Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Medical Student Course Guide: MS2 Basic Sciences

This guide is specifically designed for UCI medical students. It provides direct links to online key resources and textbooks for the undergraduate medical education curriculum.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/MS_courseguide

Behavioral Science and Ethics 2: 505B

Course Textbook:

Recommended for Exam and USMLE Step 1 Review

Online Practice Exam

BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that is available through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. For USMLE Step 1, BoardVitals provides access to 3,304 questions in three difficulty levels (Hard, Moderate, and Easy) with 29 subject topics such as  "Anatomy", "Behavioral Health", "Biochemistry", "Biostatistics and Epidemiology", etc. 

 

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 
    • Available online, access Restricted to UCI.  Register individually on site.
    • Behavioral Sciences exam questions are available under USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
      • Select USMLE
        1. Click on USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
        2. Click on the side triangle to expand the Basic Sciences (1916 questions)
        3. Click on the side triangle to expand the Behavioral Sciences (103 questions)

Study Guide

Clinical Pathology 509 AB

* = UC Irvine access only.  For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.  

Course Required Text

Microbiology (photographs) Texts:

Chemistry, Microbiology, Coagulation, and Hematology Text:

Hematology

Online Practice Exam

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams
    • Available online, access Restricted to UCI.  Register individually on site.
      • Note: When register, be sure to use your UCI email. Otherwise your registration will be denied. 
         
    • Clinical Pathology exam questions are available under two groups in Exam Master: Biomedical Sciences and USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
      • Select Biomedical Sciences, then Pathology (1364 questions)
      • Select USMLE
        1. Click on USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
        2. Click on the side triangle to expand the Basic Sciences (1903 questions)
        3. Click on the side triangle to expand the Pathology (801 questions) - the Clinical Pathology questions are under different categories of the diseases.  

 

BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that is available through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. For USMLE Step 1, BoardVitals provides access to 3,304 questions in three difficulty levels (Hard, Moderate, and Easy) with 29 subject topics such as  "Anatomy", "Behavioral Health", "Biochemistry", "Biostatistics and Epidemiology", etc.  For USMLE Step 1, Pathology includes 1,372 questions. 

 

Medical Microbiology: 507

* = UC Irvine access only.  For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.  

Recommended Textbook

Learning Materials

Online Practice Exam

BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that is available through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. For USMLE Step 1, BoardVitals provides access to 3,304 questions in three difficulty levels (Hard, Moderate, and Easy) with 29 subject topics such as  "Anatomy", "Behavioral Health", "Biochemistry", "Biostatistics and Epidemiology", etc.  For USMLE Step 1, Microbiology includes 136 questions. 

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams
  • *Access Medicine Study Tool - Microbiology
    • MyAccess login is required. The login is located in the upper right corner of the page. For first-time users, select “Create a Free MyAccess Profile” and complete the online form. Be sure to use your UCI email.
       
  • *LWW Health Library Self Assessment  -- The LWW Health Library quizzing tool allows you to take and/or build custom quizzes organized by subject and topic. Results are automatically saved so you can easily analyze areas of strength and weakness. You must first create a free personal account to personalize your access. Follow the steps below to register for your access:
  1. Click on LWW Health Library on the Grunigen Medical Library Homepage.
  2. Select SELF ASSESSMENT
  3. Create on Create a Free Personal Account
  4. Complete the online registration form.
  5. After you complete the registration, click on SELF ASSESSMENT and login.
  6. Select Microbiology
  7. This prompts you to select and create a customized list of Microbial related topics. For additional help, please click here.

Note: All question banks required students to register for a free personal account. When register, please use your UCI email address. 

Medical Pharmacology: 517ABC

* = UC Irvine access only.  For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.  

Course Texts

Learning Materials

Online Practice Exam

BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that is available through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. For USMLE Step 1, BoardVitals provides access to 3,304 questions in three difficulty levels (Hard, Moderate, and Easy) with 29 subject topics such as  "Anatomy", "Behavioral Health", "Biochemistry", "Biostatistics and Epidemiology", etc.  For USMLE Step 1, Pharmacology includes 503 questions.  

 

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams
    • Available online, access Restricted to UCI.  Register individually on site.
    • Pharmacology exam questions are available under two groups in Exam Master: Biomedical Sciences and USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
      • Select Biomedical Sciences, then Pharmacology (278 questions)
      • Select USMLE
        1. Click on USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
        2. Click on the side triangle to expand the Basic Sciences (1916 questions)
        3. Click on the side triangle to expand the Pharmacology (172 questions)

Pathology: 598AB

* = UC Irvine access only.  For remote access, a VPN login with your UCInetID is required.  

Optional Texts / Learning Materials

Optional Texts / Learning Materials

  • BoardVitals - USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep 
  • BoardVitals is an interactive, high-quality, and effective board review tool that is available through the UCI Libraries subscription. This is a collection of test banks that can help you to prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2, 3, and Shelf Exams. For USMLE Step 1, BoardVitals provides access to 3,304 questions in three difficulty levels (Hard, Moderate, and Easy) with 29 subject topics such as  "Anatomy", "Behavioral Health", "Biochemistry", "Biostatistics and Epidemiology", etc.  For USMLE step 1, there are 1,372 questions in Pathology. 

  • *Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams 
    • Available online, access Restricted to UCI.  Register individually on site.
    • Pathology exam questions are available under two groups in Exam Master: Biomedical Sciences and USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
      • Select Biomedical Sciences, then Pathology (1364 questions)
      • Select USMLE
        1. Click on USMLE Step 1 Medical Subject Review
        2. Click on the side triangle to expand the Basic Sciences (1903 questions)
        3. Click on the side triangle to expand the Pathology (801 questions)