Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thesis / Dissertation Formatting Manual (2022)

Paper Submission to UCI Archives

STEP 0 (Optional): Complete a pre-submission critique

You may email a complete or in-progress manuscript and have a UCI Libraries staff member review it before you submit the final version. This is a service that is free of charge and available up to seven (7) days before the filing deadline. Allow two (2) business days for each review.

Request a pre-submission critique by emailing a PDF of your manuscript to gradthesis@uci.edu 

 

STEP 1: Schedule an appointment at least two (2) weeks prior to the filing deadline

You will be submitting your manuscript the UCI Libraries' Special Collection & Archives Department, which is a highly specialized department with limited public service hours. We cannot accommodate drop-in submission appointments. You must have an appointment to submit your paper thesis/dissertation.

  • Email gradthesis@uci.edu to schedule your submission appointment. Include "Paper thesis submission" in the subject line.
  • You will consult via email with a member of our Archives team to confirm that you are aware of all requirements for paper submission.
  • The Archives department may ask you to send a PDF of your thesis so they can conduct a review before you print your manuscripts.
  • You will schedule a time to deliver your final paper thesis or dissertation. 

 

STEP 2: Prepare your manuscripts

There are strict guidelines that your printed manuscript must follow in order to be accepted by Special Collections & Archives. You are responsible for providing the requisite copies of your manuscript and for following all guidelines.

Required at your submission appointment:

  1. Two unbound copies of your manuscript on 8.5" X 11", 20- to 24-pound, white, bond finish, 100% cotton paper
    • Pages must exhibit no visible corrections, strike-overs, crossed-out words or letters, interlineations, or additions inside or outside of the margins.
    • Use of "Liquid Paper" other correction fluids, and type-over correction tape is not allowed.
    • Pages must be free of lines, smudges, spots, glitches, or shaded backgrounds.
    • The print should be letter quality with dark black characters that are consistently clear and dense.
  2. Two manila envelopes, each large enough to hold one copy of the manuscript, with a copy of the title page taped to the front of each for identification purposes
  3. Dissertation-Thesis Approval Form (all sections except the signatures completed)
  4. One extra copy of your title page and abstract

 

STEP 3: Be on time for your submission appointment

If you miss or are late to your submission appointment, your manuscript may not be accepted until a new appointment is scheduled. You must bring all of the above-listed required items to your appointment or your manuscript may not be accepted.

If your manuscript is accepted, you will receive a Thesis Acceptance form from the University Archives that will be part of your final paperwork. 


STEP 4: Turn in your Acceptance form with your final paperwork to Graduate Division

Save your Acceptance form as a PDF, and then include it with the final paperwork packet that you submit to Graduate Division before the filing deadline. Failure to meet this deadline may result in your degree being delayed one (or more) terms. All necessary paperwork and Docusign forms are available on the Graduate Division Thesis Submission page.