Springshare is in the process of upgrading to Bootstrap 5, a web development framework, starting with the Databases A-Z list. The new Databases A-Z public page gives users a new, modern, user-friendly interface with which to learn about and access the Libraries' databases, while the new A-Z List Management internal pages provide enhanced features and customizations for managing database assets.
The UCI Libraries activated the new A-Z list on July 29, 2024. The legacy (old) version will be available through 2024 for both public and internal pages.
The public Databases A-Z page URL is now: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/az/databases
Existing links to the old public page (https://guides.lib.uci.edu/az.php) will be automatically redirected to the new page.
The new internal management page for database assets is: LibGuides > Content > A-Z List Management (Beta). This page should be used from this point forward.
Access to the legacy version of the management page (LibGuides > Content > A-Z Database List) will continue to be available through 2024.
The Databases A-Z list acts as a central repository for the Libraries' databases. Each entry is a database asset that can be reused on LibGuides. Because the databases are centrally managed in the Databases A-Z list, any changes to a database asset (such as its URL) will automatically be reflected on every LibGuide where the database asset is being used.
Best practice is to use database assets on LibGuides to provide access to database resources. Database assets should only be used for databases. For general purpose links, LibGuide users should use link assets and/or Rich Text/HTML.
