Public Health

EHPnet publications relating to scientific and social environmental health issues.

Directory to government and international agencies and services relating to hazards and disasters.

HRSA directs national programs to improve access to health care in the area of HIV/AIDS, primary health care to medically underserved people, maternal and child health through state programs, and health professions training.

This site for the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion discusses infection control in hospitals and clinics. includes information on nosocomial infections and management of infection outbreaks.

The Indian Health Service (IHS) in an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.

Index to world situation reports, annual world disaster reports, NGO Code of Conduct, and links to national chapters.

This is the national trade association representing America's community health centers. The site includes some state profiles of health care resources and programs for underserved populations.

NCHS is the federal government's principal vital and health statistics agency. The agency provides a wide variety of data to monitor the nation's health.

Web site for the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related disease and injury.

Excellent source of FAQs on almost any illness, from one of the world's foremost biomedical research centers.

Explains what the council does and what its major campaigns are. Includes research, statistics, and library and training resources.

Organizes major conferences on controversies in medicine, providing statements, conference schedules, and related materials. Conferences are convened to evaluate available scientific information and resolve safety and efficacy issues related to biomedical technology.

Site provides information on OSHA's mission of establishing and enforcing protective standards for worker health and safety.

Links to alerts since 1993. Alerts are provided where the release of trial findings could significantly affect health.

The Office of Minority Health Resource Center online library catalog provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes over 60,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. The database identifies print and digital content leading to article, document, journal, and organizational records. Has pathfinders on African Immigrant and Refugee Health in the
United States, Hispanic Health, American Indian & Alaska Native Health, Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander Health and Asian American Health in the US.