Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Dance: Home

Starting points for research in dance
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/dance

Celebrating Pride & the Arts Online!

Happy Pride Month!This June is the 50th celebration of LGBTQ+ Pride month. In many of our library’s collections we can find resources that focus on the contributions of queer individuals in different disciplines—perhaps most especially throughout all forms of the arts. My delightful colleague Jenna Dufour (Visual Arts librarian) and I created an online display/exhibit, titled “Love is Love: Celebrating Pride & the Arts,” to celebrate and shine the spotlight onto some of these contributions, particularly in Art, Dance, Drama, Film, and Music. While not comprehensive by any means, we wanted to highlight aspects of the library’s collection for UCI community members. Take a moment to explore!

undefined

Essential Dance Resources

Welcome to UCI's Dance Research Guide! This guide will help you find and select the best resources for all your dance research needs. Navigate the guide using the tabs at the top of this page. Have a question? Ask me!

FACTS & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The International Encyclopedia of DanceInternational Encyclopedia of Dance * is an authoritative resource for all your factual dance needs. Go here for dates, biographies, and overviews of various dance topics. Make sure to pay attention to the helpful bibliographies to find other resources on the topic.

 

 

WATCH

Dance Online: Dance in VideoDance in Video * currently provides over 700 hours of dance film and growing. Some of the publishers included in this database are American Dance Festival, Cunningham Dance Foundation, George Balanchine Foundation, and many more.

 

 

RESEARCH ARTICLES

Logo - Link to SearchInternational Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text * is a good database to start searching for dance research articles. It includes records for over 60,000 journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other sources of information that have been published all over the world.

 

 

CONNECT

VPN If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are three different methods: Software, Web, and Mobile. Software takes a little more time to setup the first time, but it works with all resources. Web is known to not work well with many of the streaming media resources.

Performing Arts Librarian

Scott Stone's picture
Scott Stone
Contact:
(949) 824-8351

Langson Library 464

stonesm@uci.edu
Subjects:Arts