Research Guides: Master of Legal and Forensic Psychology: MLFP Home

Ask a Librarian

Supreme Court News

About SCOTUSblog: "SCOTUSblog is devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic & legal ethical standards."

MLFP Sites

MLFP Handouts

MLFP Graduate Toolkit - Handout

MLFP Powerhouse Databases

Criminal Justice Database
A comprehensive U.S. and international ProQuest database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications; includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, & crime blogs.
Criminal Justice Abstracts [with Full Text]
The EBSCO full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts; this resource includes worldwide bibliographic records and full text covering essential literature related to criminal justice and criminology.
PsycINFO Database
International literature index of psychology, the behavioral sciences, cognitive sciences, and related disciplines including neuroscience.
Web of Science [WoS]
Global interdisciplinary citation database with searchable author abstracts, from journals, books, and conference proceedings, with cited references captured.
Google Scholar
Accessible, large, interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal content. (Link UCI Library)

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides a starting point for legal research; use the search box to find a document by citation or name, or search for documents. Your best bet for an initial search will come from Secondary Sources, you can find the link in the Browse section.

Key Resources || Criminology, Law & Society Research

A-Z Databases Comprehensive, searchable, alpha index to all licensed databases
Academic Search Complete* Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals."
Annual Review of Criminology* "The Annual Review of Criminology provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the multidisciplinary field of criminology, defined as the study of both the nature of criminal behavior and societal reactions to crime."
Annual Review of Law and Social Science*
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) BJS collects, analyses, and disseminates criminal justice related data and reports.
Criminal Justice Database* "ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals."
Fastcase Platform* The Fastcase platform provides access to primary law, treatises, bar publications and more.
more...less...
Fastcase’s libraries are searchable, just like you search the Web or traditional legal research services – by keyword (or “Boolean” search), natural language search, or citation lookup. Fastcase’s libraries include legal treatises (formerly available via LosiLaw), primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to 1 U.S. 1, 1 F.2d 1, 1 F.Supp. 1, and 1 B.R. 1. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Database of legal resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.

Law.com Law.com* content is now available campus wide (off campus access requires VPN authentication) -"Law.com is the premier destination for powerful business research, extensive education and information on market trends, and technological advances domestically and abroad"

Legal Source This link opens in a new window The collection covers current issues (scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews), studies and trends in law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) "The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.

OnLAW (CEB)* "OnLAW provides online access to CEB's California Practice Guides. The CEB Cali Practice Guides provide step-by-step guidance, legal analysis, and forms for practice law in the state of California."
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Criminology* "Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon."

POLITICO Pro This link opens in a new window Provides real-time news stories related to policy and policy-making. It is a comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. Limited state coverage is also included.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window A collection of historic and current congressional information. This database includes the full text of congressional publications, a bill tracking service, public laws, regulations, news and social media, nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, hearings, and historical context summaries. Coverage also includes information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.

ProQuest Legislative Insight* ProQuest Legislative Insight* is “the” Federal legislative history service. It’s been around since when the source docs were on MICROFICHE. PLI is made up of “compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.”
Sociological Abstracts * "Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences."
WestlawNext* WestlawNext Campus Research* provides access to a comprehensive collection of law-related resources.

* = UC Irvine access only

Key Resources || Psychological and Cognitive Sciences

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window A collection of books, reference works, and journals published by MIT Press in the field of cognitive and brain sciences.
PEP Web This link opens in a new window PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text of many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Full text search covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline is a website that features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology* Available full text from Volume 1, 2005, to the present.
Annual Review of Psychology* Available full text from Volume 1, 1950, to the present.
California Department of Health Care Services. Mental Health Services Division
CDC > Centers for Disease Control & Prevention > Mental Health "The CDC Mental Health Web site includes basic public health information on mental health. The site aims to foster collaboration and advancement in the field of mental health in support of CDC's public health mission."
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works* "A searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material."
DSM Library | Psychiatry Online Premium Includes DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition), DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, American Journal of Psychiatry, plus, a collection of other psychiatric references, including books, textbooks, journals, and self-assessment tools.
MentalHealth.gov
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print* (EBSCOhost) Information about and the reviews of many English-language standardized tests. Covers educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Tests in Print and all previous editions of MMY included.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Its mission is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure..."
Social Psychology Network "The mission of Social Psychology Network is to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology."

Master of Legal and Forensic Psychology