Research Guides: Nursing: Citations

Bibliographic Management Software

Bibliographic Management Software
Bibliographic management software allows you to create and track references (aka citations) and to create bibliographies or reference lists formatted in the appropriate style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian. You can simultaneously import records from databases such as PubMed, CINAHL, and PsycINFO in addition to many others. You can add abstracts, keywords and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of your project.

APA Citations and Other Style Guides

APA Style, 7th ed. - Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Provides an overview of APA (American Psychological Association) style and where to find help with different APA resources. It provides an annotated list of links to all of our APA materials and an APA overview. It is an excellent place to start to learn about APA format.
APA Documentation Guide From the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
APA Style
APA Style Blog
APA Style Quick Guide of Reference - In-Text Citations
Citations: APA
Education: APA Style & Citation Resources
Public Health: APA Style & Citation Resources
Citing Medicine: NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers A free, online, full-text book, Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Samples of Formatted References for Authors of Journal Articles The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) offers guidance to authors in its publication Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (ICMJE Recommendations), which was formerly the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts. The recommended style for references is based on the National Information Standards Organization NISO Z39.29-2005 (R2010) Bibliographic References as adapted by the National Library of Medicine for its databases. (Note Appendix F which covers how citations in MEDLINE/PubMed differ from the advice in Citing Medicine.)
How to Write an APA Style Reference Even Without All the Information

EndNote Training, Tutorials & Fixes

References imported into EndNote Desktop from PubMed/ Medline may show abbreviations instead of full names as required by the APA 6th edition style. See the official EndNote video below to apply a fix to EndNote Desktop. The video still refers to EndNote X7, but the instructions will work with the current version. NOTE: You must have a library open in EndNote in order to follow these instructions.

EndNote Video on Journal Names

Unfortunately, there is currently no fix available for this issue in EndNoteWeb.

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

In your document, do the following:

Word 2007/2010/2013/2016 (Windows): Go to the EndNote or Endnote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. At the lower right-hand corner of the "Bibliography" portion of the ribbon, there is a square box. Click on this box.

Word 2016 (Mac): Go to the EndNote or EndNote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. Click Bibliography > Configure Bibliography.

Word 2003/2004/2008/2011: Go to the "Tools" Menu and choose "EndNote (or EndNote Web) > Configure Bibliography, Bibliography Settings or Format Bibliography" command. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th.
Next, click on the Layout tab. Here, you have options to change the font and line spacing options for the bibliography.

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

You can configure EndNote to retrieve full text through the UC's OpenURL link while on campus or while connected to the Software VPN.

To use UC-eLinks from within EndNote, make the following modification:

Open EndNote and in the top menu go to Edit > Preferences in Windows, and the EndNote menu > Preferences on the MAC.
Select the Find Full Text option.
Check the four boxes at the top, and paste this link into the OpenURL Path:
- https://uci.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CDL_IRV_INST/01CDL_IRV_INST:UCI?
Click OK

You can now right click on references (or multiple selected reference) and select the Find Full Text option.

This has been tested on EndNote 9.x and 20.

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

The desktop version of EndNote is available for download to UCI students (including faculty, and staff) for $149.95 through the ThinkEDU online store. Go to https://store.thinkedu.com/clarivate-analytics-endnote-20-for-students-macwin-download-p9573.aspx.

This purchase requires an “Academic ID” which consists of your UCI email address.

Finding Full Text with Zotero

Locate PDFs
Zotero has a couple ways to locate the full text of items in your database. The "Locate" option is one of these.

Find Available PDFs

A second option is to highlight several items in your list, then right-click and choose the "Find available PDFs" option.

You can also add a "resolver" string to the Zotero preferences to enhance this option.

Add this to Zotero to help find full text. In Zotero, go to: Edit > Preferences > Advanced > General Tab > Open URL > Resolver

Paste the string below into the box.

https://uci.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CDL_IRV_INST/01CDL_IRV_INST:UCI?

Be sure to include the "?" at the end of the string.

After you have done this, select the list of articles you need the full text for, right click, and select "Find Available PDFs." Adding this link allows Zotero to also search the UCI collection. It will not find every one but will lessen the amount of searching you have to do.