Research Guides: History: Articles

Full text article databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals archive online makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. It is international in scope, with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.

Abstract & citation article databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides indexes of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles and the British Empire and Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections include Asia and the West; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Colonialism and Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Maps and Travel Literature; Photography; Religion, Reform, and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine; And Women and Transnational Networks.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library is the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, and politics.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A useful index of scholarship for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies. It indexes academic literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the index cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam, and journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews are monitored for inclusion in the database.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
This portal provides access to a number of collections, including Iter Bibliography, Iter Italicum, Early Theatre journal, and the REED Newsletter.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing from political science literature, as well as international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in journals devoted to Jewish affairs.