Research Guides: Nursing: Find Articles and Books

Access Key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Find Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.

Set up Alerts

In many databases, you can set up alerts to get emailed when new entries appear for a given search. See how to set up alerts for PubMed and CINAHL Complete here.

PubMed Alerts
PubMed directions and step-by-step video for creating alerts.
CINAHL Complete Alerts
Directions from EBSCOHost, the provider of CINAHL Complete, for setting up search alerts in their system.

Tips from Your Librarian

We have many different places to access electronic and physical materials at our libraries.

UC Library Search conducts very broad searches - it searches books, journal articles, media, newspapers, archives, government documents, and more across the UC campuses.
For a more health sciences and nursing focused search experience, I recommend starting with PubMed and CINAHL Complete. Access instructions for these databases can be found on this page.
To see the full range of databases available to search, try the Databases A-Z search page.

Find Articles and Books

UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UCI. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our Guide to using UC Library Search

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Interlibrary Loan & Transfers

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UCI Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
To transfer materials from Langson/Science to the Grunigen Medical Library, use the Request link in UC Library Search record for the Langson/Science owned material and choose your pickup location as Grunigen.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Biomedical and Interdisciplinary Databases

Find articles or books on a specific subject:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with topics related to physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles can be explored.

Find a specific article:

PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Select Single Citation Matcher from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.

Best Bets for Finding Medical eBooks

AccessMedicine
Browse eBooks by topic or search by keyword, title, author, or ISBN. Refer also to GML Core Resources list for Access Anesthesiology, Cardiology, HemOnc, Neurology, ObGyn, Pediatrics, Pharmacy, and Surgery collections.
ClinicalKey
Browse eBooks by specialty or select Books from the All Types dropdown menu and enter keywords to search.
LWW Health Library
Browse collections by specialty or search by keywords or author.
Thieme Clinical Collections
Select the Books tab to view hundreds of clinical medicine eBooks from Thieme Clinical Collections, or search by keyword, author, or title.
Thieme MedOne Education
Browse clinical education and reference eBooks as well as multimedia resources by subject area or search by keyword, author, editor, or title.
More Medical eBook Resources
An extended A-Z list of both free and UCI subscription resources for locating eBooks in medicine and the health sciences.

Free Articles

Free Medical Journals
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet.
Medscape Publishers' Circle®
Medscape Publishers' Circle® is a collection of high-quality healthcare information from prominent medical publishers, available free on Medscape.com to registered Medscape members. It includes a broad range of full-text material from familiar print and electronic publications including clinical journals, clinical reference books, professional periodicals, newsletters, searchable databases, self-tests, and more. Including more than 90 MEDLINE-indexed journals. New material is added as new journal issues are published, updates are added to references, and new partner publications join.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
California Nursing Update
A free online magazine of interest to nursing professionals in California. The California Nursing Update’s printed journal represents a timely and authoritative source of regulatory bulletins and information relevant to more than 500,000 California nursing professionals. This traditional journal and its interactive digital companion is published quarterly and provides nurses with information essential to their licensure. It is a “must read” for nurses, healthcare facility administrators, nursing school administrators, educators, and students. The California Nursing Update offers a single targeted, high-profile channel to connect with California’s massive nursing community.