Research Guides: Film and Media Studies: Humanities Databases

Humanities and Multidisciplinary Research Databases

If your research your topic is interdisciplinary in nature (for example, you're exploring analyzing a specific film through a feminist lens), you may want to broaden your search scope by using the same keywords in several databases. This is efficient to do because different databases provide access to different journals and resources. While there is a lot of overlap, there are journals that will be covered in some while not in others. To discover even more databases to try, visit the A-Z database web page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. It provides indexing and abstracts for numerous journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature.
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.