Databases A-Z

Alerts & Announcements are banners that can be added to alert users to issues that affect the Libraries' databases. Possible alerts could include a network connectivity problem that user should be made aware, or a planned outage with a specific database. Alerts are temporary and should be removed once the issue has been resolved. There are two levels of alerts and announcements:

1. A-Z page alerts

Banner alert will display at the top of every public A-Z page (including individual database landing pages).

The Working Group will oversee A-Z page level alerts.

2. Specific database alerts

Banner alert will be displayed on the public Databases A-Z list (between the database name and description), the database's individual landing page, when editing the database, and when viewing the QuickView for the database from the A-Z List Management page.

Only admin users can access and manage Alerts & Announcements. If you are a regular user and would like to add an alert for a specific database, please contact the Working Group (libguides@exchange.uci.edu).

If you are an admin user, you can add an alert to a specific database on by selecting Alerts & Announcements from the left menu on the A-Z List Management (Beta) page.

1. Scroll down to the Database Issue Alerts panel.
    
2. Select the + Report Database Issue button.
    
3. In the Report Database Issue window, search for the database in the Databases field.
    
4. Enter the Issue Title.
   • This will be used as the title of the alert message shown to users and staff.
      
5. Enter the Issue Description.
    
6. Select Save.

1. While on the Alerts & Announcements page, scroll down to the Database Issue Alerts panel.
    
2. Locate the existing issue in the table of database alerts and select the Edit Alert (pencil) icon to make changes to the existing alert or select the Remove Alert (x) icon to clear the database's alert.