Research Guides: Chemistry: Tutorials and Online Teaching Aids

Video

Science video training and demonstrations

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
An online video-publication for biological research.
Henry Stewart Talks: the Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
LabAction
A community driven free resource for the information on biotechnology, cloning, human genetics, genetic disorders, stem cell research and marine biology.
DnaTube
A non-profit video site which is aiming to be a visual scientific resource for its visitors making scientific concepts easily understandable.

Database Tutorials

Knovel
Online Interactive Books and Databases a large number of online science and engineering handbooks.
Knovel - Explore Knovel Features
Try some of Knovel's features: Interactive Tables | Tables with Equation Plotter | Graph Digitizer | Tables with Graph Plotter | Spectra Viewer | Chemical Structure Search | Phase Diagram Viewer | Excel SpreadSheets | Periodic Table of the Elements | Unit
ACerS-NIST Phase Diagrams Tutorial (Flash movie 02:07)-Tutorial
Flash tutorial for database. The Phase Equilibria Diagrams CD-ROM Database Version 3.1 for 2005 contains more than 20,000 diagrams previously published in phase volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program: Volumes I thru X
Phase Equilibria Diagrams - Chemical System Designation Rules
Users familiar with the series of published volumes of Phase Equilibria Diagrams (Phase Diagrams for Ceramists) are aware that chemical designation and sort order rules have varied among the volumes. The chemical system designation of all diagrams in all
Phase Equilibria Diagrams - Common Tasks Search options
With this Phase Equilibria Diagrams (PED) CD-ROM application, you can retrieve all published NIST/ACerS phase equilibria diagrams and commentaries.
Six methods of searching can be used:
• Search by Chemical System
• Search by Published Aut
Powder Diffraction File Tutorials (ICDD)
The PDF is a collection of 272,000 material data sets that have been characterized by X-ray analysis and edited to include physical properties, experimental preparation and literature citations. (12.7 Mb)
Science of Synthesis - Getting Started Manual (PDF)
Science of Synthesis Guided Examples (PDF)
Guided Examples compiled by Dr. Thomas Krimmer (Thieme Publishing) for exact structure search, reaction search, outbound linking, and accessing Houben-Weyl citations. 10 pp.
Science of Synthesis Worked Examples (PDF)
Two practical examples of the use of Science of Synthesis in resolving organic synthesis problems. 13 pp.

Tutorials

SciFinder e-Seminars - Listed by Basic and Intermediate
Beginner and intermediate level e-Seminar training sessions for easier viewing and access.
Reaxys Video Tutorials
Videos in support of Reaxys search features for compund factual properties, demonstration the Synthesis Planner for reaction, and searching for compound related properties.
ACS Style Guide (3rd. ed.)
Quick guide to citing using the ACS Style Guide (3rd ed.) Chapter 14. This quick guide is not a substitute for the ACS Style Guide, but it does include some commonly used formats.
ChemgaPedia CHEMGAROO Educational Systems by FIZ CHEMIE Berlin.
Comprehensive curricular encyclopaedia for chemistry that combines an encyclopedia with tutorials in organic, inorganic and environmental chemistry. Originally developed in German, translated into English and French.
XCITR - eXplore Chemical Information Teaching Resources
XCITR is a repository for exploring and sharing chemical information teaching resources. Register today to contribute materials that you have produced for sharing with others or access XCITR materials for teaching or personal use.
The Lab: Avoiding Research Misconduct
The simulation addresses Responsible Conduct of Research topics such as avoiding research misconduct, mentorship responsibilities, handling of data, responsible authorship, and questionable research practices.

Publishing 101

ACS Author University

How to Write a Paper to Communicate Your Research

Writing Your Cover Letter

“How to Write a Scientific Article” answers the following questions:

When should you begin to think about writing up your research for publication?
How do your students handle your approach of writing while you research?
How do new technologies help scientists communicate their work?
How many drafts does each paper undergo? Do you have your papers undergo an internal review?
Do authors need to be thinking of marketing their articles?
How concerned should I be about the title and abstract of my papers?

A Virtual Issue of Editor Tips for Authors: Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication

http://pubs.acs.org/page/vi/art_of_scientific_publication.html

JoVE Multimedia for Chemistry

JoVE: Chemistry focuses on the methodology within chemistry and chemical preparation within multidisciplinary fields. The chemistry section welcomes articles about new methodologies and new twists on existing methodologies.

The scope of this section includes but is not limited to:

Organic chemistry
Inorganic chemistry
Physical chemistry
Analytical chemistry
Biochemistry
Chemical biology
Molecular biology
Preparation, use, and analysis of novel materials and structures
Spectroscopic techniques
Molecular self-assembly and recognition

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

Mitchell Brown
230 Science Library
Office: 949-824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu