Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

History: Images and Multimedia

Information resources for UCI students, faculty, and staff interested in the field of history.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/history

Videos, Multimedia and Audio

Kanopy*
Kanopy is a streaming film database of over 20,000 titles. Spanning the arts, humanities, film and media. Includes documentaries, classic cinema, and feature films.

Internet Archive: Moving Images
Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons. Example: footage of the San Francisco earthquake (1906)

Internet Archive: Universal Newsreels
Universal Newsreels were reports shown before movies. Coverage: 1929 to 1967.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
This is a collection of American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive*
An online archive of news broadcasts from U.S. national television networks from 1968 to present. Core collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News.

FedFlix
Movies from a wide range of government agencies, including the Army, Information Agency, NASA, and the National Parks Service, etc.

Black Studies in Video*
Includes films and documentaries covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

History in Motion
A collection within Eyewitness to History.com that includes eyewitness film clips from the past

Human Rights Studies*
Videos, audio, maps, etc. of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects

Smithsonian Institution Collection's Search Center
Search for images, videos, sound files and more from the Smithsonian.

 

Online Image & Photo Collections

Calisphere
The University of California's gateway to primary resources, including digitized photographs, documents, newspaper pages, politicla cartoons, art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts related to the diverse history and culture of California. Includes material from the UC system as well as cultural heritage organizations across California.

AP Images*
Associated Press archive of over 1 million current news photos (with some historical material as early as the 19th century) including graphics such as tables, maps, and timelines

Artstor*
Contains millions of images of the world's cultural heritage. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Camio*
OCLC's "Catalog of Art Museum Images Online" - a growing collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums

NYPL Digital Collections
Provides access to digitized images from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Index of Medieval Art*
A database of art images produced between early apolstolic times and the 16th century. Formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, the collection now includes secular subjects and a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.

Vogue Digital Archive*
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Picture Post Historical Archive*
The complete archive of the Picture Post from it's first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957, digitized in full color. Provides a snapshot of British life in the early/mid 20th century.