This LibGuide was created to help students discover tools, tips, and resources for working on their final assignments in Professor Benamou's FMS 160: Mexican Film and Media class (winter 2023). In this class, you are learning the major periods in the development of Mexican cinema, defining national cinema, and exploring ethnic and gendered representation in cinema and media.
Connect Off campus:
For all resources marked * this is a library owned or subscribed resource, and if you are researching off campus, you will need to connect to the VPN (virtual private network) to access materials. For more information/help, visit: https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect.
Schedule Research Help:
To make an appointment with me, you can use this booking tool: https://spaces.lib.uci.edu/appointments/jenna. If no slots are available, you can always e-mail me and we can find another time!
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Cinema and Media Studies Bibliographies:
Latin American Studies Bibliographies:
HANDBOOKS
Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies* ONLINE
This handbook provides a single-volume source of original scholarship on the intersection of film and media studies. Example articles that will help you for this course might be: Dreaming with Open Eyes: Latin American Media in the Digital Age or even The Globalization of Filmmaking in Latin America and the Middle East.
Oxford Handbook of Queer Cinema* ONLINE
This handbook encompasses more than a century of filmmaking, film criticism and film reception, looking at the ways in which the idea of 'queer cinema' has expanded as a descriptor for a global arts practice. Example chapter that could be of interest: Tracing Lesbian Cinema in Latin America.
The SAGE Handbook of Film Studies* ONLINE.
This helpful handbook maps the field internationally, drawing out regional differences in the way that systematic intellectual reflection on cinema and film has been translated into an academic discipline.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Films* ONLINE.
Includes 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced. Ranging from Hollywood classics to international bestsellers to lesser-known representations of national cinema, this collection is deliberately broad in scope crossing decades, boundaries and genres.
International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers* ONLINE.
Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs. Example: Buñuel, Luis.
Examples of Scholarly Books:
Filming Pancho: How Hollywood Shaped the Mexican Revolution by 
Constructing the Image of the Mexican Revolution: Cinema and the Archive by 
Mexican Melodrama : Film and Nation from the Golden Age to the New Wave by 
Celluloid nationalism and other melodramas : from post-revolutionary Mexico to fin de siglo Mexamérica / Susan Dever. by 
Women Filmmakers in Mexico: the Country of Which We Dream by 
Motherhood in Mexican Cinema, 1941-1991: The Transformation of Femininity on Screen by 
Cinemachismo: masculinities and sexuality in Mexican film by Search Tools to Find & Discover Books:
UC Library Search is the easiest way to find and discover books. To make it a bit easier, when you enter keywords into UC Library Search, use the filters on the left-hand side and select "books" and "book chapters" as the format, and also pay attention to publication year.
Search for thousands of e-books, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Google Books contains millions of digitized books beyond UCI Library. You can use it as a "discovery tool" . For example, you can keyword search an artist's name to see where they appear in various chapters of books. Only public domain (out of copyright) books are available as full-text in this tool, so check the library for the full-text copy.
Finding Books in the Library Stacks
Sometimes, it is nice to browse the print collection available locally on campus. Because this course can be interdisciplinary in nature, you may be looking at multiple sections in the library (history, social sciences, humanities, communication, film studies, and more). Here are a few starting points to browse the library stacks:
| Class H: Social Sciences | Examples: |
| HT51-1595 | Communities. Classes. Race. |
| HM1206-1211 | Communication. Mass Media |
| Class E: History of the Americas | |
| E151-909 | United States |
| Class F: History of the Americas | |
| F1201-3799 | Latin America. |
| F1201-1392 | Mexico |
| Class P: Language and Literature | |
| PN1993-1999 | Motion Pictures |
| PN1990-199.92 | Broadcasting (Radio, Television) |
| PN4699-5650 | Journalism. The periodical press, etc. |
These databases are excellent resources for getting started. Try running a few keyword searches in more than one to see what articles and results show up! Some are specific to a field of study while others cover all disciplines.
Latino Studies Databases:
This databases Indexes a wide variety of materials (journal articles, books, book chapters) on the Mexican-American, Chicano, and the broader Latino experience. Scholarship is dated from 1960s-present. Use the "Get it at UC" link for full-text if not in database, or try ILL.
Film and Media Studies Scholarship:
Film & Media Studies Databases (ProQuest)*
This link will cross-search multiple databases in one search: the American Film Institute Film Catalog, the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals.
Communication + Media Studies:
This database covers communication (and media) studies. . Use this database to research mass media topics.
Gender Studies:
GenderWatch*
Alternative press and other hard-to-find articles about gender and sexuality. Coverage varies: mostly 1990s - current
Multidisciplinary Studies:
This database is multidisciplinary so it covers many subject areas. It includes access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals as well as abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR*
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Articles blocked by paywalls will link you back to UCI Libraries subscriptions/online resources to access the full-text.
Please also visit the Film and Media Studies Journal page, which lists many other critical film and media studies academic journals and magazines.
Studies in Latin American Popular Culture (1990-):
Publishes articles on Latin American popular culture: film, television, radio, comic books, photonovelas, etc.
Journal of Cinema and Media Studies (1961-):
This journal engages debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies. It covers the aesthetic, political, and cultural interpretation of media and their production, circulation, and reception.
Transnational Screens (2010-)
This journal emerged in response to a shift in global film, television and streaming and how we understand dynamic new industrial and textual practices. It aims to break down traditional geographical divisions and welcomes submissions on any aspect of transnational film, television, streaming culture, and screen media practices.
Film Quarterly (1945-):
Devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media, publishes scholarly analyses of international and Hollywood cinema as well as independent film, including documentary and animation. The journal also revisits film classics; examines television and digital and online media; reports from international film festivals; reviews recent academic publications; and on occasion addresses installations, video games and emergent technologies
Television and New Media (2000-):
Explores the fields of television and new media studies as they focus on the historical, ethnographic, political-economic, technological, and textual dimensions of media in social contexts.
Journal of Popular Film & Television (1972-): The goal of the Journal of Popular Film and Television is to provide a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching sociocultural forces.
JCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies (1961-):
The Journal of Cinema and Media Studies is the official academic journal of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies. It covers film studies, television studies, media studies, visual arts, cultural studies, film and media history, and moving image studies
Contemporary
U.S. Major Dailies*
Includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1980s - today.
La Opinion*
Spanish language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles. Coverage: 2000 - current.
AltPressWatch*
Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Coverage: mostly 2000 - current.
Ethnic NewsWatch*
Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority, and native press in America.
Historical
Includes 35 newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela
UCI Libraries offers a free Oral History Toolkit that was designed by Special Collections & Archives (SCA) staff for community members. Whether you are interested in conducting a single oral history interview or implementing a large-scale project to document a community or historical event.
UCI's SCA is committed to fostering community-centered archives which supports the preservation and access to underrepresented histories. These 6 modules contain