Research Guides: Nursing: Evidence Based Practice

Introduction

What is evidence-based practice (EBP)?

According to the JAMAevidence glossary, evidence-based practice is "clinical practice in which patient management decisions are consistent with the principles of evidence-based health care." It has two closely related terms:

Evidence-Based Health Care (EBHC) -- an umbrella term for all forms of evidence-based approaches to health care.
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) -- a more specific term in EBP and EBHC that applies specifically to medical treatment.

EBP Journals

Applied Nursing Research Applied Nursing Research presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regular features include "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section. Applied Nursing Research covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration.
Evidence-Based Nursing Evidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international healthcare journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised and the most relevant articles are summarised into succinct expert commentaries, focusing on the papers’ key findings and implications for nursing practice.
Worldviews on Evidence-based Nursing This peer-reviewed journal and top information resource from The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, uniquely bridges knowledge and application, taking a global approach in its presentation of research, policy and practice, education and management, and its link to action in real world settings.
ACP Journal Club Contains content from over 100 clinical journals selected on the basis of scientific merit and assessment of relevance to evidence-based medical practice. The articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.
Evidence-Based Medicine BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine publishes research, insights and opinions on what matters for health care. The journal focuses on the tools, methods, and concepts that are basic and central to teaching and practicing evidence-based medicine.
Evidence-Based Mental Health Evidence-Based Mental Health (EBMH) updates researchers and mental health practitioners with clinical reviews, research and opinion on recent developments in the field and their clinical applications. EBMH also features case conferences, expert commentaries and practical statistics articles which enable clinicians to learn and apply an evidence-based approach to their own clinical practice.
Evidence-based practice in child and adolescent mental health Evidence-Based Practice in Child and Adolescent Mental Health (EPCAMH) is a peer-reviewed journal publishing clinically relevant work on a broad range of topics. The journal’s primary mission is dissemination of evidence-based practices to a wide range of mental health practitioners, and to increase knowledge about the expertise, scope, diversity, and practice of clinical child and adolescent psychologists.
EBP/EBM Journals
Journals relevant to evidence-based practice/medicine. May not be comprehensive. Search by title in the Library Catalog for journals that you don't find.

EBP Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Mosby's Evidence-Based Nursing Monographs Part of ClinicalKey for Nursing, these monographs include the latest evidence about common clinical problems, including summaries of key studies, tagged by level of evidence. For each monograph you will find the Clinical Question, Introduction to Clinical Health Problem:Pathophysiology, Current Practice, Synopsis of Current Literature, Evidence-Based Nursing Recommendations, and NOC/NIC.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality databases that consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Epistemonikos Systematic Reviews. CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. CDAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window This database searches across a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence. This comprehensive range of resources includes records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.

JAMAevidence* Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendations The USPSTF was convened to rigorously evaluate clinical research in order to assess the merits of preventive measures, including screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and preventive medications. The topics on this site include all recommendations: active, inactive, and in progress.
NHS Evidence Produced by Britain's National Health Service, NHS Evidence Search provides access to authoritative clinical and non-clinical evidence and best practice. Provides access to high quality evidence-based information including guidelines, primary research and ongoing trials. Free to access, though some advanced features and resources (e-Books and journals may be restricted to users of NHS Athens, which enables access to healthcare databases licensed to NHS England.

EBP Nursing Books

EBP Nursing Books
Print and online books relevant to Evidence-based practice in Nursing sorted by most recent publication date. May not be comprehensive.

Search by title in the Library Catalog for books that you don't find. For eBooks, select "Available Online" to the left of the results.

ANS: Advances in Nursing Science Blog: a forum for discussion of issues raised in the articles published in ANS

Cochrane Podcasts

Cochrane Collaboration Podcasts Cochrane podcasts deliver the latest Cochrane evidence in an easy to access audio format, allowing you to stay up to date on newly published reviews. Each Cochrane podcast offers a short summary of a recent Cochrane review from the authors themselves, and cover the latest Cochrane evidence in under five minutes. Browse the podcasts or use the search box to look for something specific.