Skip to Main Content

Asian Studies

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea. Resources marked

Email this link:

Research Librarian For Asian Studies

Profile Photo
Ying Zhang
Contact:
If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Introduction to EAC

About the Collection

Established in 1990, the UC Irvine Libraries’ East Asian (EA) Collection serves the needs of the EA research and teaching community on campus, which currently includes some 30 core faculty members and their graduate students who are affiliates with the Center for Asian Studies and mainly from the departments of history, art history, anthropology, East Asian languages and literatures, comparative literature, film and media, drama, sociology, political science. It is also open to any other faculty, students and local residents with a need for EA materials. In a relatively short span of 30 years, the Collection has grown from the original 8,000 Chinese books acquired from a noted historian in China to nearly 120,000 volumes in Chinese, Japanese and Korean languages as of June 30, 2019, making it one of the fastest growing Collections of this kind in the nation and the largest East Asian Collection in Orange County.

In addition to the rapid growth in quantity, the quality of the Collection has also been built up through the diversity and strength of its subject, format, chronological and geographic coverage. Over the years, with generous and continued support from library administrations, faculty, as well as generous friends and partners of the Libraries, we have acquired rich resources in modern East Asian literature and history, and Chinese classics, including many unique items as showcased below.

  • I-Ching Collection of some 2,000 volumes, largely in Chinese and Japanese traditional binding format and with publication date back to 1911 and earlier. Donated by the family of Ni Tseh (1916-1997), a former librarian at Cornell. Many, such as Xuan Xue San Shu (China, manuscript from the Qing dynasty) and Ekikyo Chokkai (Japan, cir.1660), are the only holdings in North America;
  • Shūkan Shōnen Magajin (1959-1995) from the very first issue to issues from its peak publication era. A unique resource for Japanese cultural and visual art studies, this weekly magazine was one of the many generous donations from Mrs. Sawako Noma, President and CEO of Kodansha Ltd.;
  • Hanʼguk Hojŏk Sŏngchʻaek (1904-193?) and Koseki Daicho (1834-1902), two sets of microcopies of significant Korean census records, of which the originals are kept in two Japanese universities (Kyoto and Gakushuin) respectively. The acquisition of these rare census records is a result of a close collaboration between the library and a former UCI historian.

Locations

Primarily located on the first floor of Langson Library, EA Collection resources can also be found in other library locations or online, as shown below:

Access and Circulation

The majority of EA print materials is accessible during normal Langson Library hours With a few exceptions (e.g., films and special collection materials), the Collection is open to all, and is heavily used by UCI faculty and students, as well as users from other institutions and local communities.  EA Collection resources are also discoverable through Library Search and Melvyl.

As with other materials in the library, a valid library card is required to borrow EA materials. UC faculty, staff and students may use their campus ID as a library card. Non-UC community users may purchase a fee-based card. For inquiries about getting a library card and borrowing EA books, please contact the Langson Library Check-out Desk in the lobby area at (949)824-6842 or circadm@uci.edu, or visit the website.

User Services

The Research Librarian for Asian Studies, Dr. Ying Zhang, is available to help users with their research needs concerning the collection. Dr. Zhang can be reached during weekdays (Monday – Friday) from 9am to 5pm in her office (Room 466 Langson Library), by phone (949-824-0489), via email (yingz@uci.edu) or through online chat . However, appointments are highly recommended so as to ensure service availability.

关于我们

加州大学尔湾分校东亚馆藏始建于1990年,在过去短短的三十年间,该馆藏从最初购入的一位著名历史学家之八千余本私人中文藏书扩展到如今近十二万册中日韩三语种书籍,成为了全美发展最快的同类型馆藏之一以及橙县最大的东亚馆藏。此外,该馆藏的主要服务对象暨在校东亚研究核心教授以及他们的学生阵容也日渐庞大。目前在校东亚研究核心教授多达三十名,他们来自本校多数人文和社会科学系科,其中包括,历史学系、东亚文学和语言学系、艺术历史系、考古学、比较文学、社会学系、政治学系、戏剧系、影视媒体学系。同时,这些教授都挂靠于本校的亚洲研究中心(the Center for Asian Studies)。除了这些东亚研究核心教授以及他们的学生之外,任何对东亚研究资料有兴趣的师生员工以及附近居民都在我们服务之列。

于数量上飞速增长的同时,质量上也形成了其主题、形式,年代和地域上之馆藏特色。如此丰富和有效的馆藏建设无疑离不开图书馆领导职工、核心教授、以及图书馆合作伙伴和图书之友多年来的大力支持和共同努力。就在这样的凝聚力下,我们建成了丰富的现代文学和历史,以及中国古典馆藏。在这些丰富馆藏中,有不少是于北美图书馆界独一无二之珍品,其中包括:

  • 易经特藏:共二千余册,由已故康奈尔大学图书馆员倪策家属捐赠,不少在北美属孤本,比如玄學三書 (中国, 清手抄本) 和《易經直解(日本, cir. 1660);
  • 日本少年漫画杂志(Shūkan Shōnen Magajin 1959-1995):从第一期到出版的巅峰,是研究日本艺术和文化的重要文献。该周刊杂志为日本講談社社長野間佐和子女士众多慷慨捐赠的一部分;

馆藏分布

大部分的东亚语言馆藏大都位于Langson图书馆一楼。其余的馆藏文件也可在图书馆的其他位置或者网上找到。具体分布如下:

  • Langson图书馆一楼:东亚参考资料、普通图书及期刊;
  • Langson图书馆五楼特藏和档案室:贵重和稀有的东亚资料;
  • 科学图书馆(Science Library)一楼多媒体资料中心:多媒体资料,包括电影影碟;
  • 科学图书馆(Science Library)二楼:缩微胶片和胶卷;
  • 亚洲研究指南页面:东亚研究相关电子资源

馆藏利用

绝大部分的东亚馆藏都可以在 Langson图书馆的服务时间内获取。登陆馆藏联机目录Library SearchMelvyl)即可检索查找相关资料。

和其他图书馆的书籍一样,如需借出的读者需要一张有效的图书馆卡。加州大学的员工和学生可以用他们的校园ID作为图书馆卡;而非加大人员可以免费或付费获取借书卡。详情请向Langson图书馆大堂的借书处问询。借书处电话号码和电子邮件分别是 (949)824-6842、circadm@uci.edu . 也可访问>相关网站

读者服务

若需要馆藏使用方面的帮助,请与东亚研究图书馆员张颖博士联系。张颖博士通常办公时间为早上九点至下午五点,办公地点为Langson图书馆466房间。她的其他联系方式包括电话(949)8240489)、电子邮件 (yingz@uci.edu)以及网上咨询。最好请先预约以便获得更有效的帮助。

コレクションについて

現在、歴史美術史、人類学、東亜の言語と文学、比較文学、映画、メディア、ドラマ、社会学、政治学の専門学部とアジア研究センターがあり、約30人の教授と大学院生たちが通うキャンパスであるカリフォルニア大学アーバイン校の図書館の東亜コレクションは、東アジアの研究と教育のコミュニティのニーズに応えるため、1990年に設置されました。そして、東アジアの資料を必要としている他の教職員や学生、ならびに地域住民にも開放されています。

当初は中国の有名な歴史家から寄贈された中国書籍8千冊だけでしたが、2019年6月30日現在、約30年という短期間で、中国語、日本語、韓国語の書籍合わせ12万冊以上の量へと成長しました。このカリフォルニア大学アーバイン校図書館の東亜コレクションは国内で最も急成長しており、そしてオレンジ カウンティの最大の東亜コレクションでもあります。

資料の急速な増加に加え、コレクションの質も、主題、形式、年代順、地理的範囲の多様性と強さを確立してきました。長年にわたり、図書館当局、教職員、並びに友人や図書館のパートナーからの寛大かつ継続的な支援によって、私たちは、現代東アジアの文学や歴史、そして中国の古典、多くのめずらしい書籍(下でも3つの例)など、たくさんの書籍や資料をあつめてきました。

  • 易経研究に関する倪策コレクションコーネル大学の司書倪策氏の家族によって2千冊易経研究に関する書籍を寄贈されました。多くのものが中国と日本の伝統的な装丁様式で、出版は1911年およびそれ以前にさかのぼります。この易経関係の書物の多くを北米で唯一、保有しています。例えば玄學三書(清手抄本)「易經直解」(日本, cir. 1660)
  • 週刊少年マガジン(1959年―1995年):初刊から出版全盛期の分まで揃っている日本の青年誌。日本の文化や視覚芸術研究のためのめずらしい資料であるこの週刊誌は、講談社の社長兼CEOの野間佐和子氏から寄贈されました。
  • 韓國戶籍成册[1904-193?]戶籍大帳[1834-1902]重要な韓国の国勢調査記録のマイクロコピーの2セット。これらは、それぞれ2つの日本の大学(京都大学と学習院大学)に原本があります。

資料の配架場所

東亜コレクションの資料は、ほとんどがラングソン図書館(Langson Library)の1階にありますが、(下でも述べるように)館内の他の場所やWEBサイト内にもあります。

  • 参考図書や、一般書籍と雑誌は,、ラングソン図書館の1階にあります。
  • 希少で高価な東アジアの資料は、ラングソン図書館の5階にある「特別コレクション&アーカイブス」にあります。
  • 映画のDVDなどのマルチメディア資料は、科学図書館(Science Library)1階のマルチメディア資料リソースセンターで、他の非東アジア資料と一緒に置かれています。
  • マイクロフォーム資料は科学図書館(Science Library)の2階にあるマイクロフォームキャビネットの中に他の非東アジア資料と一緒に置かれています。
  • オンラインの東亜コレクション資料は「Asian Studies Subject Guide」というWebページ で見つけることができます。

資料の貸出と返却

大半の東亜コレクションの印刷資料は、通常のラングソン図書館の営業時間中にこちらでアクセス可能です。東亜コレクション資料は>Library Search)とMelvyl)という2つの藏書検索、申込システムからでも検索することができます。

図書館内の他の資料と同様に,東亜コレクション書籍を借りるためには有効期限内の図書館カードが必要です。UCの教職員や学生は自身のキャンパスIDを図書館カードとして使用することができます。UC関係者ではない地域住民利用者は、有料のカードを購入することができします。図書館カードの取得方法と借り方についてのお問合せは、ロビーエリアにあるラングソン図書館資料貸出窓口の電話(949)824-6842、またメールアドレスcicadm@uci.eduまでお問い合わせいただくか、WEBサイトをご覧下さい。

利用者サービス

東亜コレクションに関する質問や研究ニーズがあれば、アジア研究司書である張頴博士にお尋ね下さい。張博士は彼女のオフィス(ラングソン図書館#466)で平日(月曜日―金曜日)午前時9時から午後5時まで、電話(949-824-0489)、電子メール(yingz@uci.edu)、もしくはオンラインチャットで連絡可能です。ただし、サービス利用においては、できるだけ事前予約をお願いします。

콜렉션 설명

UC 얼바인 도서관의 동아시아 콜렉션은 아시아연구센터 역할 뿐만 아니라 캠퍼스내의 동아시아 연구와 교육을 목적으로 1990년에 설립되었다.  역사, 미술사, 인류학, 동아시아 언어학, 문학, 비교문학, 영화, 미디어, 드라마, 사회학, 정치학 분야의 30명의 교직원들과 관련 대학원생들이 참여하고 있다. 이 콜렉션 센터의 공개 자료들은 다른 학교 교수들과 대학원생뿐만 아니라 동아시아 자료를 원하는 모든 사람들이 이용할 수 있다. 30년의 짦은 기간 동안에, 저명한 중국 역사학자에게서 기증받은 8천여권의 중국책들을 발판으로 시작되어, 2019년 6월 30일에는 중국책, 일본책, 한국책만 120,000권이 넘는 규모로 커지면서 미국 내에서 가장 빠르게 성장하는 동아시아 콜렉션이 되었고, 지금은 Orange County 에서 가장 큰 콜렉션이 되었다. 

책의 양이 급속히 증가했을 뿐만 아니라, 더 전문적이고 다양한 주제와 형식, 연대기와 지리적 범위를 포괄하는 저서들을 통해 콜렉션의 질적인 성장도 함께 이루어졌다. 지난 수년간 도서관 운영진과 교직원 및 많은 후원자들과 다른 도서관들의 도움을 받음으로써, East Asian Collection은, 다음과 같이, 동아시아 문학과 역사, 중국의 고전들을 포함하는 풍부한 자료들을 소유하고 있으며 다른 곳에서 찾아볼 수 없는 유일한 자료들도 가지고 있다.

  • 역경 자료집(I-Ching Collection): 총 2천여권중 대부분의 책들이 중국과 일본의 전통적인 제본 형식을 따르고  있으며 1911년에 이르기까지 그 이전에 발행된 책들도 있다. Cornell 대학에서 사서로 재직했던 고(故) Ni Tseh의 가족에게 기증받은 역경 자료집에는 玄學三書(Xuan Xue San Shu, 중국, 清手抄本)易經直解(Ekikyo Chokkai, 일본, cir. 1660) 같은 북미에서 유일한 책들도 포함되어 있다.
  • 일본 소년 잡지 (Shukan Shonen Magajin, 1959-1995): 처음 발행된 창간호부터 가장 흥행했던 시기의 잡지들까지 빠짐없이 모아놓은 이 주간잡지들은 다른 곳에서는 찾아 볼 수 없는 일본 문화와 시각 예술연구를 위한 특별한 자료이며, 일본의 Kodansha Ltd의 CEO인 Sawako Noma 사장이 기증한 자료들의 일부분이다.
  • 한국 인구조사 기록: 일본 교토 대학에 있는 원본을 축소 복사한 한국인 인구조사기록 韓國戶籍成册(Hanguk Hojŏk Sŏngchaek, 1904-193?) 과 가쿠슈인 대학의 원본을 축소복사한 戶籍大帳(Koseki Daicho,1834-1902)이 있다. 동아시아 콜렉션의 이 두 인구조사기록들은 도서관 관리인들과 UCI 역사학자들이 협력하여 소유하게 된 희귀자료들이다.

위치

해당 자료들은 Langson 도서관 1층에 주로 보관되어 있는데,  EA Collection자료들은 다른 자료들은 다음과 같은 다른 도서관 혹은 온라인에서 찾아 볼 수 있다:

  • 몇몇 대형 판본의 책들을 제외한 모든 동아시아 정기 간행물들의 합본과 대부분의 동아시아 책들은 Langson 도서관 1층에 보관되어 있다.
  • 대형 판본 책들이나 크기가 큰 책들은 도서관 지하층에 보관되어 있다.
  • 희귀본이나 고가의 자료들은 Langson 도서관 5층의 스폐셜 콜렉션 보관소에서 관리한다.
  • DVD같은 멀티미디어 자료들은 과학 도서관 (Science Library) 1층의 멀티미디어 리소스 센터 (Multimedia Resource Center) 에 다른 분야의 자료들과 함께 관리되고 있다.
  • 마이크로 자료들은 과학 도서관 (Science Library) 에 있는 마이크로 캐비닛에 다른 분야의 자료들과 함께 정리되어 있다.
  • 온라인 동아시아 자료들은 아시아 주제별 연구 웹 페이지에서 찾아볼 수 있다.

콜렉션 이용 및 대출

인쇄된 동아시아 자료의 대부분은 도서관 영업시간 에 이용할 수 있다. 동아시아 콜렉션의 영화와 스폐셜 콜렉션 자료 및 소수의 다른 자료들을 제외한 모든 자료들은 누구나 사용이 가능한데, 특히 UCI 교직원들과 학생들이 주로 많이 이용하고 있으며, 다른 교육기관과 지역 공동체들도 이용하고 있다. 동아시아 콜렉션 자료들은 다음과 같은 웹 페이지에서도 찾아 볼 수 있다.

Library Search  과   Melvyl

동아시아 자료들을 빌리기 위해서는, 도서관에 있는 다른 자료들과 마찬가지로 승인된 도서관 카드가 필요하다.  UC 교직원들과 학생들은 학교 아이디를 도서관 카드로 이용할 수 있다.  UC 구성원이 아닌 사람들은 충전식 유료 도서관 카드를 구입할 수 있다. 도서관 카드 구입 및 동아시아 책 대출문의는 Langson 도서관 로비에 있는 대출 데스크(949-824-6842)나 circadm@uci.edu에서 할 수 있다. 또한 다음의 웹페이지를 통해 문의할 수 있다.

이용자 서비스

동아시아 콜렉션을 사용하는 데 문제나 질문이 있는 분들은 아시아학 도서관 사서인Ying Zhang 박사의 도움을 받을 수 있다. 주중 오전 9에서 오후 5사이에 Langson도서관 4층에 있는 사무실 (466호)로 Zhang 박사를 방문할 수 있다. 직접 찾아 오는 게 어려운 분들은 전화 (949-824-0489)나 이메일 (yingz@uci.edu), 혹은 온라인 채팅  을 통해 도움을 받을 수 있다. 담당 사서의 스케줄에 변동이 있을 수 있으므로, 방문을 원하는 경우 미리 연락을 주고 약속시간을 정하는 것이 좋다.