Research Guides: BME 1 Winter Quarter 2024: Recommended Resources

Subject Guides

Selected Subject Bibliography and Reference Tools - some resources will be available online; others will be in print

More resources and a comprehensive research guide for the field of biomedical engineering is available in the Subject Guide for Biomedical Engineering or the Subject Guide for Medicine or the Grunigen Medical Library Guide or others in subject areas such as the Subject Guide for Business or for those prepared for different disciplines in Engineering (one corresponds to each department in the Samueli School of Engineering)

Medline Plus - public database of serious and credible background information on topics, diseases, medical conditions or procedures - provides glossary, associations and content sources involved or engaged with topic, condition or issue. Contains much valued links to content about regulatory and compliance from government agencies. Often material was selected to serve patients about medical conditions and support services. Highly recommended as a point of departure for background reading

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, 2d ed, 2008
This encyclopedia is among the most comprehensive tools that covers the range of products. Use the Contents tab on the left sidebar, search by using the Find box along top right tool bar & use pull-down arrow & select "open full reader search" - then enter the page number that corresponds to "Go to page" and use next & back to read entry & see images. References at end of each entry. One user at a time.

Growing series of eBooks from EngNetBase.com under Biomedical Engineering - all published by CRC Press/ available through ENGnetBASE and they can be accessed directly at category level, “Biomedical Engineering," “Lasers & Optics” and “Nanoscience/Nanotechnology," etc. To Browse;To Search database of books. (all titles are available in ANTPAC with links when available electronically. Also the eBooks in Knovel database may be helpful - particularly helpful for Engineering, Chemistry and Materials Science. There are several series of eBooks in Medicine that may be useful, too - Stat!Ref and Access Medicine

How Stuff Works
A general database that provides insight into the functionality and operational side of how a range of products work. For general background information, this website provides a good foundation. There are a lot of advertisements on the fringe of the website that can be distracting.
Medline Plus
Excellent source to begin your literature search. Offers historical summary of product/service and links to professional and patient based societies that will provide additional information.
Sourcebook of modern biomedical devices: Business environments in a global market
Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 2007. SL REF W16 S129 2007. 4 vols.
Biomedical engineering and design handbook, 2nd ed.,
Myer Kutz, ed. (B) New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
Science Library REF QT 36 B61498 2009, 2 vols.
Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology
James A. Schwarz, ed.. New York: Marcel Dekker, 2004. SL REF QC 176.8 N35 D43 2004, 5 vols.
Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation, v. 1-6, 2nd ed, 2007
SL REF W 16 E555 2007. The articles in The Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation focus on what is currently useful or is likely to be useful in future medicine. They answer the question, "What are the branches of medicine and how does technology assist each of them?" Articles focus on the practice of medicine that is assisted by devices, rather than including, for example, the use of drugs to treat disease. Table of Contents found at http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip061/20050289
Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology
Hari Singh Nalwa, ed.. Stevenson Ranch, CA: American Scientific Publishers, 2004.
SL REF T174.7 E53, 10 vols.
Biomaterials and bioengineering handbook
Donald L. Wise, (A) New York: Marcel Dekker, 2000, SCI-Bar, QT 37 B615-2 2000
Biomaterials engineering and devices
edited by Donald L. Wise ... [et al.] (B) Totowa, NJ: Humana Press, 2000, 2 volumes, Science Library Bar,
QT 37 B615-3 2000
Biomedical engineering handbook, 2d ed.. 3 volumes
Editor-in-chief, Joseph D. Bronzino,
Boca Raton, (A, B, C, D)FL: CRC Press, 2006 also at Science Library Ref QT 29 B615 2006. Volume I, Volume II, Volume III (available via ENGnet)
Biomedical technology and devices handbook
edited by James Moore, George Zouridakis, (B) Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2004, Science Library-Ref, QT 36 B6157 2004
Clinical engineering handbook
Joseph F. Dyro, ed. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2004. SL QT 36 C641 2004
Design of biomedical devices and systems
Paul H. King, Richard C. Fries, (B) New York: Marcel Dekker, 2003, Science Library-Bar, QT 36 K54d 2003
Enabling technologies: body image and body function
Malcolm MacLachlan and Pamela Gallagher. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingston, 2004.
SL QT 36 M161e 2004
Functional tissue engineering
Farshid Guilak ... [et al.], editors, New York: Springer, 2003, Science Library-Bar, QT 37 F979 2003
Medical device register
Greenwich, CT: DSI, c1981- Science Library-Bar (latest in Reference), W26 M489
New biology for engineers and computer scientists
Aydin Tozeren and Stephen W. Byers. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2004. SL QH 506 T68 2004
Noninvasive instrumentation and measurement in medical diagnosis
Robert B. Northrop, Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2002, SCI-Bar, WB 141 N877n 2002
Standard handbook of biomedical engineering and design
Myer Kutz, ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003. (B,C) Science Library-Ref, QT 36 S 785 2003
ThomasNet
Online equivalent of Thomas Register of American Manufacturing
New York, Thomas Pub. Co. 2005. Science Library-Ref T 12 T6 2005
Annals of Biomedical Engineering
Online from 1998 (A, D) - earlier volume years are at SL Drum W1 AN597
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering
(2000 - present) (A, D)
Synthesis Lectures on Biomedical Engineering
by Morgan & Claypool (2006 - present) (A, D)
- also listed as a series entry on ANTPAC
Materials for Medical Devices Database
Produced by ASM it has two modules - cardiology and orthopedics. One can search the database to determine how each device functionals due to its composition of materials. Links to the literature and patents are also included. The left side panel allows user to drill down to exact relationship of materials or coatings to product or device. Highly recommended database to show relationships of materials to design and functionality.
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research, 2008
This encyclopedia published by Sage is an excellent source for understanding what and how stem cells work and what their potential is for medical advances.
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management, 2006
Published by Sage, this online encyclopedia is a good general overview of everything associated with contemporary health care management & delivery.
Health Devices Sourcebook, 2009
SL REF W26 H434 2009 - Latest edition of publication by ECRI of medical instruments and apparatus.
Sage Sourcebook of Modern Biomedical Devices : Business Environments in a Global Market, 2007
SL REF 16 S129 2007. This 4 volume set gives a unique business perspective - the table of contents is found at http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip0711/2007005959.html
Cleveland Clinic
Source for latest developments in medical care devices and clinical practice. Particularly strong in cardiology.
Medical Design.com
Publisher of trade publication Medical Design, and other industry resources. Very helpful professional site. Use left side-bar to navigate around website. Search feature will direct you to specialized information.
Basik Lasik
FTC Hints and tips for consumers about Lasik procedures.
AARP Bulletin
There are many articles in different issues of the AARP Bulletin about medical devices & technology for the growing aging populations.
SoCalTech
A community of resources for those interested in entrepreneurship and start-ups in Southern California.