Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Medical Student Course Guide: Clerkship Resources

This guide is specifically designed for UCI medical students. It provides direct links to online key resources and textbooks for the undergraduate medical education curriculum.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/MS_courseguide

Available Case Reviews, Study Guides, and Step Exams for Each Clerkship Program

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 
 


Other Suggested Study Tools and Readings

Guideline recommendations and indications for other therapies are relatively high-yield concepts for preparing both the shelf and Step 2 CK. 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

  • *Access Medicine Clerkship Topics

    This curriculum includes study materials and review questions in Cardiology, Pulmonology, Nephrology +Urology, Gastroenterology, Hematology/Oncology, Infectious Disease, Endocrinology, Rheumatology, Essential of Key patient Presentations, Skills for Wards, Neurology, and Psychiatry. You must register and sign-in to My Access user profile to access all review questions. 

  • *Access Medicine FlashCards 

AccessMedicine offers online flashcards to supplement your studies. A select set of interactive flashcard content offers contents comes from resources such as CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (CMDT) Flashcards, 2ePathophysiology of Disease FlashcardsThe Big Picture: Medical Physiology FlashcardsDeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Flashcards, etc. 

BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that can be used by medical students, residents, and clinicians that you have access to through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams.  The Internal Medicine Shelf Exam provides access to 497 questions in three difficulty levels: easy, moderate, and hard. 

Case Files: Family Medicine presents sixty real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions with detailed explanations of the correct answers. With this collection, you’ll learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts.

Written by authors who are hospitalists and clinician-educators, Cases in Hospital Medicine uses practical case studies and current medical evidence to guide you expertly through the types of cases seen most often by practicing hospital-based clinicians. This engaging handbook covers the wide range of both broad and specific knowledge required in the hospital environment, while focusing on highly relevant questions and today’s best practices. You’ll find real-world guidance on essential topics, including commentary on research studies and clinical guidelines.

This sixth edition contains ancillary and online exclusive content, drawing from the expertise of the distinguished Cleveland Clinic faculty. Taking a more clinical approach than other review texts, this practical resource includes a unique and well-structured set of exercises that offer a challenge at the end of each chapter.  The book includes more than 700 board-review style questions and answers.

The USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation Module is designed to emulate the look and the actual exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items are case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. It includes 2,062 review questions. One must register with his/her UCI email address.

This interactive resource offers the mix of textbooks video clips, self-assessment, and Q&A to help students and staff clinicians confidently provide patient care and achieve success on specialty and certification exams. 

The 12th edition of Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review is fully revised to reflect the latest information necessary to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations.

One thousand easy-to-remember clinical aphorisms, or “pearls,” help you distinguish the important findings from the incidental, pointing out the distinctive features amidst the mass of data that is accumulated in the evaluation of a sick patient, and leading to the development of mature clinical judgment.

Pocket Medicine, 7th Edition, is designed for fast answers to diagnostic questions you’ll face on rounds and exams. It provides up-to-date, dependable guidance on the internal medicine information needed to make an accurate diagnosis and develop a treatment plan. Compiled by residents and attending physicians at Massachusetts General Hospital, this best-selling reference ensures that quick access to key clinical information and solutions to common problems in internal medicine is as close as your pocket!  Note: Download Pocket Medicine to your pocket! The Pocket Notebook app is now available in the Apple and Google Play stores. Access is free through the UCI Libraries

The fourth edition focuses on the most commonly encountered problems in hospital medicine, presented in a handy user-friendly outline. It provides an easily accessible framework to help students, residents, and inpatient clinicians diagnose and develop treatment and management approaches for a broad range of medical conditions.

 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

AccessNeurology can help students excel in their clerkship; strengthen their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading neurology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content.

  • AccessNeurology Clerkship Corner -- A collection of textbooks, cases, and Q&A selected with medical students in mind. It includes textbook recommendations that are suited for medical students, cases to prepare medical students for their neurology and psychiatry clerkship rotations, and Q&A created specifically for clerks preparing for shelf exams in neurology and psychiatry.
  • AccessNeurology Review Questions -- Generate multiple-choice quizzes from these resources Clinical Neuroanatomy, 29e, Harrison's Neurology in Clinical Medicine, 4e, Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, 4e, Neurology Examination and Board Review, 3e, Neurology: PreTest® Self-Assessment and Review, 9e, Psychiatry: PreTest® Self-Assessment and Review, 14e, and The NeuroICU Board Review. 
     
  • *BoardVitals - USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep 

    BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that can be used by medical students, residents, and clinicians that you have access to through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams.  The  Neurology Shelf Exam for provides access to 200 questions in three difficulty levels: easy, moderate, and hard. 

  • *Case Files: Neurology 3e
    "Medical students need exposure to cases to pass the USMLE and shelf exams, and this is exactly what Case Files: Neurology, Third Edition offers. Written by experienced educators, it teaches students how to think through diagnosis and management when confronting neurological clinical problems. Sixty high-yield clinical cases focus on the core competencies for the neurology clerkship. Each case includes an extended discussion, definition of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. This interactive learning system helps students learn instead of memorizing. The Third Edition has been completely revised with new questions, enhanced discussions, and better alignment with the challenging shelf exam to give students an unmatched review and learning tool"
  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 

    The USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation Module is designed to emulate the look and the actual exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items are case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. It includes 2,062 review questions. One must register with his/her UCI email address.

  • *Neurology: PreTest® Self-Assessment and Review, 9e by David J. Anschel. 

Prep for the Shelf Exam, Ace the Clerkship! PreTest® is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it. Written by clerkship faculty and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass, this book is perfect for clerkship exam review and the USMLE® Step 2 CK. Neurology: PreTest® asks the right questions so you’ll know the right answers. 

OnlineMedEdu provides hundreds of free videos to help medical students preparing for the boards and wards. The site claims that 80% of medical students across 191 countries use their 70+ hours of free video. The Crash Course in Neurology includes 9 lessons,  2.5 hours of video time, 64 questions, and 68 flashcards. 

 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

 AccessObGyn from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to obstetrics and gynecology reference and research - all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology-for viewing on any device.

This content is selected with medical students in mind. It includes Q&A to prepare for the Step 2 or shelf exam and textbooks recommendations that suited for medical student learning.

The content generates multiple-quizzes from these resources: Obstetrics and Gynecology: PreTest® Self-Assessment and Review, 14e, Williams Gynecology Study Guide, 3e, and Williams Obstetrics Study Guide, 25th Edition. 

Provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in obstetrics and gynecology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE®-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you’ll learn instead of memorizing.

Pediatrics: PreTest® Self-Assessment & Review provides the knowledge and confidence you need to succeed on your shelf exam and during your clinical interactions. Filled with prep questions addressing the clerkship's core competencies, it explains both correct and incorrect answers―so you can focus your attention on areas of difficulty and make the very most of your study time. 

This study resource includes updates on the latest treatments and therapies for infants, children, and adolescents, making it an ideal review tool for the pediatric shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2. Reviewed by top-tier students who passed the boards and completed their clerkship, the style and difficulty level of every question match those you’ll see on exam day.  It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers, detailed explanations for every right and wrong answer, targets what you really need to know for exam success, and thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship. 

  • *BoardVitals - USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep 

    BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that can be used by medical students, residents, and clinicians that you have access to through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. The OBGYN Shelf Exam provides access to 500 questions in three difficulty levels: easy, moderate, and hard. 

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 

  • The USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation Module is designed to emulate the look and the actual exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items are case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. It includes 2,062 review questions. One must register with his/her UCI email address.

  • *LWW Health Library ObGyn Videos & Audios 

 LWW Health Library: ObGyn is curated to provide essential knowledge to ObGyn related to general obstetrics and gynecology as well as the subspecialties of gynecologic oncology, female pelvic medicine & reconstructive surgery, maternal-fetal medicine, and reproductive endocrinology & infertility in the ambulatory and hospital-based setting. To supplement comprehension and practice skills, it offers 1,536 figures—including full-color illustrations, color photos, and diagnostic images—tables, an extensive library of over 250 clinical videos, and 500 multiple-choice questions with explanations integrated into the new self-assessment feature, allowing users to customize quizzes and study content via subject.

OnlineMedEdu provides hundreds of free videos to help medical students preparing for the boards and wards. The site claims that 80% of medical students across 191 countries use their 70+ hours of free video. The Crash Course in Gynecology includes 19 lessons,  4.5 hours of video time, 110 questions, and 136 flashcards. 

OnlineMedEdu provides hundreds of free videos to help medical students preparing for the boards and wards. The site claims that 80% of medical students across 191 countries use their 70+ hours of free video. The Crash Course in Obstetrics includes 19 lessons,  5.5 hours of video time, 94 questions, and 159 flashcards. 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

AccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, pediatric residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Organized around a set of Core Topics developed by an advisory board of renowned pediatricians, AccessPediatrics meets the needs of medical students, pediatric residents, general practitioners, and pediatric specialists.

Content selected with medical students in mind. It includes Cases to help excel clerkship, Q&A to prepare for the Step 2, or the shelf exam, and Textbook recommendations suited for medical student learning. 

Generate multiple-choice quizzes from these resources: McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review: Pediatrics, 2e, Pediatric Emergency Medicine: Just the Facts, 2e, Pediatrics Examination and Board Review, Pediatrics: PreTest® Self-Assessment and Review, 15e, and Rudolph’s Pediatrics, 22e, Self-Assessment and Board Review. 

​​​​​​​Using 200+ real-world clinical case presentations, 1000+ board-style questions, and 24 full-color illustrations, it covers everything pediatricians must know to pass certification and recertification examinations. The cases and questions emphasize understanding key medical concepts fundamental to pediatric practice, making everything you learn transferable to actual clinical practice. Features hundreds of case-based examples with Q/A, so you can practice using the same format of the certifying examination. Problem-based format teaches clinical principles in the form of real-world presentations. Follow the examination content requirements of the American Board of Pediatrics.  More than 1000 questions with explained answers. Answers explain key medical principles being conveyed in each case.

​​​​​​​Pediatrics: PreTest® Self-Assessment & Review provides the knowledge and confidence you need to succeed on your shelf exam and during your clinical interactions. Filled with prep questions addressing the clerkship's core competencies, it explains both correct and incorrect answers―so you can focus your attention on areas of difficulty and make the very most of your study time.

This study resource includes updates on the latest treatments and therapies for infants, children, and adolescents, making it an ideal review tool for the pediatric shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2. Reviewed by top-tier students who passed the boards and completed their clerkship, the style and difficulty level of every question match those you’ll see on exam day.  It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers, detailed explanations for every answer―right and wrong, targets what you really need to know for exam success, and thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

OnlineMedEdu provides hundreds of free videos to help medical students preparing for the boards and wards. The site claims that 80% of medical students across 191 countries use their 70+ hours of free video. The Crash Course in Pediatrics includes 25 lessons, 7.5 hours of video time, 126 questions, and 280 flashcards. 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

The 60 cases in Case Files: Psychiatry feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. 

PreTest® is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it. Written by clerkship faculty and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass, this book is perfect for clerkship exam review and the USMLE Step 2 CK. Psychiatry: PreTest® asks the right questions so you’ll know the right answers. This is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of psychiatry for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers.

A website that features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5), and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM

OnlineMedEdu provides hundreds of free videos to help medical students preparing for the boards and wards. The site claims that 80% of medical students across 191 countries use their 70+ hours of free video. The Crash Course in Pediatrics includes 21 lessons, 5.6 hours of video time, 107 questions, and 239 flashcards. 

 

* = UCI access only; For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.   

All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 
 

AccessSurgery can help students excel in their clerkship; strengthen their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading neurology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource covers the entire spectrum of surgery from the basics to specialty-specific content.

A collection of textbooks, cases, and Q&A selected with medical students in mind. It includes textbook recommendations that are suited for medical students, cases to prepare medical students for their surgery clerkship rotations, and Q&A created for surgery clerkship.  

Generate multiple-choice quizzes from these resources: ABSITE Slayer, Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Surgery, Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery, K.J. Lee’s Essential Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery, Lange Q&A™: Surgery, Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, Surgery Review Illustrated, and Surgery: Pre-Test Self-Assessment and Review. 

  • *BoardVitals - USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep 

    BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that can be used by medical students, residents, and clinicians that you have access to through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. The Surgery Shelf Exam provides access to 459 questions in three difficulty levels: easy, moderate, and hard. 

*Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 

  • The USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation Module is designed to emulate the look and the actual exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items are case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. It includes 2,062 review questions. One must register with his/her UCI email address.

  • *LWW Health Library Surgery Cases 

LWW Health Library for Surgery offers a core collection of content for surgeons in a user-friendly online portal that emphasizes procedures. Users can quickly access gold-standard content and save chapters in PDF format for offline reading. Video and Q&A further support learning needs as well as ABSITE and board review.  You must register and sign in with free a personal account to get access to their personalized self-assessment experience, save your favorite content, and more.

A Collection of Case Reviews, Study Guides, and Step Exams

The Case Files Collection can help students at all levels excel in coursework and in clinical rotations, and allow faculty to include clinical cases into their digital curricula. The collection includes 23 Case Files series books with more than 1,300 real-life cases to assist students during coursework and clinical rotations and to help them prepare for shelf exams and the USMLE.

  • *BoardVitals - USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep 

    BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that can be used by medical students, residents, and clinicians that you have access to through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. You MUST use your @uci.edu email address. when register for access.

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams

    The USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation Module is designed to emulate the look and the actual exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items are case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. It includes 2,062 review questions. One must register with his/her UCI email address.  Note: When register, be sure to use your UCI email. Otherwise, your registration will be denied.  For instruction, watch a short video here.
     
  • *LWW Health Library Self Assessment 

The LWW Health Library quizzing tool allows you to take and/or build custom quizzes organized by subject and topic. Results are automatically saved so you can easily analyze areas of strength and weakness. Note: You must first create a free personal account to personalize your access. Click here to register