Research Guides: Public Health: Images

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Image Collections

ARTstor
The UCI Libraries are providing campus-wide access to a new image management tool for research and teaching.
more...less...
While the name might imply that this service is only useful for art, it has broad applications for any discipline which relies on images for research and teaching. Researchers will be able to upload their personal digital image collections to create databases that will allow them to organize and retrieve images and to add personal research notes. Instructors will be able to upload their personal image collections for lectures and to utilize various pedagogical tools for displaying and presenting images. The tool also has a password-protection feature so that access to images can be limited to different groups of researchers or students.

Searching for images or illustrative content has the same directives as any other source of information. Increasingly the emphasis on visual literacy makes access more abundant but users still need to credit and cite the sources. For additional information about Images and Visual Literacy, please use the Subject Guides by those names: Subject Guide for Images (which contains a tab for medical and science images) and Subject Guide for Visual Literacy

These are resources restricted to the UCI community:

ARTstor Guide
ARTstor Quick-Start Guide
Changing Face of Southern California: A History in Postcards
This is one of the first significant digital collections developed at Loyola Marymount University and released in early 2009. Contains a search engine for the collection. Rights for copying can be obtained.
DSC Image Service
UC Digital Special Collections maintains this page of 19 collections comprising over 30,100 images, as part of the UC Shared Images program. Consult the collection list for access to the collections through Luna Imaging, Inc. Most of the collections are open to the public.
Hartill Collection
The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (strong in architecture and architectural decoration, especially Medieval) covering the history of the Western world from antiquity through contemporary.
Image Database
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more including images to support science, technology and medicine.
Pictures of Record
Digital images, essays, and bibliographies in the subject areas of: anthropology, archaeology, art history, political science, biology, architecture, and others
Primal Pictures
An interactive multimedia overview of human anatomy
Saskia
Over 27,000 digital images, with a special emphasis on core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. Images available in ARTstor.
SMART Imagebase
SMART Imagebase is a collection of thousands of high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
Society of Environmental Graphic Design (SEGD)
Primary source for environmental graphic design - hosts annual conference and website contains many resources on related topics.
Visual Literacy
Visual Literacy is increasingly important. Finding appropriate images, citing them accurately and noting copyright and attribution can be complex. These resources and others found on the Visual Literacy Subject Guide will assist you in these efforts.

Images

Public Domain Images

Wikimedia Commons
The Wikimedia Commons is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
Flickr - The Commons
World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view.
Biology Image Library
Rumsey’s Visual Collections
Over 300,000 images from over 50 collections including maps, artwork, and photographs that are both free and subscription based collections. All collections are presented in Insight.
American Memory
The American Memory Historical Collections are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' Americana collections, including a rich archive of images and text on U.S. u
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
National Sciences Digital Library and Repository of images, videos and tutorials used in health/medical education. See terms of the Creative Commons: http://healcentral.org/copyrights.jsp

Museums

David J. Sencer CDC Museum
In conjunction with the Smithsonian Institution, this museum promotes the work of the CDC in a visual way with physical and virtual exhibits. Current exhibitions are noted at http://www.cdc.gov/museum/exhibitions_changing.htm and an exhibition on health disparities, linking public health histories with social justice issues is being planned for later in 2013.
PhotoArchive of the National Library of Medicine
Lists all exhibitions and digital projects by subject.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Digital Collections
The National Library of Medicine Digital Collections have many photo archives that describe and define the research and collections contained there. This source makes visual histories of disease and treatment available to all users.
UN Habitat / Hidden Cities Portfolio
From WHO, strong visual images of health disparities and poverty worldwide
Not a Cough in a Carload: Images from the Tobacco Industry Campaign to Hide the Hazards of Smoking
Exhibit of historical distortions of the medical profession's perspective on smoking and health in cigarette advertising. Exhibit at Stanford's Lane Medical Library - March 2009+