Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

History: Archives

Information resources for UCI students, faculty, and staff interested in the field of history.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/history

Finding Material in Archival Collections

A finding aid is a document that helps researchers locate archival materials, and often looks like an inventory or a description of a usually physical, but sometimes also digital collections. The resources below will help you search for archival material through finding aids and other search tools.

Archive Grid
A "beta" discovery system for archival material from around the world, brining together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories and more.

Library of Congress Finding Aids
Search finding aids for material in the Library of Congress' repositories and  collections.

National Archives Catalog
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Search for millions of NARA records here.

Archives West
Provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases. Geographic focus on Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Utah.

National Archives (UK)
Contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and historical records that relate to British history.

California Archival and Digital Collections

Online Archive of California (OAC)
The OAC is a research gateway to unique and historical materials at archives, libraries, and museums throughout California.

Calisphere
The University of California's gateway to primary resources, including digitized photographs, documents, newspaper pages, politicla cartoons, art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts related to the diverse history and culture of California. Includes material from the UC system as well as cultural heritage organizations across California.

UCI Special Collections and Archives
Houses the UCI Libraries' collection rare books, manuscripts, archives, photographs, and other rare and special materials.

Orange County & Southeast Asian Archive Center (OC & SEAA)
A unit of the Department of Special Collections & Archives at UCI. Collections are housed within Special Collections.

Southern California Library
The SCL documents and preserves the histories of communities in struggle for justice and uses its collections to address the challenges of the present.

ONE: National Gay & Lesbian Archive
Based in Los Angeles. Over 600 archival collections of personal papers from activists, artists and ordinary citizens, as well as records from LGBTQ political, social, educational and cultural organizations. Finding aids for this collection are also in the Online Archive of California.

The Regional Oral History Office (ROHO), UC Berkeley
ROHO conducts, teaches, analyzes, and archives oral and video history documents in a broad variety of subject areas critical to the history of California and the United States.

Want More?

Want more information about archives and primary resources? Check out the Primary Resources Research Guide!