Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Dance: Books and eBooks

Starting points for research in dance
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/dance

eBooks

There are thousands of eBooks available through the UCI Libraries. Some of the essentials for dance include:

Oxford Handbooks Online: Dance *

International Encyclopedia of Dance *

Oxford Dictionary of Dance (2nd edition) *

EBL Collection *

  • Database with thousands of full text ebooks on all subjects, including dance.

For additional information about ebooks, see the eBooks Collections Guide.

 

Find Books

If you are searching for a particular book or want to discover a book on a certain topic, you should use a catalog to locate a book.

The new UC Library Search online catalog not only searches the physical and electronic holdings of UCI Libraries, but also all of the libraries across the University of California system. If you sign into your library account using your UCINet ID and password, you'll be able to request physical materials and scans of articles and book chapters from other UC libraries directly from the catalog.

The best way to locate a biography on a dancer or choreographer is to search for their inverted names (e.g., Nijinsky, Vaslav) as a SUBJECT search.

If you want to browse the dance collections to discover something new then head up to the 3rd floor of Langson Library. Dance materials (history, biographies, performance related topics, etc.) are found between the call numbers GV1580-GV1800. While browsing can be a great way of discovering what's on the shelves, don't forget that you will probably need to use many different materials that aren't focused specifically on dance (such as political, racial, and gender theories) to help frame your discussion.

Materials related to dance medicine will generally be found in the Science Library. Books actually about dance medicine are found in RC1220.D3; however, many physical therapy, athletic training, and medical books also located in Science Library will also be relevant depending on your topic.

 

Performing Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Scott Stone
Contact:
Langson Library 464

stonesm@uci.edu
Contact: Facebook Page
Subjects: Arts