Medical Student Course Guide for accessing UCI Libraries' Resources

Multimedia Media Resources 

• Bates' visual guide to physical examination (Videos) by [project and content advisor] Lynn S. Bickleyilliams & Wilkins

  Publication Date: c2014.  

  • The Bates' Visual Guide provides online access to more than 8 hours of clinical skills videos. It includes head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.

  • Online access is restricted to UCI. VPN login with your UCInetID and password is required.

• JoVE's Premier Clinical Skills Collection: Physical Examinations I

  Available PE Videos include a General Approach to the Physical Exam, Observation, and Inspection, Palpation, Percussion, Auscultation, Proper Adjustment of Patient Attire during the Physical Exam, Blood pressure measurement, Measuring vital signs, Respiratory exams, Cardiac exams, Peripheral vascular exams, etc.
  Online access to these videos is restricted to UCI. VPN login with your UCInetID and password is required.

• joVE's Premier Clinical Skills Collection: Physical Examinations II

  Available PE videos include Eye, Ophthalmoscopic, Ear, Nose, Sinus, Oral Cavity and Pharynx, Thyroid, Lymph Node, Abdominal, Male Rectal, Comprehensive Breast, Pelvic, etc.
  Online access to these videos is restricted to UCI. VPN login with your UCInetID and password is required.

• joVE's Premier Clinical Skills Collection: Physical Examinations III

  Available PE videos include Cranial Nerves, Motor, Sensory, Neck, Shoulder, Elbow, Wrist, Hand, Low back, Hip, Knee, Ankle, and Foot.
  Online access to these videos is restricted to UCI. VPN login with your UCInetID and password is required.

Clinical Decision Tools 

• *5-Minute Clinical Consult 
  • Available online. Restricted to UCI

Summaries of New Research Plus Experts Commentary From Physician-Editors 

• *NEJM Journal Watch -- reviews over 250 scientific and medical journals to present important clinical research findings and insightful commentary.
   
• *ACP Journal club -- Reviews over 120 leading medical journals relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. This monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine contains an editorial, easy-to-read abstracts, and a page of other notable articles.

Study Tools for CF2 and Step 1 

• *AccessMedicine
  • Includes an extensive collection of basic and clinical science ebooks, differential diagnostic tools, study tools, videos on patients' physical history, medical procedures, patient safety, and much more. Online textbooks
• *The Case Files Collection
  • Basic Science Cases
  • Clinical Rotation Cases
     
• *LWW Health Library -- Medical Education
  • ​​​​​​​Online textbooks 
  • Video & Audio 
  • Self Assessment (To access, you must create a Free Personal Account)
  • Cases
  • Clinical Skills 

• *StatPearls Test Banks for Medical Students
  • StatPearls is a valuable resource that helps you prepare for medical school shelf exams. It offers extensive question banks for over 60 exams tailored to medical students including USMLE Steps 1, 2, and 3. Please refer to the attached PDF, “StatPealrs Medical Students Qbank List” for a detailed list of subject specialty exams covered by StatPearls.
  • This subscription provides access to test banks comprising thousands of questions, each linked to reference articles for deeper learning. Within StatPearls, you can build personalized quizzes using your user profile and track your test performance relative to fellow learners. 

• To access StatPearls, please register or log in here:  https://www.statpearls.com/plan/UCAIRVINE?utm_source=hs_email&utm_medium=email.  VPN is not required but be sure to use your UCI email address when creating a new user account and when accessing your existing account. 
• Click here to watch a video tutorial on accessing and creating quizzes in StatPearls through the UCI Libraries subscription. 

• *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 
  • Available online, access is restricted to UCI.  Register individually on-site.
    • Note: When registering, be sure to use your UCI email. Otherwise, your registration will be denied. For instruction, watch a short video here.