Research Guides: Chemistry: Find Articles

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

Mitchell Brown
230 Science Library
Office: 949-824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu

Ask a Librarian

What's New

SciFinder Web (login) *
SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.

Scifinder-n Quick Reference Guide (PDF) -- Help Option in SciFinder-n (PDF)
Importing Structure Files in SFn (PDF)

SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details) *
Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search.
SciFinder Mobile *
Once registered for SciFinder web you can log into your account from your smartphone via scifinder.cas.org/mobile whether on, or off campus and access the mobile friendly SciFinder mobile interface.

SciFinder mobile does not include all the functionality of the web version.
News and Updates
Changes and updates to SciFinder Scholar (Web)
e-EROS *
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (ebook).
CASSI
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) search tool is a web-based resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This new tool has been created as a free-of-charge resource that will enable researchers to confirm journal titles and journal title abbreviations in an easily accessible electronic format.
more...less...
This free, web-based tool can serve as a companion tool to CASSI on CD customers to provide easy access for basic journal and abbreviation look-ups, while CASSI on CD provides additional functionality and data such as holdings information, DDS availability, certain record details, and archival ability.

How to Find Chemistry Articles

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n, from CAS, is one of the core databases for chemistry and related sciences, including biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, environmental science, physics, mechanical engineering, health sciences, and more. It indexes references from journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and more, aw well as chemical substances, protein and nucleic acid sequences, and single and multi-step reactions.

Searching the Chemical Literature before Chemical Abstracts
Resources that can be helpful in identifying pre-1907 chemical information resources not included in Chemical Abstracts. Prepared by David Flaxbart, University of Texas Austin Chemistry Library.

Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

OSTI.gov Search Tools
From the Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Proceedings and papers from scientific meetings can be found in these fields, among others: particle physics, nuclear physics, chemistry, petroleum, aeronautics and astronautics, meteorology, engineering, computer science, electric power, fossil fuels.
more...less...
Also included are over 500,000 proceedings and papers indexed in the Energy Citations Database covering 1948 to the present. This is a free distributed portal that provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and papers from nineteen professional societies plus a number of national labs.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Beilstein, Gmelin, and EcoPharm databases, which include reaction and substance data for organic, inorganic, organometallic, and bioactive compounds. Reaxys also allows synthesis planning and chemical sourcing.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Searches the collections of all UC campuses, including print books and journals, ebooks and ejournals, film, newspaper articles, book chapters, and more. This tool also allows you to limit your search to the UCI campus library collection, locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content, and borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system. Use subject keywords (with truncation symbol) such as "organic*" or "computational*" to find journals with that word in the title.

ACS Style Guide

ACS Style Guide
The ACS Style Guide is an established and definitive source within and beyond the chemistry community, educating researchers on how to effectively communicate scientific information.

Chemistry