UCI Libraries now provides a subscription to the resource, RIPM with Full Text! This resource provides access to periodicals primarily about music that were published during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. It complements the indexing provided by RILM (which concentrates on mid-20th century to the present) to index a large amount of the music periodical literature that has been produced in Europe and North America (with increasing amounts of information coming from other countries). These primary sources are in many different languages and are not solely limited to English. The resources found in this database are pretty much unique to it; you will not find them through other library databases.
Welcome to UCI's Music Research Guide! This guide will help you find and select the best resources for all your music research needs. Navigate the guide using the tabs at the top of this page. Here's a short video to introduce some of the many amazing resources on this guide. Have a question? Ask me!
FACTS & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Oxford Music Online * contains several important resources including New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Use this site to find biographies of composers and performers. Also important for the complete works listings of each composer providing essential information for program notes. Need help? Here's a short video where I walk you through what to expect and how to use this resource.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature * is a great tool to find scholarly journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, and more primarily related to musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory. Almost 1.4 million records from over 10,000 journal titles since 1967 are included in this standard database.
Naxos Music Library * allows you to listen to almost 115,000 streaming albums. Many different record labels, including the prestigious Sony Classical, reside here. While mainly focused on Western art music, a decent selection of world music can be found here as well. Need help? Here's a short video where I walk you through what to expect and how to use this resource.
Medici.tv * has thousands of recorded concerts, operas, music documenatries, and masterclasses from all over the world. Of particular interest are the regularly changing recorded concerts from prestigious festivals and competitions.
VPN If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are three different methods: Software, Web, and Mobile. Software takes a little more time to setup the first time, but it works with all resources. Web is known to not work well with many of the streaming media resources.