Research Guides: Public Health: Statistics & Data

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Health Statistics & Related Data

When seeking health statistics, you may want to start with the valuable and highly recommended resources found on the Health Statistics Guide (see https://guides.lib.uci.edu/healthstatistics) which will direct you to a variety of health related statistical information and provide definitions of measures and data elements.

The first four links below are great general links to get you into statistical websites. Following the first four links are sites more specific to certain types of statistics (HIV/AIDS, Cancer, etc.), listed in alphabetical order. In addition there are resources for statistics at the local, state, federal and international levels, for different applications such as specific diseases, conditions, demographic patterns, census trends and other topics.

American FactFinder This invaluable resource provides access to thematic maps, community fact sheets, housing reports, and census data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Includes regional and state data.
Cancer Statistics (NIH, National Cancer Institute)
Cancer Statistics Center American Cancer Society launched a new web tool making it easier for those involved in the cancer fight to find & share cancer statistics. This site uses data from the Society’s annual Cancer Facts & Figures report and Cancer Statistics article (published in CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians), as well as much more data to create a comprehensive interactive resource to help the public learn about the cancer burden in the US. The mobile and tablet friendly Cancer Statistics Center website creates a brand new way for readers to explore, interact with, and share cancer statistics. It provides detailed statistics on a range of topics including: Estimated new cancer cases and deaths by sex, state, and cancer type in the current year Current cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends for individual cancer sites Risk factors (e.g.: smoking, obesity) and screening rates by state The website can be used to: View and download maps, graphs, and charts Create custom downloadable maps, graphs, and charts Export data to Excel Share specific statistics that are important to readers
Centers for Disease Control
Combined Health Information Database (CHID) CHID is a bibliographic database produced by health-related agencies of the Federal Government. This database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources.
Data.gov
Demographics and Health Surveys A wide variety of publications that provide country-specific and comparative data on population, health, and nutrition in developing countries based on the results of the demographic and health surveys.
Diabetes Statistics
Disease Control and Prevention
Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) "The Economist Group is the leading source of analysis on international business and world affairs..." Major information resource areas include Country Commerce, Country Profile, Country Finance, and Country Report..
Europa World of Learning Global in coverage, includes large current data sets for all socio-economic, education, political, geographic indicators, demographic summaries.
Fedstats The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide access to the statistics and information and interest to the public produced by more than 70 agencies in the U.S. federal government.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Lists state health workforce profiles, county demographics, and community health status indicators.
Health Statistics (MedlinePlus.gov)
Health Surveys
Health Workforce Analysis Area Resource File Area Resource File (ARF) is a health resource information system that enables policymakers, researchers, planners and others to analyze the current state of health care access at the county level.
Healthy City Identifies with a geolocator intensities of disease, crime, poverty, etc in zip code ranges.
HIVnet HIVnet: A tool that provides statistics on medical resource utilization by persons with HIV infection.
Interactive Tool for Hospital Statistics
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) MEPS is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS data cover health care use and spending, insurance coverage, and accessibility of care.
Medicare and Medicaid Statistics
Natality
National Center for Health Statistics A rich source of information about America's health. Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics The public advisory body to the Secretary of Health and Human Services.
National Electronic Disease Surveilance System (CDC) An initiative that promotes the use of data and information system standards to advance the development of efficient, integrated, and interoperable surveillance systems at federal, state and local levels.
NationMaster.com NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
NIDA Drugs of Abuse and Related Topics
NIOSH: State Profiles Occupational safety and health profiles are available for all fifty states.
OC Healthier Together Over 200 social & health indicators that describe the diversity of the population in Orange County, California.
OECD iLibrary "OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data... OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)."
The Prevention Guidelines Database A compendium of all the official guidelines and recommendations published by the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for the prevention of diseases, injuries, and disabilities, regardless of when and here they were originally published.
Public Health Information Network (CDC) The CDC Public Health Information Network (PHIN) is a national initiative to improve the capacity of public health to use and exchange information electronically by promoting the use of standards, defining functional and technical requirements.
Rehydration Project Provides information on diarrhea, dehydration, and oral dehydration for developing countries.
Social Science Electronic Data Library -Sociometrics Consists of 8 topically focused, high quality data collections in the following areas: AIDS/STD, Adolescent Pregnancy, Aging, the American Family, Child Well-being, Disability, Maternal Drug Abuse, & Complimentary & Alternative Medicine, as well as a Contextual Data archive. With > 350 data sets from 200 studies, it is a unique source of high quality health & social science data & documentation for researchers.
more...less...
UCI is a member of SSEDL so there is no cost for the data. Users of the Social Science Electronic Data Library have the option of downloading data sets from the data archive, or performing real-time online data analysis of the SSEDL data sets with MIDAS (Multivariate Interactive Data Analysis System).

Contextual data means data that describe the population, social, and economic characteristics of geographic areas, from census tracts to states, in which people reside or work. The contextual data archive consists of a series of files, each organized around a different geographic unit of analysis (such as census tracts, school districts, counties, states, etc.) Each file contains variables drawn from various sources, but having one common geographic unit of analysis. Support for this project is being provided by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Plugins required: Unzip software for Windows (such as Winzip or Pkunzip) or unzip software for Macintosh (such as Stuffit Expander or Zipit) to access downloaded data and User's Guides.

A Help button is embedded on the left of every screen. Also, a Read Me file link is available for each data collection.
Social Statistics Briefing Room Easy access to current federal social statistics including annual health care expenditures and the use of health services.
State Child Care Profiles National Child Care Information Center State Child Care Profiles. State profiles include demographic information about the children, families and child care in each state, and contact information for difference state agencies.
State Health Departments Links to fifty state health departments and Guam. Last updated September 3, 1999. There is not link for the District of Columbia. some states such as Montana, West Virginia, and Virginia need updating, but links often proide access to state data.
Statistical Abstract of the World ASL Ref, HA 154 .S69 1997.
Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results A premier source for cancer statistics in the United States.
Trends in Indian Health Tables and charts describing the health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives, including information about IHS structure, American Indian and Alaska Native demography, patient care, and community health.
WHO Global Burden of Disease (GBD) Global Burden of Disease analysis provides a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors for all regions of the world.
WHO Life Tables Online Database To assess the overall levels of health achievement, it is crucial to develop the best possible assessment of the life table for each country. The site provides abridged life tables for 1990, 2000 and 2006 for all WHO Member States.
WHO Mortality Database The link provides pre-defined tables on causes of death by age and sex for general users.
WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System) WHOSIS is an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. The data, which are also published annually in the World Health Statistics Report released in May, can be filtered, tabulated, charted and downloaded
World Health Organization (WHO) Links to major programs, and archive of WHO statements, and guidelines for international health and travel.

CDC Podcasts

CDC Podcasts

General United States Statistics

Data Sets

California Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development In the process of having the data made available for restricted access online (and cataloged) - UCInetID required. If needed email dtsang@uci.edu if seeking such public-use datasets. Note that there are no personal identifiers in these public-use datasets. UCI Libraries have acquired the following OSHPD public-use datasets: Public-Patient Discharge Data 1995-2010*. More information. Emergency Department Data 2005-2010*. More information. Ambulatory Surgery Data 2005-2010*. More information.

UCI Libraries has a wide range of data sets.

Calfornia CDPH Wastewater Surveillance Network Dashboard COVID-19 Wastewater Surveillance - This dashboard provides an overview of wastewater surveillance of SARS-CoV-2 in California, with wastewater samples collected and analyzed by CDPH, wastewater utilities, and academic, laboratory, and other partners across the state (Cal-SuWers Network).

Subjects

California State Information

Find information on:

International Information & Data

Global Health Observatory This is the entry point to the World Health Organization's database of 1,000 indicators in more than 194 countries. Data is organized to track progress of health-related sustainable development goals.
Global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Indicators Global Database This database is managed by the UN Statistics Division and allows views by indicator, by country, or by area that can be downloaded to Excel or CSV format. The UN Environment Programme Knowledge Repository contains maps for SDG synergies, region, or theme and is described below.
African Centre for Statistics The UN Economic Commission for Africa has established this Centre for member states seeking original data to inform policy decisions. The African Centre for Statistics is intended to serve as a regional data hub for economic, social ,demographic, and environmental conditions in African countries.
CountryData From the UN Statistics Division, national and international data is available here to track development progress at the country level.
European Countries The Statistical Database of the Economic Commission for Europe (ECE) country profiles for ECE member countries, including population, migration, economy, transport, and forestry.
Geospatial Information This portal is maintained by the UN Initiative on Global Geospatial Information Management. The country section showcases best practices and case studies to illustrate the successful use of geospatial information. The portal also provides key references and documents on National Spatial Data Infrastructures.
Latin America The ECLAC Digital Repository is maintained by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. A section for Data & Statistics contains La Comision Economica para America Latina's CEPALSTAT, the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized, and published by ECLAC.
OECD.stat. Managed by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), this site allows users to browse by topic or country. It includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected nonmember economies.
World Bank Open Data World DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time-series data that users can view by indicators, countries, or regions.
Demographic and Social Statistcs This is the main page of the UN Statistical Division, where users can search by demographic and social topics (population size and density, family formation, violence against women, etc). This site links to databases and publications covering demographics, housing, and women and gender issues.
Gender Equality View specifics about the minimum set of gender indicators, including qualitative and quantitative indicators relating to health, education, public life, and human rights of women and children.
Human Development Reports Made available from the UN Development Programme, these include Human Development Data from 1980 to 2015, the Human Development Index, and Google's Public Data Explorer.
International Migration This site from the Population Division of DESA contains international migration flow datasets and migration profiles from 2011 to 2015.
Global Environment The UNEP Knowledge Repository is a resource for global environmental issues, including climate change, disasters and conflicts, ecosystem management, environmental governance, chemicals and waste, and resource efficiency. There is not a data section, but a search for "dataset" within this site links to more than 7,000 sources for data, including Gender-Environment Datasets with Broadest Country Coverage, which is available at http://web.unep.org/ggeo/resources/data-sources. This repository contains maps for Sustainable Development Goal synergies, region, or theme.
Global Gender and Environment The Global Gender and Environment Outlook is a collaborative project between UNEP and strategic partners to bring gender issues to the heart of environmental assessment and decision making. To date, 17 indicators pull from available UN data, separated by gender, on environment and sustainable development issues.
AQUASTAT This is Food and Agriculture Organization's (FAO) global water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division. The most quoted source on global water statistics, this portal includes maps, summary and spatial tables, and datasets.
CountrySTAT This is an open source platform for food and agriculture statistics, including national and subnational levels. The goal of this platform is to act as a portal for statistics from member states. A useful e-learning course is available for CountrySTAT to upgrade statistical and technical skills of member states to improve data collection, quality and storage of food, and agricultural data.
FAOSTAT This is the repository for production, trade, and emissions data related to agriculture and land use for the Statistics Division of the FAO. Data includes emissions for agriculture and land use, food security, population, trade, and production.
UNHCR Population Statistics Database This database maintained by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) shows data about populations of concern from 1951 to 2014 and allows users to view general composition by location of residence or origin, status (refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons, etc) and evolution.
UN Human Development Index Allows experts ti keep up (through 2015, at present) with data relevant to health, education, and standard of living, and to compare a country of expertise with most others in the world.
UNICEF The United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF) houses data including child mortality, health and nutrition, maternal health, water and sanitation, education, child migration and displacement, child protection , and HIV/AIDS. User can view statistics by topic or country.
World Health WHOSIS is the World Health Organization's Statistical Information System that has been incorporated into the Global Health Observatory to provide researchers with more data, tools, analysis, and reports.
Drugs and Crime The UN Office On Drugs and Crime has a Statistics division that provides drug indicator data, including use and health consequences, production, and trafficking. It also provides such criminal justice statistics as crime, homicide, and special reports.
COVID-19 and people with disabilities Assessing the impact of the crisis and informing disability-inclusive next steps : Separate volumes for this series for all 38 European member states indicating how COVID impacted residents in each country who have disabilities.