Research Guides: DASA: Demographic & Social Analysis: Find Articles

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Subject Guide

Julia Gelfand

Contact:

Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Informatics, Public Policy, Urban Planning

Other Relevant Subject Guides

There are many other resources listed and annotated on other Subject Guides. Please consult:

Urban Planning and Public Policy

GIS

Social Sciences Data

Find Research Articles

Use the following databases that index the journal article, conference proceedings and working papers literature:

POPULATION INDEX ON THE WEB

ASSIA

ALT-PRESS WATCH

GENDERSTATS

COS CONFERENCE PAPERS INDEX

POLICY MAP

POPLINE

PoliticalPro California
Covers CA focused socio-political topics; Agriculture, Budget & Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Employment & Immigration, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Tax, Technology, Trade, Transportation.
PoliticoPro
This policy intelligence platform has constant feeds, and is a source of all news, legislation and socio-political/fiscal impacts. Created to help organizations who create, influence or are impacted by policy do their jobs.
BCC Research
Fulltext market research reports that speculate over a 5 yr window about current investments & trends in many science, biomedical, technical and environmental subjects.

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Content spans disciplines within the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
Current Index to Statistics
A bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from numerous core journals, additional journals in related fields, and books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
Frost & Sullivan
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
PAIS Index
The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.
PubMed@UCI
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes social and behavioral sciences journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It also covers topics such as culture and social structure; health, medicine and law; policy and planning; religion and science; and women's studies.
SSRN
SSRN (formerly Social Science Research Network) is a repository featuring many specialized research networks that altogether cover most academic disciplines. Scholars use it to share and discover research preprints (i.e., working papers and abstracts that have not been peer-reviewed). SSRN also classifies papers into topic-based eJournals that are distributed to institutional subscribers.
Most content in SSRN is available via Open Access. However, case studies from popular business school publishers (e.g., the Darden Case Collection) are not freely available, so people must buy individual copies.

If UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates (i.e. current students and employees) want to get a Research Network's (RN) eJournal via email, then UC Irvine must be a subscriber to that RN. (Note: Not all RNs produce eJournals.)

The full list of RNs is at: ssrn.com/index.cfm/en/subscribe/. Select the RN name for a list of subscribers, and look for UC Irvine in the list. If you want UC Irvine to subscribe to an RN, email your subject librarian: lib.uci.edu/subject-librarians
Web of Science (WoS)
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.