Research Guides: Public Health: Databases

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Google Scholar
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

SSRN This link opens in a new window
SSRN (formerly Social Science Research Network) is a repository featuring many specialized research networks that altogether cover practically all academic disciplines. Scholars use SSRN to share their forthcoming research preprints (i.e., working papers and abstracts that have not been peer-reviewed), and to discover one another's forthcoming research. SSRN also classifies papers into topic-based eJournals that are distributed to institutional subscribers.
Most content in SSRN is available via Open Access.

If UCI Authorized Affiliates (i.e. current students/faculty/staff) also want to get a Research Network's (RN) eJournal via email, then UC Irvine must be a subscriber to that RN. (Note: Not all RNs produce eJournals.)

The full list of RNs is at: ssrn.com/index.cfm/en/subscribe/. Select the RN name for a list of subscribers, and look for UC Irvine in the list.

If you want UC Irvine to subscribe to an RN, please email your subject librarian: lib.uci.edu/subject-librarians

Global Health and Environmental Databases

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Database of publications in applied life science - including world-leading databases, journals, books, eBooks, compendium, case studies and e-learning - help scientists discover credible and authoritative outputs from around the globe. Our tools add insights to data and help people apply science to real-world problems.
GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Resource for data on Infectious Diseases. Includes data on bacterial, fungal, parasitic and viral infections, vaccines and immunoglobulins, microbes, and drugs.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations..
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk.

Green File
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest ...
Issue Lab by Candid
Issue Lab is where Candid collects, preserves, and shares research reports, whitepapers, evaluations, case studies, issue briefs, and more. Our knowledge base is published and/or funded by social sector organizations, and is one way that we connect people who want to change the world with the resources they need to do it.
Popline
Contains a comprehensive collection of health and associated literature. An international resource, POPLINE helps anyone gain access to scientific articles and book chapters.
USGS Surface-Water Data for the Nation
Nationally, USGS surface-water data includes more than 850,000 station years of time-series data that describe stream levels, streamflow (discharge), reservoir and lake levels, surface-water quality, and rainfall. The data are collected by automatic recorders and manual field measurements at installations across the Nation.

Medical/Clinical Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Social Sciences Databases

There are many different sources for finding information - these databases cover different content but include journal articles, conference papers & proceedings, book chapters & reviews, government documents from local to global agencies, public policy reports, statistical data, dissertations & theses among other sources.

The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) Legacy Collection The BLDS Legacy Collection has the largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe and over half of it originates from developing countries. But until now, much of the BLDS physical collection has only been available to visitors to the library or users of its Document Delivery service.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online* This database chronicles contemporary public policy by providing daily briefs, research studies, working papers, documents, data and other information to educate users about issues.
ELDIS (Closed on July 2024) The aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research. Browse more than 30,000 summarized documents from over 7,500 development organizations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners. Prepared by the Institute for Development Studies in Great Britain. Includes latest news clips, country information & summaries.

Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides essential information for ergonomists, health and safety specialists, human factors engineers, human computer interaction specialists, designers, systems analysts, industrial engineers, occupational psychologists and occupational and physical therapists. Spans the world of ergonomics and human factors. Provides indexing for eBooks, journal articles and reference works in a variety of fields including psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.

Frost & Sullivan Marketing Reports In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas that may be useful to big picture of public & global health: Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; among others. Covers 2000 to present, updated as new reports are produced. Includes other powerpoint presentations. Can't be copied.
Haz-Map Haz-Map is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work.
more...less...
Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is one of the products and services made available by the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html).

Chemicals and biological agents in Haz-Map are linked to industrial processes and other activities such as hobbies. Occupational diseases and their symptoms are associated with hazardous job tasks and possible exposure to hazardous agents. Information from textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases such as NLM's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®) is classified and summarized to create the database. HSDB is part of the TOXNET® (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov) system of databases related to toxicology and environmental health.

Some of Haz-Map's features include: text search capability, browsing by jobs, diseases, or agents, searching hazardous agents by adverse effects, searching diseases by jobs and findings, and automated searches of TOXNET. Definitions of technical terms are available by selecting hyperlinks to the glossary.
LexisNexis Congressional* Lexis Nexis Congressional provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present allowing the user to perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest...
more...less...
Lexis Nexis Congressional provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present allowing the user to perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest. The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present
Oxfam Publications This major global charity does a lot to fight poverty around the globe and has an ambitious publishing output of books, reports, research, evaluations, briefs and factsheets. Working in >90 countries, its history is proven that "Oxfam takes on the big issues that keep people poor: inequality, discrimination, and unequal access to resources including food, water, and land. We help people save lives in disasters, build stronger futures for themselves, and hold the powerful accountable." Fulltext.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.

PAIS International* The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460 000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more.
more...less...
Subject: Political planning -- Abstracts; Social sciences -- Abstracts
Policy Archive Comprehensive digital database of public policy research for which you must register to use - is free with fulltext content. Communities and individuals deposit content. Currently contains more than 30,,000 documents.
PolicyMap PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Latest new dataset is the Social Needs Index, about local & national trends in homelessness.
Social Science Information Gateway Free database of over 50,000 Social Science Web pages and resources.
Social Services Abstracts Covers mostly US experiences in social services and community outreach.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes social and behavioral sciences journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It also covers topics such as culture and social structure; health, medicine and law; policy and planning; religion and science; and women's studies.

TED Talks TED Ideas Worth Spreading - on a wide variety of topics by specialists who have explored the topic comprehensively and are sharing them in a variety of communications. Highly recommended. Focus in science, public policy, emerging technologies.

Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window Bibliographic entries of key relevance to the discipline, including urban affairs, community development, and urban history.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables UCI students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. For material found in UC Library Search, but not available at UCI, sign in to your library account and request it from another UC Library.

For material found in WorldCat but not UC Library Seearch, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form, available on the:

UCI Interlibrary Loan website

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!