BME 1 Winter Quarter 2024

Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget. NAICS was developed jointly by the United States, Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America. It uses 6-digit hierarchical coding system to classify the economic activity into twenty industry sectors.
Langson Library Reference or SL Ref HF1041.5 N674 2002
The SIC is a standard identification system that designates a 4-digit code for U.S. industries an

Formerly titled U.S. Industrial Outlook.
Print access: Langson, HC 101 U54 2000 1998-2000 in Bound Periodicals.
The online version, according to the above link, is still in progress. However, click on the "Manufacturing and Services" home page link, then - in the right column - on "Health." Under "Medical Devices" or "Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology," click on "Industry Information." (Notice the references to NAICS codes.)

This database provides current overviews of many industrial sectors, including Health Care. Along the left tool bar are the listed industies, select Health Care and then "Market Research and Trends" and you can search by device or part of the anatomy and you will find corporate updates, statistics, data sets, a glossary, and other tools to leverage information from the database. Highly recommended.

Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds. Company information includes a description of the company, stocks & bond issues, earnings estimates, dividend and split history and more. The Industry Surveys cover industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics. Select the Industries tab to get a selection of the international industry surveys. Screening tools for companies, stocks and bonds are available.

Contains research reports on hundreds of U.S. industries. Each report provides key statistics for the industry, and discusses market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, e.g. barriers to entry, cost structure, industry outlook, technology and impact of globalization, the major companies in the industry and the current and historic performance of the industry. Look under “Biotechnology”, “Medical Devices”, and “Pharmaceuticals.”

Investment research, industry analysis and reports. Look under “Biotechnology”, “Health Care”, and “Pharmaceuticals” – This database is currently available (Sept 2008 but not sure if it will continue as product was recently sold and our contract may not last.)

Focuses on the business implications of technology change and is considered the leading source for forecasting. Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. Requires login using UCINetID & password

Web site provides access to the research and advisory firm's information technology news, research reports, and business and market analysis, and includes product descriptions and comparisons, information on trends, and a calendar of upcoming conferences and events for IT managers, specialists, and business interests. Requires login using UCINetID and password.

Where to find Manufacturers, Distributors and service providers. Online equivalent of Thomas' Register. Contains corporate and product index.

Search for market size or rankings of products, services, and companies, extracted from trade publications. Also includes information on brand identity, capital expenditures, imports and exports, merchandising, mergers and acquisitions, outsourcing, and R&D. Please logout when finished.

The Life Sciences section of this database is particularly useful for biomedical engineering.

Find global market analysis reports on the latest trends for the following industries: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare and technology.

A good starting point for private company information. Hoovers Pro also contains industry information, public companies, and not-for-profit enterprises.

Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1991-. 2003 is the latest edition. Includes also some market forecasts if data is available. (See Drug Delivery Systems on p. 145) The data has a reference to the original source of information.
Print access: Langson Library Reference, HF 5410 M35 2003

Search for market size or rankings of products, services, and companies, extracted from trade publications. Also includes information on brand identity, capital expenditures, imports and exports, merchandising, mergers and acquisitions, outsourcing, and R&D. Please logout when finished.

SL Ref Desk WX 22 AA1 A512a 2009 - most recent census of health care establishments, hospitals, etc.

Articles from scholarly journals, industry and trade publications, and business magazines. Coverage includes accounting, economics, finance, international business, management, and marketing. It can be used to find articles about companies, products, industries, business conditions, economic trends, corporate strategies, and management techniques. Includes Datamonitor company and industry profiles. (See below)