Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemistry Resource Locator

ChemWiki - UC Davis

ChemWiki: The Dynamic Chemistry E-textbook

http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/

Also covers: bio, geo, stats, physics, math, solar

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. The development of the ChemWiki is currently directed by UC Davis Professor Delmar Larsen.

Basic Chemistry

Definitions, Periodic Tables

Common Chemistry
A beta website from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
Common Definitions and Terms in Organic Chemistry
Definitions are the preferred ones to be used in Organic Chemistry. Note that some terms (such as configuration) have more than one interpretation. Based on work by © Dr Jeffrey Gosper and Prof. Peter Sammes, Brunel University, 1995.
Chemistry Fundamentals: A Glossary (basic definitions)
Prepared by April M. Love, University of California, Irvine (2003)
Chemistry Guide
WWW Chemistry Guide - a comprehensive collection of annotated links for chemists and researchers involved in organic, biochemical, computational, medicinal and/or other chemistry research. Developed by Andrey Frolov (Ph.D. in organic chemistry) and suppor
American Elements
The table of elements give a very succinct description of the physical properties of the elements including vdW radii and ionic radii. Includes links to commercial suppliers.
WebElements™ Periodic Table
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back of the book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas Search the contents of more than 4,500 reference titles
more...less...
Subject: Encyclopedias and dictionaries -- Indexes; Electronic reference sources -- Indexes; Reference sources -- Indexes

Searching Computer Databases

Chemical Abstracts, Crossfire Beilstein/Gmelin, Web of Science, Engineering Index, Powder Diffraction Files

Web of Science (1900-present) *
The ISI® Science Citation Index Expanded provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 8,060 major journals across 173 disciplines, to 1900.
EI Compendex Plus (1884+) *
[Engineering Index] Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology excluding patents.
INSPEC (physics and geophysics, 1898 - present) *
INSPEC is produced by the Institute of Electrical Engineers and provides access to the world’s leading scientific and technical literature in physics, geophysics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, and computing.
more...less...
The INSPEC database offers access to international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books. Coverage: 1898 - present.
arXiv.org
Preprint server for computational physics. (Los Alamos preprint server; now served at Cornell)
Powder Diffraction File on CD-ROM
Available on only one dedicated computer in SL Reference room. The PDF has been the primary reference for powder diffraction data since 1938.
more...less...
The primary information in the PDF is the collection of d-I data – the d-spacing (d) determined from the angle of diffraction and the intensity (I), experimentally measured under the best possible conditions for a phase-pure material.
Powder Diffraction Files Tutorial
The PDF is a collection of 272,000 material data sets that have been characterized by X-ray analysis and edited to include physical properties, experimental preparation and literature citations

Ask a Librarian

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Chemical Drawing Software

ACD Labs - ChemSketch 12.0 Freeware
ACD/ChemSketch Freeware is a drawing package that allows you to draw chemical structures including organics, organometallics, polymers, and Markush structures.
Marvin
MarvinSketch is a Java based chemical drawing tool. MarvinSketch allows you to create and edit molecules in various file formats including MDL mol, Compressed mol, unique SMILES, SMARTS, Sybyl mol, PDB, CML, XYZ, POV-Ray.
ChemDoodle 3.2.1
ChemDoodle also natively reads and writes many common file formats including ChemDraw's CDX and CDXML.

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

Mitchell Brown
230 Science Library
Office: 949-824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu