Research Guides: Asian Studies: Korean Books, Articles...

Research Librarian For Asian Studies

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

Korea Foundation Intern

Youngmin Kim

Email Me

Online Resources (in Korean) by Type

Kyobo e-Library This link opens in a new window Access to an increasing number of Korean e-books. Sign-up is needed at the first time of use using UCI email account. Kyobo app needs to be downloaded and installed for reading e-books offline.
One can access the e-library only through IE (Edge in IE mode) or Chrome, or through Mobile app (look for UCiLib under Kyobo Book).
KRpia 한국의 지식콘텐츠 This link opens in a new window Provides access to a broad coverage of primary resources on Korean Studies.
RISS International This link opens in a new window Provides online access to a union catalog of millions of books, journals, and non-book materials (e.g. CD-ROM, video) in hundreds of academic libraries in Korea. Full-text may be obtained through our subscriptions or InterLibrary Loan requests.
Digitized Collections of the National Library of Korea This link opens in a new window Digitized NLK materials of various types and formats, including maps, gazettes, music scores, government documents, manuscripts, classics, novels, scholarly monographs, textbooks, journals, newspapers, and dissertations. Some materials are recent publications under strict copyright or other protections, and may only be accessed from a single dedicated workstation in the East Asian Collection, located on the first floor of Langson Library. Only available via Internet Explorer.

국가전자도서관 The National Digital Library of Korea provides a union catalog of major national libraries and more in Korea.
HathiTrust Provides access to an increasing number of Eastern and Western language materials. Institutional login (i.e., UCI NetID and Password) is highly recommended for full access.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) access to digitized books, journals, newspapers etc. please make sure to use VPN login when off-campus to take full advantage of our member access.

DBpia This link opens in a new window Provides access to all the current and back issues of thousands of Korean scholarly journals in various subject areas, including sociology, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. Searchable by title, author, keyword, journal title and publisher. There are two new functions on the full-text page. ‘AI Chat’, and ‘English Translation.’
Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals from Korea. The database has a wide subject coverage, including social science, humanities, medicine, pharmacy, engineering, natural science, physical education and art, linguistics, agriculture, and oceanography.
RISS International This link opens in a new window Provides online access to a union catalog of millions of books, journals, and non-book materials (e.g. CD-ROM, video) in hundreds of academic libraries in Korea. Full-text may be obtained through our subscriptions or InterLibrary Loan requests.

Korean Citation Index Developed by the National Research Foundation of Korea, it indexes thousands of Korean journals and millions of Korean journal articles. Some articles are available in full text.
Korea Science A reference linking platform of 466 Korea journals in Science & Technology from 1949 publication year. Users can access to abstracts or full texts.
KPM (Choson Ollon Chongbo Kiji) It provides North Korea's newspapers and journals. It provides all the articles and thesis of 15 journals, including 'Chollima' and 'Economic Research'.

KPM (Choson Ollon Chongbo Kiji) It provides North Korea's newspaper(Rodong Sinmun, Munhak Sinmun, Minju Joseon) and journals. It also provides press photos and videos.
38 North It is a website devoted to analysis of North Korea. Main objective of this site is to bring the best possible analysis to both seasoned North Korea watchers and general audiences alike. According to its introduction, this web site strives as much as possible for ideological balance, publishing opposing opinions, and utilizes various technologies to analyze military, economic, social and other developments north of the DMZ.
Historical North Korean Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) CRL provides an increasing number of historical newspapers from North Korea, As a UCI affiliate, you are eligible to borrow these newspaper reprints. Just Request them in Melvyl.
Historical South Korean Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) CRL provides an increasing number of historical newspapers from South Korea, such as Chosŏn Ilbo and Chungang Ilbo. More can be found through browsing this list sorted by cities and regions. As a UCI affiliate, you are eligible to borrow these newspaper reprints. Just Request them in Melvyl.
신문 = Newspaper (1898-1955) Digitized News Archives provided by the National Library of Korean for pre-1950 news articles.
Korea Integrated News Database System (KINDS) The most comprehensive full-text archive (1990-current) for Korean news, operated by the Korea Press Foundation. Contents include major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. These are fully searchable and available in full-text online. Four major daily newspapers—Kyŏnghyang 京鄉, Tonga 東亞, Sŏul 서울, and Han’guk 한국(1960 to 1989) are provided in pdf format, as are two newspapers dating from the period of Japanese rule—Tongnip sinmun 獨立新聞 독립신문 and Taehan maeil sinbo 大韓每日新報 대한매일신보.
Naver News Library (1920-1999) Provides fulltext search and access to four newspaper archives, including Kyŏnghyang Sinmun (京鄕新聞, 1946-1999), Tonga Ilbo (東亞日報, 1920-1999), Maeil Kyŏngje (每日經濟, 1966-1999), and Hankyore 한겨레 (1988-1999). Browsable by date as well.
Naver News Search Users can search news by timeline, fields, formats, producers and reporters with advanced search function. The coverage is from 1990 to current. It covers almost every news producers in Korea.
Online Archiving & Searching Internet Sources OASIS is pursuing to collect and preserve online digital resources, especially news articles related to important issues of Korea.

Korean film/video records in Library Search Include multimedia resources either online or at MRC

The Korean film list compiled by the librarian As of August 1, 2017

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Offers a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, offering perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. This collection provides a view on Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.

Academic Video Online (AVON) Use language filter to find Korean language films
Kanopy To get to EA language streaming videos, the first step is to click on "Browse Subjects" to choose "Film & Popular", and then "Foreign Language" Film from the menu. Once on the new page, scroll down and locate the Languages menu on the left.
DocuSeek2 Limit Language to Korean on the Advanced Search interface to find Korean documentary films.
Online Archiving & Searching Internet Sources With the advent of the Digital Era, the record of human intellectual activity has rapidly transformed from paper to digital forms. By collecting and preserving digital intellectual heritage at the national level, OASIS (Online Archiving &Searching Internet Sources: OASIS) aims to pass down digital intellectual heritage as educational and research resources to future generations. After being operated on a trial basis in January 2004, OASIS then became a standing project pursued in earnest by the National Library of Korea began pursuing to collect and preserve online digital resources since 2005.
Korean Film Youtube Channel (by KOFA) Users can watch 190 Korean films without any kind of restrictions. It keeps growing its available films.
North Korea Films About 600 streaming films available.They do not offer English subtitle.
Korean Classic Films (KMDB) Sign up is required - Send e-mail to 'kofa@koreafilm.or.kr' for signing up. - You should attach 1 copy of the document that can be identified (ID card, driver's license, passport copy, alien registration card, etc.)
한국예술디지털아카이브 Korea Digital Archives for the Arts This archive collects and preserves high-value art records that can examine the flow of modern and contemporary art history in Korea, and produces basic research materials such as art history oral recording project and performance imaging project.

Biographical Dictionaries

Choson ilbo Inmul DB registration required / operated by Choson Newspaper company, contains profile information of more than 300,000 people
한국역사인물사전 (Korean Historical Figures Dictionary) / 신규호 Call Number: EAC REF DS905 .S577 1998
한국역대인물종합정보시스템 (Korean historical people information system) Korean historical people information system

Dictionaries

영어학습사전(Korean-English-Korean Dictionary) A searchable and browsable Korean-English & English-Korean dictionary
Korea: a historical and cultural dictionary /Keith Pratt and Richard Rutt Call Number: Langson Library REF DS904.8 .P73 1999

Encyclopedias

네이버 지식백과 Naver Knowledge Encyclopedia This web encyclopedia provides users with about 2,500 dictionaries and 3 million terms.
한국의 지식컨텐츠 KRpia
두산백과 Doosan Encyclopedia This web encyclopedia provides users with about 0.5 million terms.
조선향토대백과 = Encyclopedia of North Korean geography and culture Call Number: EAC REF DS930.8 .C47 2005 v.1 - v.20
한국민족문화대백과사전 Call Number: EAC REF DS904 .H2687 1991 v.1 - v.28

Statistics

KOSIS 국가통계포털 National Statistical Portal Facilitate access to statistical data (population, employment, inflation, income, education, culture etc.) that are provided by 160 organizations across Korea. Registration is required for personal use.

Others

Ask a Korean Studies Librarian Google sign-in to get expert help from a Korean studies librarian who usually responds within 48 business hours in either English or Korean language. Or just send an email directly to askkorea@googlegroups.com

RISS International This link opens in a new window Dissertations fulltext requests submitted by UCI faculty and students are handled by the librarian (yingz at uci.edu).

Doctoral Dissertations in Humanities & Social Science at National Library of Korea open or restricted (on the Korea Corner computer) access to an increasing number of doctoral dissertations from Korea

Cultural Heritage Administration Users can search useful information about cultural heritage through this web page. CHA was established to safeguard the integrity of cultural traditions of Korea and enhance the cultural life of Korean people by preserving and promoting the use of cultural heritage.
Economic Statistics System It has compiled and provided basic economic statistics covering the main sectors of the Korean economy as basic data for such diagnoses; money & interest rates, national income, prices, balance of payments, flow of funds, business and consumer surveys, financial statement analysis and input-output tables.
Korea Foundation for International Culture Exchange (KOFICE) Website of a government-affiliated organization including ‘weekly trend report of the Korean Wave' / ‘research materials about Korean cultural Industries’ / ‘research materials of other institutions’
Korea Intellectual Property Rights Information Service KIPRIS is and internet-based patent document search service made is available to public for free of charge. It covers publications of Korean IPR applications, legal status information, trial information, etc. KIPRIS is designed to promote the use of patent information for R&D activities, patent disputes, corporate mergers & acquisitions and so on. KIPRIS consists of a basic search function for entry-level users and an advanced function for experienced users. It also provides download function.
Korean Statistical Information Service KOSIS offers a convenient one-stop service to full range of major domestic, international and North Korean statistics.
National Institute of Ecology The National Institute of Ecology (NIE) is a facility for ecological research, exhibitions, and education, allowing visitors to experience five major climates such as tropical, desert, Mediterranean, temperate, and polar climates as well as the ecology of the Korean Peninsula with animals and plants inhabiting those areas. NIE aims to increase national competitiveness by leading domestic/overseas ecological research, contribute to environmental preservation and raise environmental awareness by offering various opportunities to experience and learn about the ecology.
National Law Information Center contains national laws, administrative rules, autonomous laws, and precedents of South Korea
National Museum of Korea Users can navigate among collection database, highlights and stories from collections. They also provide their magazines and journals which are about their collections, activities and stories they have.
Open Data Portal contains government file data, open API, standard data in diverse subject areas including education, land, administration, finance, industry, welfare, food, tour, medicine safety, transportation, environment, science, agriculture, diplomacy, and law. In addition to uploaded data, individual person could request data in this website. For the personal registration, it require Korean Phone number, date of birth, email address.
Supreme Court Library of Korea The Supreme Court Library facilitates court affairs by performing such duties as acquisition, cataloging, preservation, compilation, and publication of law books, library materials, and judicial publications, as well as offering pertinent information on those materials and providing library services.
국가도서관통계시스템 National Library Statistics System This statistics is updated by a year. It deals with libraries(public, university, school, special, etc.) in South Korea including following stats categories. 1. Basic information of library 2. Collections 3. Facilities 4. Human Resources 5. Budget 6. Users and Services for Youth and The Handicapped 7. Digital Service
국립산림과학원 Library of Korea Forest Research Institute This institute has published many materials about forest and people can download these materials without any registration (only when the specific book is published from this government agency). Including; forest policy, forest disaster, raising resources, using wood, international cooperation, climate change, short income, and bio-energy.
북한자료센터 Information Center on North Korea This center focuses on materials about North Korea. Using journals, e-book and films is restricted only to visitors, it provides news about North Korea, searching tools and related web sites.
북한정보포털 North Korea Information Portal This portal in under the Ministry of Unification of South Korea. It offers refined information about politics, military, economics, society, education and culture edited and collected by the Ministry of Unification.
북한통계 North Korea Statistics
오픈 엑세스 코리아 Open Acess Korea Users can freely access to about 580,000 contents including theses, dissertations, reports, monographs, multimedia, patents and so forth.
정보 공개 포털 Information Disclosure Portal contains government documents and individual can request other documents that are not in the website. For the request, personal registration is required, which needs Korean Phone number, date of birth, email address.
한국 역사 문화 조사 자료 데이터베이스 KOREAN HISTORY & CULTURE RESEARCH DATABASE
국회 기록보존소 National Assembly Archives The National Assembly Library, designated as a permanent record management agency by the legislative branch, is in charge of managing the National Assembly records produced and received by the agencies affiliated with the National Assembly.
성평등아카이브 Gender Archive It is a interactive digital archive that records, preserves, and shares the process of changes in the Korean women's movement and women's policy. In this archive, you can find official government documents and also private records donated by citizens.
전쟁기념관 The War Memorial of Korea The War Memorial of Korea Open Archive holds a wealth of materials related to Korea's overcoming national crises, including the Korean War. They provide online access to documents, oral history, photos and videos.
국사편찬위원회 전자사료관 The Archives of Korean History This archive collects and provide online access to various historical data for the study of Korean history and organizes services by class based on the source so that the system and context of historical data can be grasped at a glance.
국가기록원 나라기록 컬렉션/토픽 6.25전쟁 National Archives of Korea Korean War Collection National Archives of Korea provides various materials related to Korean war, including government documents, presidential documents, photos, videos etc.
통일연구원 Korea Institute for National Unification In KINU, you can find some reports and publications related to Korean national unification policy through systemic research and analysis on issues regarding Korean national unification and the rebuilding of a national community.
대외경제정책연구원 The Korea Institute for International Economic Policy KIEP is a national policy research institute established to conduct studies, research and analyses of global economic issues, guiding the nation toward effective international economic policies.
한국문화관광연구원 Korea Culture & Tourism Institution In KCTI, you can find some research reports, survey, and evaluation related to Korean culture&art, cultural industry and touristic development.