Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

DASA: Demographic & Social Analysis: China Resources

This guide is intended for use by new DASA students - the 2016/17 Fall group
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/DASA

Introduction

Demographic statistical data about China including Census, Housing, Macroeconomics, Industrial, City and Provincial data is offered by two suppliers: 1) China Data Online and 2) EPS China data.  There is some overlap but also some unique coverage and chronology included by each vendor.  Language coverage also varies for what is only in Chinese and for what English translations provide.  Users should consult tabs created for both vendors documenting what is available. 

In addition, China Data Online has CHINA GEO-EXPLORER, which is a bilingual English and Chinese comprehensive  GIS platform for China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based spatial system with more than 6,500 variables.  Users can export selected data to Excel, HTML, PDF, Word or GIS Shape files. 

China Data Online

China Data Online is one of two primary data sources for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer). It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.

  1. China Statistical Databases - http://china-data-online.com/ See content under China Statistics.  - Provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases:
    (1) Monthly Statistics - provides the monthly macroeconomic statistics at national, provincial and city levels from 1998 to current
    (2) National Statistics - provides statistical data of China from 1949 to current
    (3) Provincial Statistics -provides the statistical data of all provinces from 1949 to current
    (4) City Statistics - provides yearly statistics of prefecture and county level cities from 1996
    (5) County Statistics - provides the yearly county statistics from 1997
    (6) Monthly Industrial Statistics - provides monthly statistics by industries from 1999 
    (7) Yearly Industrial Statistics - provides monthly and yearly statistics by industries from 1999
    (8) Statistics on Map
    (9) Statistical Datasheets
    (10) Statistical Charts
  2. China Census Databases - http://china-data-online.com/ See content under Census Data. - Provides a unique data collection of various Census data at province, city, county and township levels of Mainland China, which include:
    (1) Census Maps
    (2) All Census Data
    (3) Economic Census 2004
    (4) Industrial Census Data
    (5) Census 1982
    (6) Census 1982 (10%)
    (7) Census 1990
    (8) Census 1995 (1%)
    (9) Province 2000
    (10) County 2000
    (11) Census 2005 (1%)
    (12) Census Data Search
  3. China Geo-Explorer - https://chinageoexplorer.com/ - Provides easy access to many time-saving, easy-to-use, and pre-formatted summary, comparison and rank reports and maps, and allows users to quickly retrieve information for any area of Mainland China, which includes: Unlimited access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels; Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries); Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment; Identify spatial patterns and trends; Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports; Dynamic charts, tables and maps; Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.

Statistics

International Demographics

EPS China Statistics

EPS Data provides a series of statistical databases on China. Currently, the EPS Data platform includes 41 China databases (see a list below), of which original numerical data are sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, and updated on monthly, quarterly or yearly basis. It has a wide subject (natural resources/environment, economy, international trade, industry, public health, and social/urban/suburban development, etc.) and geographical coverage (all regions of China). It contains over 1.2 million basic and combined statistical indicators in time series with a yearly increment of more than 30 million numeric data. Overall, it is a one-stop shop, offering data retrieval, processing, analysis, forecasting, visualization display and export.

EPS Data has both English and Chinese interface supporting keyword searches/subject browse in both languages. The User Guides (in English) can be found at:
User Guide: Basic Functions
User Guide: Characteristic Function
 

The EPS Data Database List:
Database Name | Year Coverage | Update Frequency
Macro Economy

  • China Commodity Exchange Markets Statistics
  • China Finance and Taxation Statistics
  • China Investment in Fixed Assets Statistics
  • China Labor Economy Statistics
  • China Macro Economy Statistics
  • China Real Estate Statistics

Financial Market

  • China Finance Statistics
  • China Insurance Statistics
  • China Listed Companies Statistics

Industry Operation

  • China Agricultural Products Cost-Benefit Statistics
  • China Agriculture and Forestry Statistics
  • China Agriculture, Rural Areas and Farmers Statistics
  • China Construction Industry Statistics
  • China High Technology Industry Statistics
  • China Industrial Business Performance Statistics
  • China Industrial Product Output Statistics
  • China Industrial Sector Statistics
  • China Industrial Economy Statistics
  • China Science and Technology Statistics
  • China Tertiary Industry Statistics

Regional Economy

  • China Cities Statistics
  • China Regional Economy Statistics
  • China Urban and Rural Construction Statistics

Trade and Foreign Economy

  • China Commodity Trade Statistics
  • China Foreign Economy Statistics
  • China Industries Trade Statistics
  • China Regional Trade Statistics
  • China Trade Index Statistics

Resources and Environment

  • China Coal Statistics
  • China Energy Statistics
  • China Environment Statistics
  • China Land Resources Statistics
  • China Marine Statistics
  • China Water Resources Statistics

Humanities and Social Sciences

  • China Civil Affairs Statistics
  • China Culture Statistics
  • China Education Statistics
  • China Health Statistics
  • China Tourism Statistics
  • China Transportation Statistics

County and City Data

  • Anhui County and City Statistics
  • Beijing County and City Statistics
  • Chongqing County and City Statistics
  • Fujian County and City Statistics
  • Guangdong County and City Statistics
  • Guangxi County and City Statistics
  • Guizhou County and City Statistics
  • Hainan County and City Statistics
  • Hebei County and City Statistics
  • Heilongjiang County and City Statistics
  • Henan County and City Statistics
  • Hubei County and City Statistics
  • Hunan County and City Statistics
  • Inner Mongolia County and City Statistics
  • Jiangsu County and City Statistics
  • Jiangxi County and City Statistics
  • Jilin County and City Statistics
  • Liaoning County and City Statistics
  • Shandong County and City Statistics
  • Shanghai County and City Statistics
  • Shanxi County and City Statistics
  • Sichuan County and City Statistics
  • Tianjin County and City Statistics
  • Yunnan County and City Statistics
  • Zhejiang County and City Statistics