Jeju Island, where tens of thousands of people, among them children and the elderly, were shot on suspicion of being collaborators. The book portrays the shared mourning process undertaken by the narrator and her friend Inseon, who both, long after the event, bear with them the trauma associated with the disaster that has befallen their relatives.

The first book by Han Kang. It contains six short stories. Each story revolves around their hometown 'Yeosu' where life and death, hate and love intersect.

The story of a wife who can't adapt to city life and ends up becoming a tree, and the husband who cares for her. It depicts the isolation, loneliness, and indifference of modern people in a fantasy way.

The story of two characters trying to find the “ Yi Sun ” who disappeared without a trace. The characters, each unable to escape the darkness within themselves, are metaphorized as “Black deer” from Chinese mythology.

A video artist imagines the Mongolian birthmark on his sister-in-law's buttocks, which gives him strong artistic inspiration and uncontrollable sexual desire. The author tells that his sister-in-law and the Mongolian birthmark are objects and aspirational beings that awaken the narrator's withered artistic soul, just like his physical body.

This is a collection of poems by novelist Han Kang about the ecstasy and anxiety experienced by a poet.

A collection of Han Kang's sixteen novels, short stories, poems, and prose.

Translation of "희랍어 시간"
This book tells the story of two ordinary people brought together at a moment of private anguish--the fading light of a man losing his vision meeting the silence of a woman who has lost her language.

Translation of "채식주의자"

Translation of "흰"

Translation of "소년이 온다"

Spanish version of "희랍어 시간"

Spanish version of "채식주의자"

This book contains novels written by female authors.
'The Last of Hanak'o' by Ch'oe Yun, 'Needlework' by Chŏn Un-yŏng, 'Winter Outing' by Pak Wan-sŏ, 'Wayfarer' by O Chŏng-hŭi, 'House on the Prairie' by Kyung-sook Shin, 'The First Anniversary' by P'yŏn Hye-yŏng, 'The Bone Thief' by Hwang Chŏng-ŭn, 'Black-and White Photographer' by Han Yu-joo, 'The Future of Silence' by Kim Ae-ran.

Gendered Landscapes presents ten short stories and novellas by representative modern Korean women writers dating from the 1930s to the end of the 1990s. Signature pieces selected from the acclaimed novelists' repertoire, these narratives address issues related to Korean women as gendered beings in a Confucian-governed patriarchal society.

These nine stories span half a century of contemporary writing in Korea (1970s-2010s), bringing together some of the most famous twentieth-century women writers with a new generation of young, bold voices. Their work explores a world not often seen in the West, taking us into the homes, families, lives and psyches of Korean women, men, and children.

This book discusses perceptions of 'femininity' in contemporary South Korea and the extent to which fictional representations in South Korean women's fiction of the 1990s challenges the enduring association of the feminine with domesticity, docility and passivity.

The stories are arranged in chronological order, from the earliest work by Korea's first modern woman writer in 1917 to stories that appeared in 1995--approximately one from each decade. Most of the writers presented are recognized literary figures, but some are lesser-known voices.

This book presents the work of 20 contemporary Korean women poets active from the 1970s to the present. This anthology demonstrates the originality and variety of modern Korean women's poetry.

This anthology of work by some of Korea's most famous authors explores love and independence. The title story is by O Chong-hui, and it tells the story of a woman who fought back - and almost lost everything.

The universal topics of life, death, love, hate, sex, loss of innocence, andther themes, are explored in fiction by 3 Korean writers - Kang Sŏk-kyŏng, Kim Chi-wŏn, and O Chŏng-hŭi.

A man searches for his fiancée who vanished without a trace just before their wedding ceremony, only to discover the shocking identity of her.

Five high school teens on their way to college. But gradually they go through the struggles of life and end up discovering who they are and what it is they truly want in life.

This film captures the spirit and spunk of a group of survivors who were forced sexual slaves to Japanese army and now live together in a sharing community...Habitual Sadness is a reminder of women s vulnerability during war. It is also a testament to the strength of former victims who have exchanged their painful memories for the warmth of communal life.

It's the summer holidays in the city and young Hana is trying to get her warring parents to reunite. But she's distracted from her quest one day by a couple of younger girls, nine-year-old Yoomi and seven-year-old Yoojin..

Sun is alone as usual in a classroom on a summer vacation day. She meets transfer student Jia. They become very close and share their own secret. After the summer vacation period, Jia acts cold towards Sun...Sun doesn't want to become isolated again, tries to befriend Jia and exposes her secret.

After an extremely close national assembly race, Jong-chan wins the nomination of his party. He and his wife Yeon-hong are fully committed to the campaign, and when their teenager daughter Min-jin goes missing Jong-chan convinces Yeon-hong not to notify the authorities fearing negative publicity...

29 year-old Me-sook is the most unpopular teacher at school. She used to be a Russian language teacher at a high school, but was relegated to a middle school to teach English which she can't even understand. And she has a blushing problem so she is often afraid to even lift her face up. But to top it off, she is in love with another married teacher SEO, and believes that he feels the same but is just too shy to show his feelings. So when she finds out that he's having an affair with an attractive Russian teacher who took her place in high school, Me-sook decides to take action...

After growing up under miserable circumstances, Da Hye finally finds happiness with her fiance Sang Woo. One rainy night, Sang Woo is run over and killed by a teenager. A year passes by and Da Hye has chosen to forgive her fiance's killer, believing that to be the way of faith...

Through his elderly and old-fashioned grandmother, a spoiled seven-year-old boy learns to accept and understand the simple pleasures of nature and her lifestyle.

A story about a diplomat and a National Intelligence Service (NIS) agent who struggle and risk their lives on foreign soil to save Korean hostages that have been abducted in Afghanistan. The film is based on true events of 2007 South Korean hostage crisis in Afghanistan...

Burned out by life in Seoul, Hye Won returns to her rural hometown to clear her mind. Surrounded by nature and not much else, she grows her own food and creates various delicious dishes with seasonal ingredients...

The story of a high school girl, Sohee, who went on field training as a call center, experiences an incident and a detective, Yoo Jin, who questions it.

Lee Young-nam is a gay policewoman from Seoul who is transferred to a small seaside village because of personal misconduct. There she meets and takes in Sun Do-hee, an abused 14-year-old girl, and an ambiguous relationship develops.