Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

History: Home

Information resources for UCI students, faculty, and staff interested in the field of history.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/history

Welcome!

Welcome to the History Research Guide!

This guide includes links and information related to history research. Any UCI restricted resources listed here will be designated with an asterisk (*).

Please contact me if you have any questions about history research or how to find and use a particular resource.

History Quick Start

FIND BOOKS

UCI Library Search
The UCI Libraries' main catalog, where you can find both print books and e-books.

FIND ARTICLES

Historical Abstracts*
Covers world history from 1450 - present. Does not include much on the United States or Canadian, but does have information about early colonial, revolutionary and early republic eras. Includes articles, books, dissertations and book reviews.

America: History and Life*
This is the main database for US and Canadian History. Start here to find peer reviewed articles, scholarly books, and book reviews. For history of any other part of the world back to 1450, use Historical Abstracts.

Academic Search Complete*
A multidisciplinary database for peer-reviewed journals, newspapers and magazines, and some trade publications.

JSTOR*
A growing full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Most titles only include backfiles (some as far back as the early 1800s), with only some current content.

*UCI access only

Research Librarian for Digital Humanities and History

Madelynn Dickerson's picture
Madelynn Dickerson
Contact:
Science Library
Office 229
949-824-5678

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Link to access our databases. From there, either connect through the WebVPN or download the software VPN.

Get Help from a Librarian!

blue Ask a Librarian icon