Research Guides: Nursing: Nursing Professional Resources

UCI Nursing

UCI Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing The UC Irvine Program in Nursing Science was established in 2007. In 2016, the William and Sue Gross Family Foundation committed $40 million to UC Irvine to establish a nursing school and assist in the construction of a new building to house it. The contribution is the largest single gift ever to UC Irvine. The School of Nursing provides academic and professional education in the discipline of nursing. Nursing is interdisciplinary and collaborative in its art and its science. The body of knowledge that comprises nursing science includes application of knowledge from the biological, social, behavioral and biomedical sciences. Our School prepares graduates for basic clinical and advanced practice roles. It also prepares them for educational, administrative and research positions across the healthcare delivery system, as well as faculty positions in academic institutions. Nursing science research is formulated in an expanded view of health that includes health promotion, restoration and rehabilitation. Our School promotes outstanding research in nursing science subspecialties and in related faculty areas of interest.
UCI School of Nursing on Facebook
Alpha Tau Delta at UC Irvine UCI Chapter of the Alpha Tau Delta Fraternity for Professional Nurses, a professional nursing organization, committed to providing an inter-fraternal spirit of cooperation by offering an opportunity for nurses to promote their personal and intellectual growth through education, networking, scholarships, guidance and a collective responsibility to the fraternity. Alpha Tau Delta seeks to achieve an environment that fosters excellence of individual performance, advancement of education, character enrichment and leadership.
UCI Nursing Science Student Association Facebook
UCI Nursing Science Alumni Association Facebook
UCI Nursing News UCI Nursing: All the News, All the Time!

Professional Associations & Websites

California Board of Registered Nursing "The California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) regulates the practice of registered nursing and certified advanced practice nurses in order to protect the public health, safety and welfare. The Board exists to protect the health and safety of consumers and promote quality registered nursing care in California."
California Nurses Association (CNA) Founded in 1903, the California Nurses Association/National Nurses Organizing Committee today represents over 75,000 members nationwide. We are the largest and fastest-growing organization of direct care Registered Nurses in the country and are dedicated to providing a voice for nurses and a vision for healthcare.
California Nursing Students' Association "California Nursing Students' Association leads by example, creating a statewide community of politically conscious, technologically savvy, and socially aware nursing students. CNSA fosters the transition of the student to the role of the professional nurse through the development of leadership, activism, and advocacy. CNSA supports scholarship, volunteerism, and mentorship to influence nursing education and nursing care in California."
American Nurses Association - California (ANA\C) "The mission of ANA\C is to optimize nursing's contribution to the health and well-being of individuals, families, and communities. As nurses, this primary commitment to society guides and shapes our efforts to foster nursing practice standards, promote professional development, conduct and use research, influence public policy, and enhance professional practice environments."
Association of California Nurse Leaders Represents nurse leaders who improve healthcare. Provides leadership, professional development, advocacy and research. Advances the nursing administration practice and patient care.
United Nurses Associations of California "The United Nurses Associations of California/Union of Health Care Professionals represents more than 15,000 nurses and other health care professionals. UNAC/UHCP, as the association is known, is affiliated with the National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO."

American Academy of Nursing The Academy serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge.
American Association of Colleges of Nursing "The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN's educational, research, governmental advocacy, data collection, publications, and other programs work to establish quality standards for bachelor's- and graduate-degree nursing education, assist deans and directors to implement those standards, influence the nursing profession to improve health care, and promote public support of baccalaureate and graduate education, research, and practice in nursing— the nation's largest health care profession."
American Association of Critical Care Nurses "AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, representing the interests of more than 500,000 nurses who are charged with the responsibility of caring for acutely and critically ill patients. The association is dedicated to providing our members with the knowledge and resources necessary to provide optimal care to critically ill patients."
American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA) ANIA's purpose is to provide professional networking opportunities for nurses working in healthcare informatics and a forum for the advancement of nursing and nursing professionals in informatics.
National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurse Associations "Advocates for equity and justice in nursing and health care for ethnic minority populations. Promotes the professional and educational advancement of ethnic nurses. Fosters education of consumers, health care professionals and policy makers on the health issues of ethnic minority populations. Develops ethnic minority nurse leaders in the areas of health policy, practice, education and research."
National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) "Boards of Nursing are state governmental agencies that are responsible for the regulation of nursing practice in each respective state. Boards of Nursing are authorized to enforce the Nurse Practice Act, develop administrative rules/regulations and other responsibilities per the Nurse Practice Act." From the National Council for State Boards of Nursing.
National Institute of Nursing Research The mission of NINR is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations. NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan. The research focus encompasses health promotion and disease prevention, quality of life, health disparities, and end-of-life. NINR seeks to extend nursing science by integrating the biological and behavioral sciences, employing new technologies to research questions, improving research methods, and developing the scientists of the future.
National League for Nursing Dedicated to excellence in nursing education, the National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. NLN members include nurse educators, education agencies, health care agencies, and interested members of the public. The NLN offers faculty development programs, networking opportunities, testing and assessment, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 20,000 individual and 1100 institutional members.
National Student Nurses' Association "With a membership of over 45,000 nationwide, the National Student Nurses' Association mentors the professional development of future nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance."
Nursing World ANA The American Nurses Association is the only full-service professional organization representing the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses (RNs) through its 54 constituent member associations. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society of Nursing The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International provides leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research to enhance the health of all people. We support the learning and professional development of our members who strive to improve nursing care worldwide.

Nurses International
At Nurses International we firmly believe that nurses have a key role to play in bringing redemption to the suffering communities of the world. In the developing world it can be challenging to resource qualified faculty for nursing programs. This makes it difficult for nurses to learn what they need to do in order to practice to their potential. To meet this need Nurses International is providing distance learning opportunities, connecting highly qualified faculty with students who want to make a difference. For maximum impact we are making our content available for free. This means that any student or institution will be able to access our resources. Our courses are developed by fully credentialed educators, and will be available as they are created.
International Association of Forensic Nurses
An international membership organization comprised of forensic nurses working around the world and other professionals who support and complement the work of forensic nursing.
International Council of Nurses (ICN)
Operated by nurses and leading nursing internationally, ICN works to ensure quality nursing care for all and sound health policies globally

Nursing Programs & Career Information

The Definitive Guide to Surviving Nursing School
Real-world tips, advice and resources to stay sane and be a student nursing superstar.
American Nurse Today: Education Advisor
Official guide to nursing education from the American Nurses Association.
Johnson & Johnson Nursing
Information from the Johnson & Johnson Company on all aspects of nursing. Empowering Nurse-Led Innovation to Transform Health.
Nurse Journal
Information about nursing education programs and careers
RegisteredNursing.org
Includes an up-to-date list of nursing schools, nursing programs, NCLEX-RN study questions and information, and articles related to Registered Nursing.
How to Become a Registered Nurse
Registered Nurse Resource – Everything You Need To Know Before You Become A Registered Nurse. This site has some sponsored program listings.
Guide to Financial Aid and Scholarships for Nurses
Nursing School 411
A free online informational resource for learning about schools with nursing degree programs and careers in nursing. Provides informational guides for learning about programs by state. Includes listings of nursing jobs by state, interviews with current nursing professionals, links to helpful nursing resources, and more. "Registered Nurse Salary by State" is a sortable table that provides several useful data points about registered nurse salary, outlook, and cost of living in each state. The best states for nurses are ranked according to the percentage of a median home that the average annual salary buys (average annual salary/median home price) and the 10-year projected growth rate.
Nursing Graduate Certificates
Information on obtaining an online nursing graduate certificate (sometimes known as a post-graduate or post-master's certificate). This is a master's level qualification for nursing grads who have already completed both a bachelor's and master's degree in a nursing area.