Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film and Media Studies: Home

REMOTE HELP

W21 Remote Quarter: I am available virtually Monday-Friday to help you with your research!

Individual AppointmentsSchedule a 30 or 45 minute consultation via Zoom.

Email MeYou can also reach me with any questions you have by email dufourj at uci dot edu or clicking the URL above.

VPNFor help with connecting off campus.

Welcome to the Film & Media Studies Research Guide!

Welcome! This guide will point you to all kinds of interesting and valuable resources for studying and conducting research in film & media studies. Each tab listed above points you to many helpful resources, depending on what information you are looking for. It covers resources like scholarly articles, streaming films, historical film reviews, film scripts, and more. If you are new to navigating & using any of these resources, start by exploring the key resources mentioned on this mini-box or use the "Schedule Appointment" button below my photo to the right

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film Lock Icon

  • A comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema & Media Studies Lock Icon

  • Fast track your research using these authoritative bibliographies compiled by leading scholars in the field!

...There are many more on the Encyclopedias Page of this guide!

Kanopy Lock Icon

  • A  streaming film database of over 20,000 titles. Includes many films from Janus Films/The Criterion Collection!

Docuseek Lock Icon

  • A portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films.

Swank Digital Campus Lock Icon

  • Provides colleges and universities with a collection of 500 of the most requested Hollywood and feature films of all time.

...There are more streaming resources on Streaming Media Research Guide!

Cross-Search Film & Media Studies Databases Lock Icon

  • This will cross-search the AFI Film Catalog, Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Lock Icon

  • Excellent resource for historical research, trade magazines, etc.
  • An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of film/entertainment industries
  • Includes era of vaudeville and silent movies through 2000

...There are many more resources on the Finding Scholarly Articles page!

Featured Resource

Women Make Film (via Kanopy streaming)

Women Make Film is an epic exploration of cinema history through the lens of some the world’s greatest directors – all women. Told in 40 "chapters", narrated by Tilda Swinton, Jane Fonda, Debra Winger, Adjoa Andoh, Kerry Fox, Thandie Newton, and Sharmila Tagore, shot and edited by Mark Cousins - life, love, politics, humour and death, are all explored and examined in this epic 14-hour road trip like no other.

 

Connecting to Library Resources

  • The Lock Icon icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. 
  • For help with VPN & connecting off-campus visit https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect. 

Subject Guide

Jenna Dufour's picture
Jenna Dufour
Contact:
949.824/6672