Research Guides: Film and Media Studies: Film and Media Databases

Connecting to Library Resources

The icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. Using campus WiFi, library resources will load an authenticate automatically. Off-campus, you'll need to use the software VPN (virtual private network) on your laptop or device.
For help with your VPN connection and more information, click here.

Need Research Help?

You can always make an appointment the visual arts librarian (Jenna Dufour) by clicking here. Appointments can be made virtually or in-person. I'm here to help!

Film and Media Studies Databases

These databases will provide access to scholarly articles, magazine articles, critical reviews, news, book reviews, and dissertations through the lens of Film and Media studies. Some databases offer mostly full-text while others provide indexing only, so you'll want to use the " " image to retrieve access to the full-text through another library database that UCI has access to, or you can request it through a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which you can read more about by clicking here.

Cross-Search: Film & Media Studies Databases
Cross-searches AFI Film Catalog, Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical archive of trade magazines focused on the entertainment industry (i.e., music, film, broadcasting, and theatre). Excellent source of information to discover things like top charts, hiring notices, industry announcements, entertainment union news, etc.
FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new window
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) produces the International Index to Film Periodicals– a database for researching film history, theory, and criticism. FIAF indexes coverage of academic and popular film journals by searching the International Index to Film Periodicals from 1972 – present. This database also includes FIAF’s “Treasures from Film Archives” which is a detailed index of silent-era film holdings of archives globally.
AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
This catalog is an authoritative resource of American film information, and covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1993 with full or short records for films from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day.
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index for journal, trade magazine, and popular magazine articles in the fields of dance, drama, and film.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for all visual arts research! This database covers all periods and media (historical and contemporary, decorative and commercial art, various areas of architecture and architectural design). It includes scholarship starting from the 1930s to the present, is international in scope.

Entertainment Business Databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites.
Maximum 12 users at a time.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.