Research Guides: Dance: Dance Medicine

Dance Medicine/Science Databases

START HERE

MedlinePlus * is a great place to get authoritative, but still understandable, health and medicine information. It includes information for both consumers and clinicians on the prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions.

THEN USE THE INFORMATION YOU LEARNED TO HELP YOU DEVELOP SPECIFIC SEARCHES IN THESE RESOURCES

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A huge multidisciplinary database that leans heavily into the side of science. It's a really great place to find journal articles when you're getting started searching.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

PUBMED HELP

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
An online e-book resource that provides access to health sciences information. Contains thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools and more.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines provides evidenced-based information on herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies. It contains additional features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker. Browsable diseases and conditions database.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Performing Arts Medicine Association Bibliography
Brings together over 14,000 citations specifically related to performing arts medicine. Excellent resource to use because all resources are already focused on dancers and other performing artists. Find citations in this bibliography and then look for the full text using other library databases.

Search Tips

Search Tips

An asterisk (*) is a truncation symbol. It will retrieve multiple forms of the same word. For example, searching for "dance*" will retrieve dance, dancer, dancers, danced, and dancer's BUT NOT dancing.
Try searching for "dance*" AND your topic to retrieve articles that specifically address medical problems of dancers.

For example: "dance* AND nutrition"

If you can't find articles that specifically address your medical topic as they pertain to dancers (remember, the field of dance science is still relatively new) search for related artists and athletes like:

Music* AND nutrition; Performing artist AND nutrition; Gymnast* AND nutrition; etc.

Likewise, remember to search for synonyms of words as some research might refer to one concept with one word and another might refer to the same (or very similar concept) with a different word

For example: Nutrition OR Diet OR Lifestyle

If you initially retrieve too many results (or they aren't relevant to your search) try to limit your search by searching more narrow indexes like:

Title, Abstract, or Subject: Search words that appear in article titles, abstracts, or subject headings are much more likely to be relevant to your topic rather than just keywords (the default search option for databases) that happen to appear anywhere in the text