Research Guides: BME 1 Fall Quarter 2024: Statistical, Government, & Image Sources

Statistical & Government Information

You may find that you are trying to respond to these queries:

what is the annual income/revenue generated by the technology?

what are the major companies in the field?

what's the actual source of profit? Where is the money being earned?

Answers are found in many places. There are many tools that will provide you with data that can be generated in sources under the Business & Management tab. Much of it will come from the US Government. Remember that you may have to "normalize" data and account for inflation if data is not current enough or in US Dollars. Important parts that will be useful include:

Census & Demographic Information - population data that supports marketing and projected use of products, etc
Consumer Behavior
Regulatory information - from the Federal
Reference sources mentioned under Recommended Resources

STAT-USA
Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe
Federal Drug Administration (FDA)
World Almanac
Subject Guide for US Government Information
Subject Guide for Quick Reference
Specifically Tabs for Quick Facts, Science & Medicine may be helpful
Google Searches
May direct you to original sources in the industry or news reports about them. Market surveys are likely to be dreadfully expensive and not commonly held by academic libraries.

Medical & Scientific Image Collections

The Subject Guide for Images is full of scientific and medical image collections.

Biology Image Library
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files
HON Media
HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web. HON encourages
Images MD
Consists of over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine's series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed explanatory text and citation of the source
Science.gov Image Portfolios
Initially, 3 databases are being searched from one search box. More image databases will be added to Science.gov in coming months. The current federated search includes:
• The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Library of Images from the Environment (LIFE), a collection of high-quality photographs, illustrations, and graphics covering a wide range of topics, including images of plants, animals, fungi, microorganisms, habitats, wildlife management, environmental top
more...less...
and biological study/fieldwork.
• The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA ) Image eXchange (NIX), a search engine of NASA's multimedia collections, including images of space flight wind tunnel, solar system, aircraft, and education initiatives.
• The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library, a collection spanning centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the earth to the surface of the sun.
Google Images

Videos

Many sources will direct or link you to videos which are very helpful to understand how these devices and applications function. Please view them. Resources that may include them are:

Medline Plus: Trusted Information for You
Encyclopedic approach that offers links from professional and clinical societies and support groups which can be beneficial to the understanding of how an instrument or device works or the effects on a patient.
YouTube
A searchable database of videos placed online. Remember to determine who has issued the video - that is what you will be citing as the authority control or source of authorship.