Research Guides: Asian Studies: Comfort Women: A Bibliography

Introduction

The page is created to support a 2-day conference and a 6-month exhibit on Korean Comfort Women:

June 6-7, 2019: “War and Women’s Human Rights: Testimonies of the Comfort Women” conference sponsored by the UC Irvine Center for Critical Korean Studies.

May 28-December 1, 2019: “Korean Comfort Women and the U.S. Discoveries” exhibit at the UCI Science Library, Room 261. The Exhibit is sponsored by UCI Libraries.

While the historical photos/documents in the exhibit are gathered by Korean scholars mainly from NARA, the books, government documents, and films are from UC Irvine Library collections. Included on this page is the bibliography of the UC Irvine Library materials on the exhibit, in HTML for easy navigation and PDF for ready download. Interested parties may also preview a draft PDF copy of “Comfort Women Testimonies in Translation” (up to 25 pages) that Prof. Chungmoo Choi and her students have created or ask for a full copy via email.

This page was updated in support of the two half-day conference (2020 Dec. 1-2): War, Women's Human Rights and Comfort Women.

War and Women’s Human Rights: Testimonies of the Comfort Women: A Bibliography of Selected Materials in UC Irvine Libraries (HTML)

Primary Sources

Can You Hear Us?: the Untold Narratives of Comfort Women : a Collection of Oral Narrations of Japanese Military Comfort Women by Park, In-hwan
Call Number: D810.C698 T3413 2014 v.1-3
Publication Date: 2014
In three volumes, contains oral narrations from 12 victims who were forced to serve Japanese soldiers as comfort women, and a testimony of a civil activist who has been working to get restitution for comfort women.
Chinese Comfort Women by Peipei Qiu; Zhiliang Su; Lifei Chen
Call Number: D810.C698 Q58 2013
ISBN: 9780199373895
Publication Date: 2014-06-02
Through personal narratives from twelve Chinese "comfort station" survivors, this book reveals the unfathomable atrocities committed against women during the war and correlates the proliferation of "comfort stations" with the progression of Japan's military offensive...-Publisher's website
Japanese Military’s “Comfort Women” System by Congressional Research Service
Publication Date: 2007
Provides background on the system established by Japanese military overseas in the 1930s and 1940s in which local "comfort women" were coerced into providing sex to military personnel; and discusses current issue of contention between the Japanese Government and House of Representatives. Outlines evidence of the comfort women system, Japanese Government admissions, foreign reaction and controversies relating to the Asian Women's Fund atonement program, omission of this topic from Japanese textbooks, and related lawsuits in Japanese and U.S. courts.
Comfort Women Speak by Sangmie Choi Schellstede (Editor); Soon Mi Yu (Photographer)
Call Number: D810.C698 C66 2000
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Includes translation of Korean testimonies into English.
Comfort Woman by Maria Rosa Henson
Call Number: D810.C698 H47 1999
ISBN: 0847691489
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
The story of Maria Rosa Henson who was taken by Japanese soldiers occupying the Philippines and forced into prostitution as a comfort woman.
Silence Broken : Korean Comfort Women by Dai Sil Kim-Gibson
Call Number: D810.C698 K56 1999
ISBN: 0931209889
Publication Date: 1999
A book on Korean comfort women who were forced into sexual servitude by the Japanese Imperial Army during World War II includes bibliographic references. Has video as well. See also the documentary film at MRC D810.C698 S554 1999, and online via Kanopy.
Comfort Women : an Unfinished Ordeal : Report of a Mission by Dolgopol, Ustinia and Paranjape, Snehal.
Call Number: D810.C698 D65 1994
ISBN: 9290370866
Publication Date: 1994
A mission report from the International Commission of Jurists, based upon interviews with victims, veteran soldiers, government and NGO representatives, lawyers, academics and journalists. It concludes that yet very little concrete action has been taken to provide relief to Comfort Women from different countries, whose numbers range between 100,000 and 200,000.
일본군 '위안부' 관계 미국 자료 = The U.S. Records on the Japanese Military “Comfort Women” by 정 진성
Call Number: D810.C698 I427 2018
ISBN: 9791160681598
Publication Date: 2018
Primary sources from United States National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) on Japanese invasion in Asia, especially Japanese military comfort women.
일본군'위안부'자료 목록집 by 동북아역사재단 일본군'위안부'연구센터
Publication Date: 2018-2019
List of Japanese Comfort Women's Resources in 4 volumes. Vol 1-2: Sources of Japan Region; Vol.3: allied forces; Vol4: China, Taiwan and Thailand region.
Remember Her 일본군 성 노예제 피해자 by 권 주리애
Call Number: D810.C698 K885 2018; D810.C698 K886 2018; 810.C698 K887; D810.C698 K888 2018; D810.C698 K889 2018;
Publication Date: 2018
This book series contains first-hand testimonies from surviving Comfort Women, which portray the coercion, violence, abduction, rape and false imprisonment they suffered at the hands of the Japanese military. Five books are on-display, each about one of the five women:김 복동, 이 용수, 이 옥선, 길 원옥, 강 일출. Two recent films 아이 캔 스피크 (MRC PN1997.2 .A353 2018) and 귀향 : 언니 야 이제 집 에 가자 (MRC PN1997.2 .K846 2016) have been made based upon the stories of 이 용수 and 강 일출 respectively.
끌려 가다, 버려 지다, 우리 앞 에 서다 : 사진 과 자료 로 보는 일본군 '위안부' 피해 여성 이야기 by 서울시 여성 가족 정책실 and 집필 서울대 인권 센터 정 진성 연구팀
Call Number: D810.C698 K59 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A rich collection of photos, documents and other primary sources on "comfort women" that the two groups worked together to travel to national archives in the U.S., the U.K., Japan and more and to go through their archival records. Also included are testimonies from 10 well known Korean comfort women (v.1) and additional victims who once served in various Imperial comfort women stations across the Asian Pacific region (v.2). Some images at this exhibit are also in the book.
미군 위안부 기지촌 의 숨겨진 진실 : 미군 위안부 기지촌 여성 최초 의 증언록 by 김 정자, witness.
Call Number: E183.8.K6 K549 2013
ISBN: 9788946055568
Publication Date: 2013
It is the first testimony of women victims in the US military base in Korea who revealed to public their painful experiences.
제 2차 세계 대전 의 여성 피해자= Women Victims in World War II. by 동북아 역사 재단
Call Number: D810.C698 C4 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A joint exhibition of Korea, Germany, and Netherlands on forced sexual slavery during WWII,
in an effort to shed light on wartime infringement on women’s rights. Held in Seoul in November 2007, the exhibit compared forced sex labor in concentration camps during the Nazi rule (items from Ravensbruck Memorial Museum, Germany) and comfort women stations during the Japanese occupation.
가고 싶은 내 고향 을 내 발 로 걸어 못 가고 by 안 이 정선and 조 윤옥
Call Number: D810.C698 A6 2006
ISBN: 8991066178
Publication Date: 2006
Contains the testimony of Jo Yoon-ok, who was a comfort woman of the Japanese Army. It is a historical biography that was completed through vivid testimonies, rich historical documents, and visits to local sites.
실록정신대鎭魂의통곡소리 by 강호(江浩)
Call Number: D810.C698 C47 1997
ISBN: 897461085X
Publication Date: 1997
A report translated from Chinese (中國慰安婦: 跨國跨時代調查白皮書) to Korean on inhumane acts committed by the Japanese army based upon data of and testimonies from Chinese military comfort women.
강제로끌려간조선인군위안부들 by 한국정신대문제대책협의회 and 정신대연구회편.
Call Number: D810.C698 K36 1993
ISBN: 8946020229
Publication Date: 1993
A collection of testimonies of 14 Korean comfort women who were taken to serve in the Imperial Army of Japan, including halmeoni Hong who lived in Cambodia for 50 years. Vol.4 has a subtitle - 기억 으로 다시 쓰는 역사 and was co-authored by 한국 정신 대문제 대책 협의회 and 2000 년 일본군 성 노예 전범 여성 국제 법정 한국 위원회 증언팀.
日本軍「慰安婦」問題と「国民基金」 : 資料集 by 鈴木裕子
Call Number: D810.C698 N553 2013
ISBN: 9784816613111
Publication Date: 2013
A collection of activities and documentations related to addressing comfort women issues and establishing the National Fund for Korean sexual slaves of the Japanese Army.
証言未来への記憶 : アジア「慰安婦」証言 by 西野瑠美子and 金富
Call Number: D810.C698 S57 2006
ISBN: 4750323209
Publication Date: 2006
Japanese translations of testimonials from comfort women victims. Also included are a map of Korean comfort women station, a chronology of related contents in Japanese textbooks, and more.
戦場日誌にみる従軍慰安婦極秘資料集復刻版. by 琴秉洞
Call Number: D810.C698 S45 1992
ISBN: 4897742080
Publication Date: 1992
A collection of once top secret logs about comfort women that were created and kept by Logistics Service departments of Japanese Army.
従軍慰安婦資料集 by 吉見義明
Call Number: D810.C698 J845 1992
ISBN: 4272520253
Publication Date: 1992
Contains rich data and documents from various sources that are related to comfort women in Japanese military brothels across Asia during the war time.
[film] The Apology: Before It's Too Late. by Hsiung, Tiffany
Call Number: D810.C698 A66 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Follows the personal journeys of three former "comfort women" who were among 200,000 girls and young women kidnapped and forced into military sexual slavery by the Imperial Japanese Army during World War II.
[film] Fifty Years of Silence by Lander, Ned
Publication Date: 2015
A documentary made based upon a memoir by Jan Ruff-O-Herne about the Japanese Government forcibly removed thousands of young women and girls from their homes to provide sexual services as "comfort women" to the Japanese Army between 1929 and 1945.
[film] Behind Forgotten Eyes by Ferrair, Alex and Gilmore, Anthony
Publication Date: 2008
Presents the stories of a few brave Korean women who have come forward and broken the silence exposing a past that some may want to stay buried ... To this day, the Japanese government has yet to formally apologize or pay compensation to these women--Original container.
[film] Silence Broken Korean Comfort Women by Kim-Gibson, Dai Sil
Call Number: D810.C698 S554 1999
A powerful and emotional documentary about Korean women forced into sexual labor by the Japanese Imperial Army during World War II, combining testimonies of former comfort women who demand justice for the "crimes against humanity" committed against them, along with contravening interviews of Japanese soldiers, recruiters and contemporary scholars who deny the existence of comfort women or claim that these victims "did this for money."
[film] In the Name of the Emperor. by Choy, Christine, and Tong, Nancy
Publication Date: 1997
An account of the Nanking Massacre. Integrates diary entries, actual film footage of the massacre shot by an American missionary, Rev. John Magee, interviews with Japanese scholars and former soldiers who recalled in detail how they savagely killed and raped Chinese civilians, and the related story of the comfort women.
[film] 최후의심판: 광복 70주년특집 by 이광훈
Call Number: D810.C698 .C4644 2017
Independence Day 70th anniversary special documentary about Japanese "comfort women", who also have their families. For the first time, SBS filmed a documentary for real story of comfort women's family. The documentary is about those women as mothers (Disc 1) and their painful identity crisis being forced sexual labors in the Japanese Army.
[film] 그리고 싶은 것 = The Big Picture by 권 윤
Call Number: D810.C698 K876 2012
A documentary about an unpublished picture book on "comfort women" to the Japanese colonial army by a Korean picture book author, Kwon Yoon-duk due to oppositions when she joins the "Picture Books for Peace Planning Committee" with other authors from Korea, China and Japan.
[film] 나의 마음은 지지 않았다= My Heart is Not Broken Yet by 안해룡
Call Number: D810.C698 N3 2010
This documentary profiles a former 'comfort woman' Song Sin-do's story based on her vivid memory. Also includes special comments from eight people who worked for Song Sin-do.
[film] 낮은목소리 1=Habitual Sadness 1 by 변영주.
Call Number: D810.C698 N34 2005
A documentary about the past and present experiences of a group of "comfort women" who during World War II were abducted and forced into sexual servitude for the Japanese army.
[film] 낮은목소리 2=Habitual Sadness 2 by 변영주
Call Number: D810.C698 N342 2005
The follow-up documentary film records, at request from the group of “comfort women”, their new rural home and the last days of a group member who was diagnosed with cancer. Also available online https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/habitual-sadness?account_id=14509&usage_group_id=96104
[film] 二十二 = Twenty two by 郭柯
Call Number: D810.C698 E727 2017
An estimated 200,000 Chinese women were forced into prostitution by the Japanese army during WWII. Only 22 of them remain today to speak out publicly and talk about their own tragic experiences.
[film] 戦場の女たち=Senso Daughters by 関口典子
Call Number: D810.C698 S465 2005
The story of Japanese and Korean women brought to Papua New Guinea by Japan as "military commodities" during the Japanese World War II Papua New Guinea campaign from 1942-1945.

Secondary Sources

Korean Comfort Women: military brothels, brutality, and the redress movement by Pyong Gap Min
Call Number: D810.C698 M56 2021
ISBN: 9781978814967
Publication Date: 2021-04-30
The book synthesizes the previous major findings about Japanese military sexual slavery and legal recommendations, and provides new findings about the issues "comfort women" faced for an English-language audience.
Traffic in Asian Women by Laura Hyun Yi Kang
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781478012283
Publication Date: 2020-08-14
In this book, the author positions "Asian women" as an analytic through which to understand dominant international discourses of female injury and empowerment in the 1990s. Kang "reveals how the emergence of the comfort women onto the world stage was the result of many overlapping global and technological changes: South Korea's transition to a democratic nation in the late 1980s; the close of the Cold War and the ability for international attention, specifically in the form of the United Nations, to focus on what had previously been deemed less important topics; the rise of human rights discourses and the call to document abuses; and the emergence of mass media technologies, which allowed for testimonies of survivors to be widely shared..."
Comfort Women:: A Movement for Justice and Women's Rights in the United States by Jung-Sil Lee (Editor); Dennis Halpin (Editor)
Call Number: D810.C698 C66 2020
ISBN: 9781565913851
Publication Date: 2020-08-25
This book is dedicated to compiling and recording the tremendous efforts of diverse groups of people for the cause of the "comfort women " in the United States for the last 28 years in hopes that readers can use and learn from these archived materials to prevent such atrocities in the future and to fight those battles today, where the voices of women in the past could not.
The Burden of the Past: Problems of Historical Perception in Japan-Korea Relations by Kimura, Kan
Call Number: DS849.K6 K573713 2019
ISBN: 978047207410
From the history textbook debates, to the Occupation-period exploitation of "comfort women," and more, Professor Kimura traces the rise and fall of popular, political, and international concerns underlying these issues.
The Japanese Comfort Women and Sexual Slavery During the China and Pacific Wars by Caroline Norma; Stephen McVeigh (Series edited by)
Call Number: D810.C698 N67 2016
ISBN: 9781472512475
Publication Date: 2015
Explores the origins of the Japanese military's system of sexual slavery and illustrates how Japanese women were its initial victims.
Rethinking Historical Injustice and Reconciliation in Northeast Asia by Gi-Wook Shin (Editor); Soon-Won Park (Editor); Daqing Yang (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Included is an article by Hideko Mitsui entitled “The Resignification of the ‘Comfort Women‘ through NGO Trials.”
NWSA Journal: A Publication of the National Women’s Studies Association
Call Number: HQ 1101 N385 v.18 no.3 2006
Included in this journal issue is Yuki Terazawa's article "The Transnational Campaign for Redress for Wartime Rape by Japanese Military: Cases for Survivors in Shanxi Province." It discusses cases of sexual violence committed by the Japanese Army in China during the Asia-Pacific War and the redress movement for Chinese rape survivors started in the 1990s.
Nationalism and Gender by Chizuko Ueno
Call Number: D810.C698 U45 2004
ISBN: 1876843535
Publication Date: 2004-01-02
English translation of ナショナリズムとジェンダー by Ueno Chizuko 上野千鶴子, a famous Japanese sociologist and Japan's "best-known feminist". One chapter is devoted to the military comfort women issue.
Japan’s Comfort Women : Sexual Slavery and Prostitution During World War II and the US Occupation. by Tanaka, Toshiyuki
ISBN: 9780203302750
Publication Date: 2003-08-29
This English translation edition provides the definitive account of the practice of sexual slavery the Japanese military perpetrated during World War II by the researcher principally responsible for exposing the Japanese government's responsibility for these atrocities.
Perilous Memories: the Asia- Pacific War(s) by T. Fujitani (Editor); Lisa Yoneyama (Editor); Geoffrey M. White (Editor)
Call Number: DS777.53 .P44 2001
ISBN: 0822325322
Publication Date: 2001-06-21
Included in this book is a paper by UCI Professor Chungmoo Choi entitled “The politics of war memories toward healing [Korean comfort women].”
Legacies of the Comfort Women of World War II by Margaret D. Stetz; Bonnie B. Oh (Editor)
ISBN: 0765605449
Publication Date: 2000-05-31
Scholars of Asian history and politics, feminists, human rights activists, documentary filmmakers, visual artists, and novelists address the subject of the comfort system in the historical and cultural contexts and discuss academic, activist and artistic responses to the system. Also available at Langson Library D810.C698 L44 2001
Comfort Women: Colonialism, War, and Sex by Choi, Chungmoo
Call Number: DS 501 P67 v.5 1997
Special Issue of Positions: East Asia Culture Critique (Vol 5, No 1 -- Spring 1997) guest edited by UCI Professor Chungmoo Choi.
The Rape of Nanking by Iris Chang
Call Number: DS796.N2 C44 1997
ISBN: 0465068359
Publication Date: 1997-11-21
“It is impossible to determine the exact number of women raped in Nanking. Estimates range from as low as twenty thousand to as high as eighty thousand” (p.89).
The Comfort Women : Sex Slaves of the Japanese Imperial Forces. by George Hicks
Call Number: D810.C698 H53 1995b
ISBN: 1863737278
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Stories of the over 100,000 women who were forced to be prostitutes for the Japanese Imperial Forces during World War II, with rich photos.
제국 의 위안부, 법정 에서 1460일 by 박 유하
Call Number: D810.C698 P353 2018
ISBN: 9788964620991
The author outlines the background and process of lawsuits that have been under way for the past four years against her 2013 book 제국 의 위안부 (Comfort Women of the Empire).
"제국 의 위안부", 지식인 을 말 한다 by 박 유하
Call Number: D810.C698 P3737 2018
ISBN: 9788964621004
The author responds to the criticism from Korean and Japanese scholars, before and after the lawsuit again her 2013 book 제국의 위안부 (Comfort Women of the Empire).
일본군 '위안부' 문제 와 일본 의 역사 수정 정책 by 동북아 역사 재단 일본군 '위안부' 연구 센터
Call Number: D810.C698 I44 2018
ISBN: 9788961874199
Publication Date: 2018
Discusses essential issues about Japanese military comfort women, including related Japanese government policy, Japan's denial of history, and responses from the international community.
평화 의 소녀상 을 그리다 : 우리 나라 75곳 평화비 를 찾아 떠난 그림 기행 by 김세진.
Call Number: NB1952.C66 K55 2018
ISBN: 9791163140092
The artist went to the Statue of Peace in different cities in Korea. The book is about her 104-day journey meeting with the Statue of Peace.
'위안부' 문제 와 미래 에 대한 책임 : 한일 '합의' 에 대항 하여 by 김 부자 (金富子), 김 창록 (金昌禄), 나카노 토시오 (中野敏男), 오카모토 유카 (岡本有佳), 이타가키 류우타 (板垣竜太) ; 번역 김 창록 (金昌禄), 이 제수 (李濟琇).
Call Number: D810.C698 I3655164 2018
ISBN: 9788928512041
Publication Date: 2018
Discusses problems related to the 2015 agreement between Korea and Japan on the WW2 Korean Comfort Women, and proposed solutions to address the problems.
동 아시아 일본군 위안부 연구 by 김 경일
Call Number: D810.C698 K565 2017
ISBN: 9791158662615
Discusses research trends of the Japanese military "comfort women" in East Asia and tracks the drafting process in every affected country based on data on prostitution and human trafficking. The discussions are made in social contexts.
누구 를 위한 화해 인가 : 제국 의 위안부 의 반역사성 = 'Reconciliation' for Whom? : Comfort Women of the Empire as Invented History by 정 영환
Call Number: D810.C698 P3734164 2016
ISBN: 9791156120773
Having examined Park Yoo-ha's 2013 book 제국의 위안부 (Comfort Women of the Empire), this author argues that the vast amount of evidence provided by Park Yu - ha on Japan's postwar apologies and compensations are fictional. Korean edition of 忘却のための「和解」 :「帝国の慰安婦」と日本の責任 (世織書房, 2016).
2015 '위안부' 합의 이대로 는 안 된다 by 김 창록, 양 현아, 이 나영, etc.
Call Number: D810.C698 A145 2016
ISBN: 9788949942063
Addresses the downsides of the agreement between Korea and Japan in December 28, 2015 on the "comfort women" issue between the two countries, from the viewpoint of sociologists, international legal scholars, and female scholars who have sought to solve this problem in real terms.
20년간 의 수요일: 일본군 '위안부' 할머니들 의 평화 의 날갯짓 by 윤 미향
Call Number: D810.C698 Y854 2016
ISBN: 9791195716906
Publication Date: 2016
Record some twenty years of demonstrations in front of the Japanese embassy in Seoul, fighting for peace and human rights from former Japanese comfort women and their supporters.
빈 의자 에 새긴 약속 : 평화 의 소녀상 작가 노트 by 김 서경
Call Number: D810.C698 K567 2016
ISBN: 9791187342007
Tells the story and process of making the Statue in Peace and the meaning of the 12 symbols of the girl statue. Also provides artistic and social evaluations of the social arts, the public sculptures of the Statue of Peace, on the top of interviews with a couple of sculptors.
제국 의 위안부 : 식민지 지배 와 기억 의 투쟁 (2nd edition) by 박 유하
Call Number: D810.C698 P35 2015
ISBN: 9788964620519
A different voice on the comfort women system in this book written by a Japanese studies scholar who is currently a professor at Saejong University, Korea. The different voice later resulted in a lawsuit from the Korean comfort women habitat (sharing house) against the author. This is a revised edition after the author was defeated in the lawsuit. The original edition was published in 2013.
제국 의 변호인 박 유하 에게 묻다 : 제국 의 거짓말 과 위안부 의 진실 by 손 종업, 양 징자, 황 진미, etc
Call Number: D810.C698 P3733 2015
ISBN: 9791195190607
The authors from various backgrounds criticize 박 유하 Park Yoo-ha's 2013 book 제국의위안부 (Comfort Women of the Empire), and similar viewpoints among liberal intellects in Korea and Japan, from the aspects of legislation, history, literature, journalism, and activism.They regard this liberal phenomena a "Japanese historical revisionism" that attempts to deny war crimes.
조선인 군 위안부 와 일본군 위안소 제도. by 윤 명숙
Call Number: D810.C698 Y86164 2015
ISBN: 9788961472128
Korean translation of the author's Japanese book 日本の軍隊慰安所制度と朝鮮人軍隊慰安婦. The main focus is on the imperial military brothel system and the formation of forced sexual labor system that involved Korean women.
그들 은 왜 일본군 '위안부' 를 공격 하는가 by 전쟁 과 여성 대상 폭력 에 반대 하는 연구 행동 센터
Call Number: D810.C698 I3164 2014
ISBN: 9788958627357
Publication Date: 2014
Addresses some essential debates over the Japanese "comfort women" issue , including "Kono Discourse," forced execution, and the National Fund.
위안부 를 둘러싼 기억 의 정치학 : 다시 쓰는 내셔널리즘 과 젠더 by 上野千鶴
Call Number: D810.C698 U35164 2014
ISBN: 9788965640981
A Korean version of ナショナリズムとジェンダー Nationalism and Gender (Iwanami Shoten, 2012), which has greatly revised and expanded the first edition of Nationalism and Gender (Seidosha, 1998) by Ueno Chizuko, a famous Japanese sociologist and Japan's "best-known feminist".
일본 의 군 '위안부' 연구 by 일본 의 전쟁 책임 자료 센터 엮음
Call Number: D810.C698 K55162 2011
ISBN: 9788961872249
Publication Date: 2011
Includes selected and translated articles about Japanese military comfort women published in the magazine 季刋戦争責任研究 published by Japan's Center for Research and Documentation on Japan's War Responsibility (日本の戦争責任資料センター).
한일 역사 현안 관련 일본군 위안부 연구 논저 목록 by 동북아 역사 재단
Call Number: Z7963.C65 H36 2009
ISBN: 9788961870931
Publication Date: 2009
A bibliography of research papers from China, Korean, Japan and United States on Japanese military comfort women in the historical contexts of Japan and Korea.
일본군성노예제 : 일본군위안부문제의실상과그해결을위한운동 by 정진성
Call Number: D810.C698 C44 2004
ISBN: 8952105222
Addresses the historical reality of slavery in Japan and social movements for solving the problem. From the concept of military comfort women to the process of establishing the military brothels, the author addresses the social structure of the sex slavery system through analyzing various facts and documents of the Japanese military and the testimony of victims.
성노예와병사만들기 by 안연선
Call Number: D810.C698 A6 2004
ISBN: 8987519910
Discusses "comfort women" issues based on interviews and surveys of former sexual labor to the Imperial Army and Japanese soldiers and tries to restore the lives of those victims of mobilization in the colonial history.
일본군'위안부'문제의책임을묻는다 : 역사・사회학적연구 by 한국정신대문제대책협의회
Call Number: D810.C698 I482 2001
ISBN: 897474872X
Publication Date: 2001
Examines the Japanese army comfort station system with a focus on post-trauma of its victims due to the suffering they received during and after the war.
"記憶"と生きる : 元「慰安婦」姜徳景の生涯 by 土井敏邦
Call Number: D810.C698 D64 2015
ISBN: 9784272521067
A Japanese journalist writes about suffering life of halmeoni 姜德景강덕경 as a comfort women to the imperial army of Japan. Contains a few paintings by the halmeoni portraying her hardship and view of Japan's comfort women system.
"慰安婦"問題を/から考える : 軍事性暴力と日常世界 by 歴史学研究会 and 日本史研究会
Call Number: D810.C698 I34 2014
Reports from the symposium held on December 15, 2013 in Meiji University, which was co-organized by the Historical Science Society of Japan and the Japanese Society for historical Studies. Focuses on addressing comfort women issues in the context of military violence and civilian society.
アジアの花たちへ :「慰安婦」問題と格闘した国会議員の記錄 by 吉川春子
Call Number: D810.C698 Y64 2008
ISBN: 9784780301526
Examines controversial perspectives towards “comfort women” issues within the Japanese Parliament over time.
歴史と責任: 「慰安婦」問題と一九九〇年代 by 金富子 and 中野敏男
Call Number: D810.C698 R45 2008
ISBN: 9784787232861
Overview of comfort women issues in Japanese and global contexts in 1990s.
ここまでわかった!日本軍「慰安婦」制度 by 吉見義明, 林博史, and 西野瑠美子
Call Number: D810.C698 S54 2007
ISBN: 9784780301397
Presentations by the three authors at the Koko Made Wakatta! Nihongun "Ianfu" Seido (literally meaning Now we understand the “comfort women” system in Japanese Army ) symposium on August 11, 2007, which are compiled by 日本の戦争責任資料センター (Center for Research and Documentation on Japan’s War Responsibility) and アクティブミュージアム「女たちの戦争と平和資料館」 (Women’s Active Museum on War and Peace).
戦争と性 : 韓国で「慰安婦」と向きあう by 高柳美知子 and 岩本正光
Call Number: D810.C698 T35 2007
ISBN: 478030119X
Discusses how comfort women for the Japanese Army have been depicted in comic books, literature and textbooks in Japan and Korea.
よくわかる慰安婦問題 by 西岡力
Call Number: D810.C698 N577 2007
ISBN: 9784794216014
The author is a specialist of the Japan-and-South-Korea and Japan-North Korea relationship, and was tackling this problem earnestly from the beginning. A core and truth of the question are clarified in a clear and persuasive point of an argument. - From Amazon
「慰安婦」問題とアジア女性基金 = 「위안부」문저[i.e. 문제]와아시아여성기금 = "Comfort Women" & Asian Women's Fund by 大沼保昭, 下村満子 and 和田春樹
Call Number: D810.C698 I365 1998
ISBN: 4887133030
Japanese international law scholar (Yasuaki Onuma), historian (Haruki Wada) and journalist (Mitsuko Shimomura) advocate for the need to enhance and expand Asian Women’s Fund for monetary compensation to imperial military comfort women.
日本帝国的性奴隶 : 中国"慰安妇"的证言 by 丘培培, 苏智良
Call Number: DS777.533.W65 Q258 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Examines brutal facts about the Japanese military comfort women system, based upon testimonials of 12 former forced sexual slaves in China. Discusses international efforts made demanding compensations to the victims from Japan.
证据 : 上海172个慰安所揭秘 by 苏智良, 陈丽菲, 姚霏
Call Number: D810.C698 S824 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Reports the authors' 25-years investigation of 172 comfort women stations in Shanghai that were established by the Japanese army during WWII.
台灣慰安婦 by 朱德蘭
Call Number: D810.C698 Z486 2009
Historical analysis and report of comfort women from Taiwan during the Japan's colonial rule.
被遺忘的大屠殺 : 1937 南京浩劫 by 張純如著 ; 蕭富元譯
Call Number: DS796.N2 C44123 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Chinese translation edition of Iris Chang's The Rape of Nanking.

Literary and Filmographic Representation

White Chrysanthemum by Mary Lynn Bracht
Call Number: PR6102.R323 W55 2018b
ISBN: 9780735214446
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
A deeply moving and redemptive story about two Korean sisters separated by World War II. Hana, the older sister was forced to become a sexual slave of Japanese soldiers.
A Cruelty Special to Our Species by Emily Jungmin Yoon
Call Number: PS3625.O535 A6 2018
ISBN: 9780062843685
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
The poem anthology of the author, a fellowship recipient from the Poetry Foundation, include substantial number of poems about comfort women.
Ordinary Misfortunes by Emily Jungmin Yoon
Call Number: PS3625.O53 O73 2017
ISBN: 1946482064
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Also include some poems about comfort women.
A Gesture Life by Chang-rae Lee
Call Number: PS3562.E3347 G4 1999
ISBN: 1573221465
Publication Date: 1999-09-06
About a secret life of a Japanese-American pharmacist in a small town in New York. On the surface a model of propriety and serenity, he is torn by memories of his service in the Japanese army in World War II and the comfort woman he loved and could not save. - From the author
흐르는 편지 by 김 숨
Call Number: PL994.415.S86 H87 2018
ISBN: 9788972759003
A once "comfort woman" girl of 15 years old shares her painful experience during the war time while living in the comfort women's house.
하얀 국화 by 매리 린 브락트/이다희
Call Number: PR6102.R323 W4519 2018
ISBN: 9788970758787
Publication Date: 2018
Korean translation of White Chrysanthemum written by Korean-American woman Mary Lynn Bratt. It is an inspiring story depicting Japanese military slaves and Jeju 4,3 events.
한 명 : 김 숨 장편 소설 by 김 숨.
Call Number: PL994.415.S86 H36 2016
On order for East Asian Collection. A literature reconstruction of 300 or so comfort women victims with narratives close to their painful lives during and after the war time.
몽화 =夢花. by 권 비영.
Call Number: PL994.46.P58 M66 2016
ISBN: 9788937837487
On order for East Asian Collection. The story in 1940 about three girls who came with different backgrounds but ended into the same horrific experience.
백산 의 연인 by 우 봉규
Call Number: D810.C698 U66 2016
ISBN: 9788991697379
Publication Date: 2016
A novel depicting suffer and anger of a woman who had been sexually enslaved by Japanese soldiers, while her Korean peers had done nothing to protect her, and who felt a painful loss of herself as well as her fatherland.
나 는 조선 의 처녀 다 : 눈물 로 쓴 정신대 위안부 이야기 by 최 다니엘
Call Number: PL994.18.T36 N34 2015
ISBN: 9788993525267
Publication Date: 2015
Author rewrites stories of many comfort women based on interviews and resource checking, while also addresses background of the sexual slave system, including how Japanese perceive women's role.
[film] Comfort Me by Kim, Soo Jin
Call Number: PN1995.9.E96 C664 1993
Woman washing herself brusquely, while a brief narration is heard concerning the Korean "comfort girls" of WWII when the Japanese held Korean women captive as sexual slaves.
[film] 허스토리 = Herstory by 민 규동
Call Number: PN1997.2 .H67 2019
Setting in 1991, Busan, a story about Moon, the owner of a leading travel agency tried to find her missing housekeeper soon after Kim Hak-soon's confession of her experiences as a comfort woman was revealed to the world…
[film] 아이 캔 스피크= I Can Speak by 김 현석.
Call Number: PN1997.2 .A353 2018
A 90-minute drama about (1) an elderly woman on the side of urbanism and fighting city hall; (2) an elderly woman and her young friend; and (3) a real examination of the legacy of Japan’s wartime comfort women program in Korea. The film is based upon 이 용수's story (see Remember Her 일본군 성 노예제 피해자 3: 이 용수 : 아이 캔 스피크의 주인공 D810.C698 K889 2018).
[film] 눈 길= Snowy Road by 이 나정
Call Number: PN1997.2 .N865 2017
The drama depicts the sad and beautiful friendship between two friends from the same village in Korea. Both are now on the same train, but they don't know where they are headed. Soon, they face the horrific reality of "comfort women."
[film] 마지막 위안부= The Last Comfort Women by 임 선
Call Number: PN1997.2 .M3556 2016
A sad and painful story about comfort women who were sacrificed to the Imperial Japanese Army during WWII, having to live as sex slaves.
[film] 귀향 : 언니 야 이제 집 에 가자 by 조 정래
Call Number: PN1997.2 .K846 2016
The film is set during the Japanese occupation of Korea in 1943, telling a story of 14-year old and 16-year old who were shipped to Manchuria to serve as 'comfort women' for the Imperial Army. The film is based upon the real story of 강 일출 (see Remember Her 일본군 성 노예제 피해자 4: 강 일출 : 영화 ' 귀향'의 모티브; D810.C698 K885 2018)