Research Guides: Sociology: Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Psychological and Cognitive Sciences, Sociology

Related Guides

Native American Studies
California Government Information
Political Science
Gender & Sexuality Studies
Criminology
Urban Planning
Social Science Data
Education
Chicano/Latino Studies
Policy Resources
Census
Graduate Student Support

Welcome!

Here you can find resources at UCI Libraries (and beyond!) to support your sociology research.

Set up your off-campus VPN for easy access to library resources within this guide
Find information by type (e.g. articles, books, media, etc.) by using the tabs at the top of this guide
Questions? Contact Nicole Carpenter, she is here to help! Or try this:

Voting Information

Informed Voter Guide
by Elizabeth V. Hernandez Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 1365 views this year

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection: Expert Analysis, Demographics, and Data
Integrates data, analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office.

Spotlight

Sociology Oxford Handbooks Online
Tour Oxford online resources, narrow down into content from over twenty subcategories.
Nature Human Behaviour
A transformative journal on research into human behaviour from across the social and natural sciences.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Free Speech Policy at UCI
The Policy is designed to provide a context in which to understand and ensure free speech at UCI and to form the basis for applying other speech-related policies.

Literature Review Starter
Start at the beginning with these literature review steps and search strategies; see this Literature Reviews guide for more detailed information
Soc Sci Graduate Orientation Handout
Refresh your orientation to library resources and services, campus services of note and other tips.

Key Sociology Sites

American Sociological Association
The national professional organization for Sociologists dedicated to work in teaching, research and growing leadership nationally and internationally.
Annual Review of Sociology
Articles hold a unique place in the scholarly communication ecosystem because they synthesized expert knowledge covering the significant developments in the field of sociology.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database of social and behavioral sciences journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers; includes culture and social structure; health and medicine and law; policy, planning; religion and science; women's studies.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Repository of curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. Contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world through public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Sage Research Methods
Methodology tool explores concepts in designing research projects, understanding particular methods or identifying a new method, how to conduct research, and write up your findings with dictionaries, datasets, case studies and books.

Off Campus

Off Campus Access

Connecting FAQ's: Current UCI Students, Faculty, and Staff, can remotely access the UCI Libraries' licensed resources
by using the Software Virtual Private Network (VPN) Client, managed by the Office of Information Technology (OIT)

If you are having trouble setting up the VPN or finding the Group selection for UCI Full, please watch this visual set up video (skip to 1:33, then 2:28)