icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. Using campus WiFi, library resources will load an authenticate automatically. Off-campus, you'll need to use the software VPN (virtual private network) on your laptop or device.You can always make an appointment the visual arts librarian (Jenna Dufour) by clicking here. Appointments can be made virtually or in-person. I'm here to help!
Books are excellent resources, especially in the humanities! They provide comprehensive overviews on emerging issues and trends within scholarly discourse. Academic books are usually published as a scholarly monograph (1 author/scholar writing on a singular, usually more niche, topic) or as anthologies and edited volumes (2+ authors/scholars contribute to the same broader topic from a variety of perspectives, sharing a multitude of in-depth knowledge). Most academic books are published by large university publishers, or by independent and critical presses with the same peer review process. If you are working on a research paper at the undergraduate level, you don't have to read the whole book to use it in your bibliography! You can consult the Table of Contents to see if there is a useful chapter or two and focus on those chapters to deepen your knowledge. Another great tip is to always browse the bibliographies of books and book chapters as a way to trace the discourse and find additional, relevant resources and writers on that same topic.
Many books on film and media studies are edited volumes of essays by different authors or contain information on a number of films or shows. Depending on how they were cataloged, the records that represent information about scholarly books do not always reveal this content. Searching these tools can be a great way to search for information in books as they search each word on every page of the scanned items.
Use UC Library Search to find books available in electronic and print format. Browsing the shelves can also be a fun way to discover items that you didn't know you needed! A library classification is a system of knowledge organization by which library resources are arranged and ordered systematically. At UCI Libraries, and many North American academic libraries, books are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification system. You'll find most books in the PN call number [languages and literature] which includes motion pictures, television, and radio. However, the TR call range also includes cinematography (special effects, projection, etc.).
What is keyword searching?
What is subject searching?
Click on Subject Headings below to retrieve related books from Library Search.
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that UCI Libraries does not own or subscribe to. You can make requests in UC Library Search or in UCI WorldCat by clicking "Get it at UC". For more information about ILL services, click here. You can also fill out a blank ILL request form. (This link will ask you to authenticate with your UCI net ID and password).
Books are excellent resources, especially in the humanities! They provide comprehensive overviews on emerging issues and trends within scholarly discourse. Academic books are usually published as a scholarly monograph (1 author/scholar writing on a singular, usually more niche, topic) or as anthologies and edited volumes (2+ authors/scholars contribute to the same broader topic from a variety of perspectives, sharing a multitude of in-depth knowledge). Most academic books are published by large university publishers, or by independent and critical presses with the same peer review process. If you are working on a research paper at the undergraduate level, you don't have to read the whole book to use it in your bibliography! You can consult the Table of Contents to see if there is a useful chapter or two and focus on those chapters to deepen your knowledge. Another great tip is to always browse the bibliographies of books and book chapters as a way to trace the discourse and find additional, relevant resources and writers on that same topic. This tab includes sub-pages on finding and using books and covers various kinds of art books as well, such as exhibition catalogs and catalogues raisonnes.