Research Guides: Music: Articles

Connect

If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are two different methods of connection:

Software - This authentication process takes a bit more time at the initial setup, but will work better in the long run. Note - some pages may not load properly using IE8.

Software VPN Video Tutorial

Web - Use Web VPN to access resources with less initial work. Note - some pages may load more slowly than if using the Software VPN. Also, not all UCI resources (such as Naxos Music Library and Opera in Video) may work with Web VPN.

For additional assistance please contact OIT at (949) 824-2222.

Music Research Articles

WESTERN ART MUSIC

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes scholarly writings about music occurring in journals, books, dissertations, festschrift, conference proceedings, and other similar publications. Primarily focused on Western art music, but one can locate some interesting literature related to musical theater also. Indexes writings that were published from early-20th century to the present.
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals is a collection of full text primary source material for the study of music and musical life from approximately 1760-1960. Its collection is comprised of music-focused periodicals, music-centric articles from general newspapers and literary periodicals, etc. While focused on music, these resources are an excellent way to study popular culture of the 19th and early 20th century.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing of scholarly journals in the field of music. Includes feature articles, review articles, and reviews.

Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums
a freely available index sponsored by the Institut fur Musikforschung in Germany. It covers many items already found in RILM, but it does have unique material that is from smaller European publications and also is much more comprehensive during the 1950-1966 period of time.
Canadian Music Periodical Index
Includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. The CMPI database focuses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada.

POPULAR MUSIC

Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from scholarly journals and trade magazines in the field of music. While good for topics in classic musicology, it particularly shines in music performance and popular music research.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical archive of trade magazines focused on the entertainment industry (i.e., music, film, broadcasting, and theatre). Excellent source of information to discover things like top charts, hiring notices, industry announcements, entertainment union news, etc.

Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases don't solely focus on music, but they do contain lots of great information that could be helpful to you depending on your topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index for journal, trade magazine, and popular magazine articles in the fields of dance, drama, and film.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature compiled by the U.S. Institute of Education Science but using the ProQuest search interface.
For material not available in full text, ProQuest links to where UCI has full text access. A free, publicly accessible version of ERIC is at https://eric.ed.gov/ .
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Selected Major Music Journals Online from UCI Libraries

Want to stay on top of all of the newest literature in the Music field? Create a free Browzine account and accomplish it in a snap! It easily allows you to browse journals available through UCI Libraries by subject, put them on your own personal bookshelves, and also be notified when new issues come out. Some of the journals available through this resource are below:

Asian Music

Circuit

Computer Music Journal

Contemporary Music Review

Jazz Perspectives

Jazz Research Journal

Journal of Musicology

Journal of Music, Technology,
and Education

Journal of New Music Research

Journal of Popular Music Studies

Journal of the American
Musicological Society

Journal of the Society for
American Music

Latin American Music Review

Nineteenth-Century
Music Review

Twentieth-Century Music

Women and Music: A Journal of
Gender and Culture

Cambridge Opera Journal

Performance Practice Review

Current Newspapers

Use newspapers to find performance reviews and keep on top of current trends in the music world. Some of the major newspapers provided by UCI LIbraries are:

New York Times, 1980-present *

Los Angeles Times, 1985-present *

Wall Street Journal, 1984-present *

Washington Post, 1977-present *

Many newspapers are searchable through aggregated databases:

Newspapers.com * contains full runs and portions of newspapers (primarily from USA) from the early 1700's to the early 2000's. Excellent resource for smaller regional and local titles.

Ethnic NewsWatch * contains articles from non-mainstream press, generally those published by ethnic minority groups in America.

Nexis Uni * can be used to search for both journal and newspaper articles. To only search for newspaper articles (including reviews and obituaries) use the "Search the News" tab.

NewsBank * provides almost 3000 different newspapers from around the world. Particularly helpful if looking for international reviews.

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) * provides both journal and trade magazine articles. The search interface allows for limiting by document type so you can quickly locate reviews. Generally better for locating book and CD reviews than live performance reviews.

Many more newspaper resources can also be found at the News & Newspapers Research Guide.

Historical Newspapers

Historical newspapers can be an important source of information, particularly if dealing with historiographical research.

(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 *

ProQuest Historical Newspapers * provides coverage of 7 major historical American newspapers: New York Times (1851-2008), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), Washington Post (1877-1996). Each newspaper can be searched separately or as a group.

Many more historical newspaper resources can also be found at the News & Newspapers Historical Research Guide.