Databases A-Z

1. While editing your guide, select the  Add / Reorder button at the bottom of the box where you want to add a database.
2. Select Database from the dropdown menu.
   
   
    
3. In the Search for Database field, start typing in the name of the database you want to add.
   • Can't find it? Check the Database A-Z page to check if it's been added or uses a different variation of the name.
   • If it's not listed, please visit: Request a New Database Asset.
      
4. Select the database you want to add from the list of results.
   • If a database is currently set to Hidden, you will see a This item is hidden from public view status next to it.
   • Although you can still add a hidden database to your guide, it will not display on the public view of your guide. Please contact the Working Group (libguides@exchange.uci.edu) for help.
     
     
      
5. A summary of the database info will appear.
   • Not the database you are looking for? No problem: search again and select a different one.
6. Use the Position dropdown to select where in the box the new database will be inserted. (Don't worry: you can always reorder this later.)
7. Click the Save button.
   
   

After adding a database asset to a guide, you have the option to customize the database's description and its display behavior.

To do this, select the Edit icon next to the asset, and select edit from the menu.

From the Add/Edit Content window, you can:

• Enter a Custom Description which will override the database's default description and appear for this mapping only.  
• Customize the Description Display (how the description displays on the guide) for this mapping only.

Please note that these customizations will only apply to this single mapping of the database. It will not affect the original database's description or description display placement on the A-Z list.