Research Guides: Master of Legal and Forensic Psychology: State Legislation

State Codes - Open Access

Legal Information Institute [LII] - Cornell University Law School

Annotated State Statutes & Court Rules

Nexis Uni*
more...less...
Nexis Uni provides access to State Statutes, Codes & Regulations.
WestlawNext*
.
more...less...
WestlawNext provides access to the full text of all fifty states' State Statutes, Codes & Regulations

Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-)

Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-)
"Subject Compilations of State Laws provides access to over 18,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg and Carol Boast Robertson's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline."

National survey of state laws

National Survey of State Laws* - Hein Online
"This database version of National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015."

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
The NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states.

Bill Text / Bill Tracking

Nexis Uni*
Contains ful-text bill text and bill tracking databases for the 50 states (including California)

Select "Advanced Search"

Select "Select a specific content type"

Bill Text and Bill Track databases are indexed under "Statutes and Legislation"

State Session Laws

Hein Online * | Session Laws Library | All 50 State Session Laws
About the Session Laws Library: This Session Law Library offers the state session laws of all 50 U.S. states. A session law is a law that is published in an annual or other periodic volume that presents laws enacted during a particular session or sitting of the legislature in the order in which they were passed. ...
more...less...
Session laws at the federal level are designated public laws or private laws and are published in Statutes at Large. Session laws at the state level are published in volumes printed by the state or by a private legal publisher.

This Session Law Library offers the state session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as the federal laws of Australia and Canada from approximately 2000 to present.
Future releases in HeinOnline will include new session laws as published, as well as expanded coverage of historical session laws prior to 2000.
LLMC Digital *
"U.S. STATES" Collection. Law Library Microform Consortium Digital (LLMC) -- "LLMC, a non-profit cooperative of libraries, is dedicated to – and passionate about – its twin goals: 1) Preserving legal titles and government documents, and 2) Making this valuable content accessible and searchable."
California Statutes (1993-Present) | Legislative Counsel, State of California
California Statutes are the Chaptered Bills. A bill is "chaptered" by the Secretary of State after it has passed through both houses of the Legislature and has been signed by the Governor or becomes law without the Governor's signature. Statutes are available starting from 1993.
more...less...
Welcome to the official site for California legislative information. This WWW site is maintained by the Legislative Counsel of California, pursuant to California law.