Research Guides: Dance: Scholarly Articles

Dance Databases

Use these databases to find research articles for your projects and papers. Make sure you try searching in different databases as each database provides different information.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly and trade journals in Drama and Dance disciplines.
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index for journal, trade magazine, and popular magazine articles in the fields of dance, drama, and film.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical archive of trade magazines focused on the entertainment industry (i.e., music, film, broadcasting, and theatre). Excellent source of information to discover things like top charts, hiring notices, industry announcements, entertainment union news, etc.

Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases aren't focused on dance, but many of them provide excellent information on particular topics within dance.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides indexes of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature compiled by the U.S. Institute of Education Science but using the ProQuest search interface.
For material not available in full text, ProQuest links to where UCI has full text access. A free, publicly accessible version of ERIC is at https://eric.ed.gov/ .

Film & Media Studies (cross-search 5 databases)
Cross-searches AFI Film Catalog, Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes scholarly writings about music occurring in journals, books, dissertations, festschrift, conference proceedings, and other similar publications. Primarily focused on Western art music, but one can locate some interesting literature related to musical theater also. Indexes writings that were published from early-20th century to the present.
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals is a collection of full text primary source material for the study of music and musical life from approximately 1760-1960. Its collection is comprised of music-focused periodicals, music-centric articles from general newspapers and literary periodicals, etc. While focused on music, these resources are an excellent way to study popular culture of the 19th and early 20th century.

Selected Major Dance Journals Online from UCI Libraries

Want to stay on top of all of the newest literature in the Dance field? Create a free Browzine account and accomplish it in a snap! It easily allows you to browse journals available through UCI Libraries by subject, put them on your own personal bookshelves, and also be notified when new issues come out. Some of the journals available through this resource are below:

Choreographic Practices