Databases A-Z

Credit: These guidelines were developed by the Databases A-Z Project Group: Melissa Beuoy, Nicole Carpenter, Sara Heimann, Natalie Marquez, and Hector Perez-Gilbe (August 2021-2022).

Goal: These guidelines aim to create a Databases A-Z list that is accessible by the widest audience (e.g., the novice rather than expert user), provides useful point-of-need information, and has a consistent and professional appearance.

This is the name that will display on the public Databases A-Z page and wherever the database is reused in LibGuides.
 

1. Database name should be in title case.
   • Ex: Academic Search Complete
      
2. In some cases, database name will match capitalization by vendor.
   • Ex: PubMed
      
3. If database is commonly known by an acronym, spell out the name in title case followed by the acronym in parentheses.
   • Ex: Academic Video Online (AVON)
      
4. If database is solely referred to by an acronym, use the acronym for database name (bibliographer's discretion).
   • Ex: JSTOR; ERIC; CINAHL Complete

The URL for the database that will be linked to the database name field.
 

1. If available, use the PID (permanent identifier) URL for the database.
   • Ex: Academic Search Complete
     • Database URL: http://uclibs.org/PID/126936
        
2. If PID is not available, use the link provided in the catalog record in UC Library Search (if it points to the correct page).
   • Ex: IBISWorld
     • Database URL: https://my.ibisworld.com/
        
3. If neither a PID or catalog link is available, use the landing page URL that best fits the database description provided.
    
4. If the database is restricted to current UCI affiliates, use the Libraries’ intermediary page.
   • Ex: PitchBook
     • Database URL: https://www.lib.uci.edu/online/pitchbook
        
5. If the entry is referencing a specific subset of a larger database, make sure the URL provided takes users directly to that content, not the publisher’s generic landing page.
   • Ex: AGRICOLA (based within the Agricultural Science Collection; within the Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection)
     • Database URL: https://www.proquest.com/agricola/advanced?accountid=14509
   • Ex: UC Press (one specific publisher on the De Gruyter platform that searches many different publishers)
     • Database URL: https://www.degruyter.com/partner/california
        
6. If the link in the catalog record does not work, or does not point to the correct or desired location, please submit an E-Resources Error Reporting (ERER) ticket to have the link updated. Once updated, use the new URL.

Alternate names and/or acronyms associated with the database. If a user searches for these words, the database will appear in the results. (Not displayed on the public page.) Examples include the following:
 

1. Previous/former names of a database that are still commonly used/known in practice.
   • Ex: Nexis Uni
     • Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: LexisNexis
        
2. Database provider (e.g., vendor, association, etc.) if not included in database name and will facilitate searching.
   • Ex: PsycINFO
     • Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: APA PsycINFO, PsychInfo

Common misspellings or key expressions that will help users find this database when searching. (Not displayed on public page.) Examples include the following:

1. Alternative spellings and/or spacing of database name.
   • Ex: JSTOR
     • Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: JSTORE; J STOR; JAYSTORE
        
2. Subject specialists may include appropriate keywords and/or phrases at their discretion.
   • Ex: S&P Capital IQ
     • Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: company research

The default description of the database. This will appear on the public Databases A-Z page below the database name. Guide editors can choose to use this description or create a custom description when linking to the database in their guide.
 

1. Description should provide sufficient information for a novice user to confidently select it as a potential resource for research.
    
2. Description should be a maximum of three (3) sentences.
    
3. Only include information regarding format (i.e., books, journals, articles, etc.) if it is something that is unique to the database, or cannot be ascertained by the database name.
   • Ex: SWANK
     • Description: ... contains streaming videos ...
        
4. Avoid “vendor/marketing” language (e.g., “top/best/premier resource for...”).
    
5. Avoid quantitative or numerical figures regarding the size or scope of a collection (i.e., information that is subject to change).
    
6. Only include dates if it is a major focus/specialty of the database. As an alternative, use a phrase such as “historical coverage.”
    
7. (Optional) Use the “More Info” field to include special instructions regarding accessing a database that will not be displayed on screen at all times. The user can toggle the “Additional Info” link to show/hide this information.
   • Ex: SimplyAnalytics
     • More info: Maximum 3 users at once. Register for a free account to save and return to your work.