Research Guides: Chemistry: Top Chemistry Information Sources

Electronic Sources

1. Handbook of Chemistry and Physics *
Call number: Print version: SL Reference Chemistry Table. QD 65 H3.
The available electronic version is not interactive, and is merely a scanned version of the print Handbook, which is not as useful as one would expect.
more...less...
Divided in sections: "organic" (arranged alphabetically by compound name) and "inorganic" (arranged alphabetically by element name) and other sections. First place to look online for physical property information for inorganic and organic compounds. A good place to find information on colors of compounds and shapes of crystals.

Electronic
(Information in the recommended order of use: how and where to go for chemical information on physical properties [boiling point, melting point, density, etc.], structures, molecular weights, molecular formulas, etc.)
* UC Irvine access only

2. Knovel *
Online Interactive Books and Databases a large number of online science and engineering handbooks.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (16th Edition) *
This indispensable reference book provides precise technical data and descriptive information for chemical substances and phenomena.
more...less...
The description of chemicals and processes along with an expanded definition of chemical entities and terminology may include: Name, Synonyms, CAS Registry Number, Formula, Physical Properties, Source or Occurrence, Grade, Hazard, Use, and Derivation.
DIPPR 801 *
Knovelized 2005 update of DIPPR Project 801 (Full Version) Database presents this renowned source of Evaluated Standard Thermophysical Property Values in Knovel's interactive format. Nineteen fully searchable and filterable Interactive Tables enhanced wit
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (17th edition) *
A classic reference covers the entire field of chemistry with state-of-the-art facts, figures, values, tables and formulas. It is an essential source for all chemistry professionals.
Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects (DOSE, 3rd Electronic Edition) *
This 2005 electronic version of the original seven-volume collection of vital information has been updated to contain approximately 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment.
more...less...
Detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements is also presented. The information can be accessed through a live summary table that links to the detailed summaries or by browsing the table of contents for a specific chemical.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (9th Edition) *
This new seventh edition of the world-famous classic provides you with unrivaled, state-of-the art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering, from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Definitive reference for chemical an
Patty's Toxicology (5th Edition) Volumes 1-8 *
This new 5th edition offers toxicological data on industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards to workers. It features a revised format and reorganization of material, and illustrates how the field of toxicology has developed.
more...less...
It also examines the evolution, recognition and control of workplace hazards.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (10th Edition) Volumes 1-3 *
Includes comprehensive hazard information on substances encountered in the workplace. Promotes safety by providing the most up-to-date hazard information available.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
more...less...
In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible
3. Combined Chemical Dictionary *
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The Combined Chemical Diction
______Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records) *
______Dictionary of Natural Products (170,000 records) *
______Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (101,000 records) *
______Dictionary of Drugs (40,000+ records) *
______Dictionary of Analytical Reagents (14,000 records) *
4. Properties of Organic Compounds *
A web based database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. Needs additional structure-drawing software to draw structures for structure and substructure searching.
5. Aldrich Catalog: Organics and Inorganics for Chemical Synthesis.
Call number: Print version: located at SL Reference Chemistry Table 1. QV 772 A365.
Updated monthly, the online version may be searched using product name, molecular formula, product number, CAS# and MDL#. Substructure searching is also possible with t
6. Organic Syntheses *
Call number: Print version: Organic Syntheses collective. vols I-IX. SL Reference Chemistry Table. QD 262 O72.
The electronic version requires the purchase of ChemDraw structure drawing software. There are detailed experimental methods in a standard fo
7. E-ROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis *
- Includes over 48000 reactions and approximately 3500 of the most frequently consulted reagents
- Entries highlight various uses and characteristics of each reagent
- Also includes information concerning physical data, solubility, form suppli
8. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology *
Call number: Print version: 4th edition. 1992. SL Stacks. TP 9 E685 1992.
Focuses on how to make and how to use compounds. Includes references. Useful for practical applications of chemistry, for example "roofing," or "adhesives," or "water treatment."
more...less...
Full text articles in the online version are available in HTML format.
The alphabetical index is the best way to access the information.
9. Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (Ullman's) *
Call number: Print version: 5th edition. 1985. SL Reference Stacks. TP9 .U57 1985.
Information from a European perspective. Covers most of the same material as Kirk-Othmer above, but has a different emphasis.
The alphabetical index is the best way
10. Science of Synthesis *
Unique reference work in synthetic methodology includes access to all volumes of Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformation. Exhaustive coverage of the topics of Organometallics; Hetarenes and Related Ring Systems; Nitriles, Isocyanides, and Derivati
11. CRCnetBase databases *
Online access to handbooks and technical literature for science and tchnology topics
NTRL (National Technical Report Literature) *
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.

Print - Enhanced with Electronic

12. Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals. 1997. *
Call number: SCI Reference. QD 257.7 H374 1997
Arranged by CAS Registry Number, it includes tables of physical properties, pictures of structures, solubility in water, pKa, vapor pressure and references. There is a molecular formula index and an alphab
13. Merck Index of Chemicals and Biologicals. 14th edition. *
Call number: SL Reference. QV 772 M555 1996.
Good for information on inorganic and organic chemicals, drugs and pharmaceuticals. Has valuable information on organic compound physical properties. Excellent source for information on colors, odors and cry
14. Names, Synonyms and Structures of Organic Compounds. 1997
Call number: SL Reference. QD 291 N36 1995 v. 1-3.
Arranged by CAS Registry Number. Features structures and molecular formulas. Includes a molecular formula index and a name/synonym index. No physical properties are listed.
15. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. 15th ed. 1999. *
Call number: SL Reference Desk. QD 65 L364.
Chemical physical properties both for inorganic and organic compounds. If you do not find the information in either the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Aldrich Catalog, or the Merck Index, this is the
16. Dictionary of Organic Compounds. 5th ed. 1982. *
Call number: SL Reference. QD 246 D554 1982.
Arranged alphabetically by names, with molecular formula, CAS Registry Number and name indexes. Ten supplements have been published, each having self-contained indexes, as well as two cumulative indexes for
17. Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds. 1992. *
Call number: SL Reference. QD 148 D53.
Arranged alphabetically by element. The indexes are the best way to get into this tool. There is an element index, structural type index, name index and CAS Registry Number index. Includes pictures of structures.
18. Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds. 2nd ed. 1995. *
Call number: SL Reference. QD 411.D53 1995 vols 1-5.
Arranged alphabetically by element. The indexes are the best way to get into this tool. There is an index of synthetic reagents, molecular formula index and CAS Registry Number index.
19. Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra.
Call number: SL Reference. QD 96.15 P66 vols. 1-3.
Lists organic compounds arranged by functional group families. The indexes are the best way to get into this tool. Molecular formula index, alphabetical index and CAS Registry Number indexes are
20. Sigma Library of FT-IR Spectra. 1986.
Call number: SL Reference. QD 96 I5 K45 1986 vols. 1-2.
Focuses on biological-type compounds such as peptides, amino acids or steroids. Shows structures and spectra only, no physical properties. The indexes are the best way to access the material: alph
21. Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-IR NMR Spectra 1993
Call number: SL Reference. QD 96 F68 P67 1993. vols. 1-3.
Focuses on organic compounds. Shows structures and spectra only, no physical properties. The indexes are the best way to use this tool: alphabetical, molecular formula and CAS Number.
22. Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. 16th ed. 2001. *
Call number: SL Reference. QD 5 C5.
Everything you wanted to know about basic chemistry concepts, elements and compounds in one place. Simple, easy, in dictionary-style alphabetical arrangement.