Research Guides: Master of Legal and Forensic Psychology: eBooks

Social Science eBook Collections

Elgar Online This link opens in a new window
Covers social sciences disciplines; includes selected books, reference works and journals, including Encyclopedia, Research Handbooks, scholarly monographs, companions, Research Literature Reviews, and Open Access material.
IGI Global This link opens in a new window
Reference titles in social science, science, medicine, business and education disciplines. Note: Find eBook Collection (select Browse Collection) and note Owned by Institution, under Content Accessibility, should be marked.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, and statistics, and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides a cross-platform, multiple-devices, online-or-offline ebook system for academic and research libraries. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or mobile devices.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of ebooks published by Taylor & Francis. Topics in the humanities, social sciences, behavioral science, natural science, technology, and medicine are covered.

Law eBook Collections

Making of Modern Law (MOML). Foreign, Comparative and International law, 1600-1926*
""International and foreign law, including monographs on the laws of foreign jurisdictions. Primarily 19th and early 20th century. Also, several hundred classics in European international law since the 17th century."
Making of Modern Law. Legal Treatises 1800-1926*
"Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926."
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law*
"The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law (MPECCoL) provides a high level of analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. MPECCoL articles address a focused range of topics that provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective."
Oxford Companion to American Law*
"The Oxford Companion to American Law takes as its starting point the insight that law is embedded in society, and that to understand American law one must necessarily ask questions about the relationship between it and the social order, now and in the past."
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States*
"This new edition of the Companion has been fully updated and includes new entries on key cases and full treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused."
Oxford Constitutions of the World*
"Oxford Constitutions of the World' contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual commentaries, supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws."
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
"The Supreme Court has been the site of some of the great debates of American history, from child labor and prayer in the schools, to busing and abortion. The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions offers accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Court, from Marbury v. Madison and Scott v. Sandford (the Dred Scott decision) to Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade. This new edition of the Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases, including 53 new entries on the latest landmark rulings. "
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO). Law*
Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in law. Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) are scholarly research reviews. Each OHO handbook offers "thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve..."
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
"The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History provides both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. A truly international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History covers legal history from ancient to modern times."
U.S. Constitutional Law*
"US Constitutional Law (USC) provides a comprehensive research resource on the law, politics, and history of constitutionalism in the United States at the federal and state levels. Combining extensive primary materials with expert commentary, the service provides researchers with unparalleled access to the historical development of federal and state constitutionalism."

AudioBooks - Open Access

Internet Archive (IA) Audio Books & Poetry
"Listen to free audio books and poetry recordings! This library of audio books and poetry features digital recordings and MP3's from the Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, LibriVox, Project Gutenberg, Maria Lectrix, and Internet Archive users... In addition to housing LibriVox and Project Gutenberg's catalogs, IA grants users access to Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, Maria Lectrix, and IA. Instead of visiting each of those five catalogs and searching them individually, you can head over to IA to do a master search. Audio files can be streamed directly from the site."
Librivox (LV): Free public domain audiobooks Read by volunteers from around the world
"To make all books in the public domain available, narrated by real people and distributed for free, in audio format on the internet." Librivox (LV) is a non-commercial, non-profit and ad-free project. LV donates its recordings to the public domain, is powered by volunteers, maintains a loose and open structure, and welcomes all volunteers from across the globe, in all languages. LV Statistics: Cataloged works: 14,466; Non-English works: 1,866; Number of languages: 44.
Lit2Go
"Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified. Each reading passage can also be downloaded as a PDF and printed for use as a read-along or as supplemental reading material for your classroom."
Open Culture
1,000 Free Audio Books: Download Great Books for Free."Download hundreds of free audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer. Below, you'll find great works of fiction, poetry and non-fiction, by such authors as Twain, Tolstoy, Hemingway, Orwell, Vonnegut, Nietzsche, Austen, Shakespeare, Asimov, HG Wells & more. Also please see our related collection: The 150 Best Podcasts to Enrich Your Mind."

Free eBooks

Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
more...less...
"Kindle opens the door to hundreds of thousands of affordable books. Whether you're looking for a great romance, an epic tale of adventure, the latest financial advice or anything else, there are books for every reader and every budget. And with the free Kindle Reading app, you can enjoy all these affordable options even if you do not own a Kindle device."
DOAB. Directory of Open Access Books
more...less...
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards."
Hathitrust
more...less...
"Works in the public domain in HathiTrust are open to all researchers—whoever and wherever they may be. Content in HathiTrust is discoverable through online search technologies within the repository and through Google, with no authentication, login, or password required. As it becomes possible to expand access to the materials through permissions or other agreements, other materials will be made available. "
Internet Archive. eBooks and Texts
more...less...
"The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account."
Manybooks
more...less...
"ManyBooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site.

Over a decade later, we are still going strong in our mission to provide a valuable service to our readers. ManyBooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily"
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Online Books Page
more...less...
"The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all.

The Online Books Page originally was founded in 1993 by the current editor, while he was a student at Carnegie Mellon University. He maintained it there until summer 1999, with Web space and computing resources provided by the School of Computer Science. In 1999, it moved to its present location at Penn."
Open Book Publishers
more...less...
"At Open Book Publishers we are changing the nature of the traditional academic book. Our books are published in hardback, paperback and ebook editions, but we also publish free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via our website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere."
Project Gutenberg
more...less...
"Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education."

OECD iLibrary

OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary*
"OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data..."
more...less...
"OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, DATA, ePUB, READ. "