Music

An excellent place to learn basic terminology associated with musical styles, instruments, genres, people, etc. to help you better understand the facts. Use this information to further your searching in more analytically-focused resources.

Taiwan is covered in the same section as China. Some sections are more focused on Taiwan than others, like pages 393-98(traditional and western idioms in popular music). Explore and use search button on the left side (not upper right) of the page to quickly jump around in this 1,000+ page ebook.

Good overview article on music in Taiwan, including major sections on indigenous music, Han traditional Chinese music, Western art music, and popular music.

Good overview (~15 pages) of Taiwanese history, society, etc. Could be very helpful to understand how developing/changing Taiwanese culture might have affected the development of music.

An excellent annotated bibliography that provides an overview of the essential literature related to the music of China (which also includes Taiwan). There is an entire sub-section of the "Cultural and Social Studies" section focused on Taiwan.

There are many different articles focused on Taiwan in the 5th volume of this encyclopedia. Examples include: Taiwain-Human Rights; Taiwan-Political System; Taiwan-United States Relations, etc. To find these article, you can either search in this publication (search box in upper right) OR scroll down the page and open up the alphabetical listing of articles. Both methods might be worth your time.

NOTE: This book is in Chinese. It is located in the East Asian Collection (first floor of Langson Library).

Everyday Musical Life among the Indigenous Bunun, Taiwan contributes to multidisciplinary research on music in everyday human life by pushing beyond the urbanized Western populations routinely featured in such writing. Based on ethnographic study in Buklavu, a village in southern Taiwan mostly inhabited by the indigenous Bunun, the book explores villagers' contemporaneous musical engagements and pathways, paying heed both to imported music--such as TV theme tunes, karaoke singing, church hymns--and to the transformation of Bunun traditions through school and community interventions and folkloric festivals. The case study underpins a new, widely applicable, theoretical model for the study of music in everyday life in global society which is historically engaged, sensitive to individual and group diversity, cognizant of the interplay of the mundane and the exceptional, and primed to support applied research.

Stage Performance and Music Inheritance of Taiwans Indigenous People: A Case of Series Concerts Sounds from Across Generations -- Imagined Indigenous Music as Materials in Music Education in Taiwan (1950-2000) -- Musicking as a Way of Connecting with the Ancestral Home: Preserving and Inventing Traditions in Papulu, Taiwan -- Fate and Value of Musical Traditions in a Globalising World -- Re-sonating Voices, Sounds, and Memories: The Repatriation of 60-year-old Field Recordings from Sagada, Mountain Province in Northern Philippines -- Study of Polyphonic Music of National Minorities through the Historical Perspective -- The Indigenous Music of Sarawak and its transmission over the last 60 years with a special focus on the music of the Kenyah and the Lun Bawang -- Minority versus majority - phrase or reality? -- Indigenous People and Traditional Music in the Historical Context of the Czech Lands.

Made in Taiwan: Studies in Popular Music serves as a comprehensive introduction to the history, sociology, and musicology of contemporary Taiwanese popular music. Each essay, written by a leading scholar of Taiwanese music, covers the major figures, styles, and social contexts of pop music in Taiwan and provides adequate context so readers understand why the figure or genre under discussion is of lasting significance. The book first presents a general description of the history and background of popular music in Taiwan, followed by essays organized into thematic sections: Trajectories, Identities, Issues, and Interactions.

The essays in this book illuminate new insights into Chinese music studies, musical genres, and contexts. This volume incorporates extensive scholarly insight from China, Taiwan, and the Chinese diaspora, and is arranged into three parts: the historical legacies of Chinese music, evolving practice and musical transformations, and prominent issues in Chinese music studies.

This book vibrantly demonstrates how the study of music allows for identification and interpretation of the forces that form Taiwanese society, from politics and policy to reactions to and assertions of such policies. Contributors to this edited volume explore how music shapes life -- and life shapes music -- in Taiwan, focusing on subjects ranging from musical life under Japanese colonial rule (1895-1945) through to the contemporary creations of Indigenous musicians, popular music performance and production, Christian religious music, traditional ritual music and theatre, conceptions about sound and noise, and garbage truck music's role in reducing household waste. The volume's twelve chapters present diverse approaches to their sounding subjects, some deeply rooted in the methods and concerns explored by Taiwan's first generation of ethnomusicologists. Others employ current social theories. Presenting a window into the cultural lives of the residents of this multicultural, politically contested island, Resounding Taiwan will appeal to students and scholars of musicology and ethnomusicology, anthropology and Asian studies more widely.

Taiwanese society is in the midst of an immense, exciting effort to define itself, seeking to erect a contemporary identity upon the foundation of a highly distinctive history. This book provides a thorough overview of Taiwanese cultural life. The introduction familiarizes students and interested readers with the island's key geographical and demographic features, and provides a chronological summary of Taiwanese history. In the following chapters, Davison and Reed reveal the uniqueness of Taiwan, and do not present it simply as the laboratory of traditional Chinese culture that some anthropologists of the 1950s through the 1970s sought when mainland China was not accessible. The authors examine how religious devotion in Taiwan is different from China in that the selected deities are those most relevant to the needs of the Taiwanese people. Literature and art, particularly of the 20th century, reflect the Taiwanese quest for identity more than the grand Chinese tradition. The Taiwanese architecture, festivals and leisure activities, music and dance, cuisine and fashion, are also highlighted topics. The final chapter presents the most recent information regarding children and education, and explores the importance of the Taiwanese family in the context of meaningful relationships amongst acquaintances, friends, and institutions that make up the social universe of the Taiwanese. This text is a lively treatment of one of the world's most dynamic societies.

Taiwan’s status as an island surrounded by powerful nation states has forced upon it a history of permeable borders and an ever fluctuating cultural subjectivity. Originally inhabited by Austronesian tribal peoples, the island has over the centuries fallen under the political, economic, and cultural influences of the Spanish, Dutch, Japanese, and Chinese occupiers. Globalization has further transformed and complicated Taiwan’s vistas of political reforms, cultural productions, and ethnic re-composition. Such gradual but radical transformation has, in countless ways, encouraged the nation-state identity and identification to vacillate between insularism and globalization. This collection is an example of the multitude of voices that speak for Taiwan.

This book explores Taiwan's development from its formal beginnings as a political entity to a home for a Ming-loyalist regime, to a Ch'ing prefecture and province, to its half-century as a Japanese possession, and to fifty years as the home of the Kuomintang-controlled Republic of China.